We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Markella Studios & Garden Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limni Keri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Markella Studios & Garden Suites
Save
You added Markella Studios & Garden Suites to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limni Keriou, Limni Keri 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Limni Keri
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Dimitri picked us up from the airport as soon as we landed, so no hanging around! Transfer took about 20 mins and during this time Dimitri gave us a full rundown of the island which we found very informative. Debbie came out to the car to welcome us and show us to our apartment which was spotless and very well equiped for Greece. The pool area is lovely, very clean and steps away from our apartment and the bar!
As it is a small establishment we soon got to know everyone staying there some were on their 12th holiday at the Markella apartments having followed Debbie and Dimitri from a previous hotel, I think that speaks volumes as to the service they provide, nothing is too much trouble and they really will go that extra mile to make your holiday extra special.
Thank you Debbie, Dimitri, Kristina and Lena for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife Chris and I took our youngest daughter and her friend to Markella during August. We had booked car hire from the Airport and drove ourselves there, which was easy and quick being only about 15 km (9 miles). My wife doesn’t like being driven abroad (or by me for that matter) and wasn’t looking forward to that, but the island is only around 25 miles long so you can drive round it in a few hours. Also the highest speed limit is 50 kph so I don’t think we managed to exceed 37 mph the whole week. By the end Chris was pleased that we did have the car, as it allowed you to see so much more. If you didn’t want a car for your whole stay there are two rental firms a matter of yards away from the studios.
The apartments were great. We had rented a standard apartment for the girls and a garden apartment for us. The standard one is a bit basic but our one was very nice with two balconies (one off the sitting room, the other off our bedroom) and as everyone has commented nice and clean. We had gone for two apartments as the site we booked on stated that the foldaway beds in the lounge of ours was only suitable up to 12 years old. This we found out was wrong so we could have just had the one. But the girls are 17 so it was good for them to have their own space.
We paid the extra for the Aircon which we did use a fair bit. Although it was a balance at night between the heat and the noise of the unit, which wasn’t excessive but would disturb some. We had booked the breakfast, which was cereal, toast, eggs, yoghurt, and local cakes. It may be that you could better elsewhere but it was convenient and sufficient for us. You could also have light lunches there, such as toasted sandwiches, omelettes and similar.
The pool was nice and clean and there were enough loungers, but we have to agree with other comments in saying that we think they should provide cushions for them, as being plastic they became quite uncomfortable after a while.
We cannot relate to some of the comments made, such as the bar being noisy, that just wasn’t the case and it did close at Midnight in any case. Towels were changed during our week’s stay even though some did not need it and if there was a problem, you have ask why they didn’t speak to Debbie or Dimitri, as they could not have been more helpful. Resolving a few small issues we had immediately. Parking the car outside on the road wasn’t an issue either as effectively there was a narrow lay-by they had created.
Dimitri really helped with his knowledge of the island and the price of excursions etc. Which allowed us to have some great day’s out, going to all the best places and saved us money for instance in getting the best deal on the “Blue Caves” boat trip.
The local beach is O.K. but I’m not keen on stony beaches so at our hosts’ suggestion we tried those on the Eastern Peninsula near Vasilikos, where there are sandy beaches like Dafni, which was very nice. This is a conservation area as the Turtles lay their eggs along that coast; and other guests were there on the beach when some actually hatched.
There are numerous restaurants at Keri Beach and closeby. We tried a number, including one on the cliff at the far end of the beach with great views across the bay. The tavern closest to the studios was good but our favourite was the Keri Tavern which was on the right at the end of the road when you get to the beach, which served great food and accommodated requests if you wanted something not covered by the extensive menu (not a lot).
Overall we really liked Zante, with the exception of Laganas which is the 18-30 type resort on the island, where I had to take the girls to meet some of their friends who were also holidaying there. But that’s probably just my age! We had a very enjoyable, relaxing break, much of the credit for which must go to Debbie and Dimitri and would thoroughly recommend their studios. We would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: Can book direct. Dimitri will provide airport transfers and does Tours of the island obviously for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I have just spent 2 fantastic weeks at markella. Debbie and Demitri are a fabulous couple who go out of their way to make you feel at home. We were in room no.8 which was in the main block and it was more than adequate for our needs. Very clean and tidy, towels and sheets changed on a regular basis.
Demitri also organised a trip for 7 of us around the island, at an incredibly reasonable price. His local knowledge and jovial manner made the day a joy from start to finish.
The pool area is just beautiful with sun loungers nicely spaced and when it gets too hot Debbie is always on hand to supply cold drinks from the well stocked bar. They also keep the glasses in the freezer, so you are always assured that your thirst will be quenched!
Early on in our stay I unfortunately broke a tooth, but Debbie arranged for me see her dentist in Zante town and Dimitri drove me in. They really do go the extra mile for their guests.
Christina, their daughter, also helped out as soon as she returned from school and she is a lovely girl.
They are also helped out around the property by Lena, who was just a delight and never stopped smiling.
The coast is a very leisurely 10minute stroll away and we found the Keri Taverna to be about the best value, serving good local food.
If you are thinking of going to Zante, it has to be Markella.
We would unreservedly recommend the markella and certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Markella is in Keri, 20 minutes car journey from the airport, and about 15 minutes walk from the main seafront where there is several taverna’s and a couple of shops, self drive boat hire is available for around 40 euros per day, there are also organised boat trips available, although at the time of writing it was not possible to get directly to Kefalonia because of a license dispute.

There are a couple of small supermarkets close by which sell all of the essentials, bread, milk, fresh fruit, toiletries etc, there is also a bakery nearby which sells some delicious cakes, what Keri doesn’t have is any banking facilities, no ATM, so if you use a card to get your spending money be warned, the nearest ATM is in Agalas, which is not within walking distance.

The Markella itself is well run by Debbie and Demitri, the rooms are basic but were spotlessly clean upon arrival, sheets and towels are changed about every 3 days, a fridge and 2 ring hob are provided, along with a kettle and toaster, there is a TV in the rooms, but no English speaking channels. The bathroom was in need of some attention, the bathroom cabinet was only being held on the wall by two screws and moved every time that you opened the cabinet doors, and the shower curtain is a disaster waiting to happen, a dangerous trip hazard as the curtain does not fit the shower tray.

Air conditioning can be provided at a charge of 4 euros per day, safety deposit box is 2 euros per day.

The swimming pool is quite large and cleaned daily, sun umbrellas and loungers are provided free of charge, but no cushions are available for the loungers.

Breakfast is available at the hotel, and snacks are available at lunchtime, drinks are available throughout the day, for evening meals you will need to dine out.

If you want to get out and about, realistically you will need to hire a car or motorcycle, there are several places of interest to visit, speak to Demitri, his knowledge of the island is very extensive.

If your looking for a relaxing holiday away from it all then this will suit you, just a footnote though, it is not always quiet, every residence in the area seems to own either a cockerel or a dog, both of which can shatter the peace, especially early in the morning.

I enjoyed my stay at the Markella mainly due to the hospitality of Debbie and Demitri, but I would not return there, that is purely based on the fact that I have never returned to any hotel twice in 30 years of travelling, there are far too many other places in the world to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We would like to broadcast our gratitude to the hoteliers of the Markella Studios - Debbie and Dimitri - for providing a clean, equipped room for one day, at short notice and at a reduced rate, when we had to leave accommodation at the Kyprianos Apartments with seven hours before being transferred to the airport.

The Markella studios have pretty, lush gardens backing on to the silence of the nature reserve. Although we were not resident for more than a few hours, we benefitted greatly from the option of sanctuary at the Markella and the fact that the hoteliers are on-hand with fluent English.

Their 'Best of Zante / Zante Transfers' have provided punctual, reliable and friendly service. As our daughter said,"Dimitri is a legend!"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galati, Romania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We traveled to Zakynthos in August '11 with another couple of friends so : 2 rooms.We arrived there by car at about 20:00 PM.We found the rooms to be spotless with clean sheets and towels(the sheets and towels were changed ONLY ONCE in 7 days though - luckily we had brought our own).The rooms had two double beds,nightstands,mirror,closet.The air conditioning is charged 4 euro /day but i wouldn't suggest taking it because you don't need it.At nights the temperature would drop from 36 degrees C to 20-22 degrees C.We took the air conditioning for the first day and we didn't use it at all but we had to pay it anyway.In the closet you will find the safe which also costs 2 euro/day.We didn't take it as we didn't need it.
The hotel does have an interior parking but that is only used by the owner and they wouldn't allow guests to park there.There is a black limo,an old jaguar and other vans that belong to them.As a conclusion you need to park on the street in front of the hotel(if you find any parking place) or you would be sent to another parking between some olive trees 30 m down the road which belongs to Kyprianos hotel situated across the street.The parking issue caused a lot of stress to me because even when i had a small accident in the parking lot going backwards into an olive tree and breaking my rear window and denting my trunk,i wasn't allowed to park in the hotel interior parking because the owner wanted to drive some guests with the limo to a restaurant and he didn;t want to leave it on the street.As a conclusion i was sent to park exactly in the same spot i hit it several hours before,completely unsafe.SO THE HOTEL HAS NO PARKING.The parking is either on the street,either in Kyprianos Villa parking between some olive trees and just in one precise location not anywhere you want as the parking doesn't belong to Markella.
The hot water schedule is from 6 AM - 8 AM and from 6 PM - 8 PM which is also very annoying when you come back from the beach at 8 and everybody is showering and all that is left for you is cold water.We had to come back early to get prepared for the night out because we had to "catch" the hot water.
We were also asked not to throw toilet paper into the toilet because the drain would clog and just throw it to the bin which we found very disgusting.Just imagine the smell that would cause.
The toilet flushing system had a problem and it wouldn't flush when you pressed the button so we had to lift the top and flush it manually almost every time.
The pool bar is open till 11-12 PM but on one occasion the owners closed early and left to eat out.
The pool schedule is from 8 AM - 8 PM which was also very annoying.We couldn't take a relaxing swim because when we came back from visiting or seaside the pool was already closed.The pool had underwater lights but they were never lit because we were told the electricity is very expensive.Also they mentioned not to leave the air conditioning running when we're not in the room or leave any lights on because they would shut them off.
The pool is cleaned almost every morning by the owner and i think it would have been great to spend an hour or two at dusk by the pool but it wasn't possible as i mentioned above.
At the pool bar there is a free wifi internet connection.
Breakfast is the only meal that can be served at markella which is rather expensive for what it offers.As a conclusion we only took it once and after that we went to the enchanting tavernas facing the beach where the breakfast had the exact same price and was richer. Keri Restaurant: 5 euro - English breakfast: two fried eggs,two sausages,beans,french fries,bread,butter,juice and coffee or tea. Markella: 5 euro - two fried eggs,bread,butter,coffee or juice.
Mythos beer at Markella - 2,5 euro, Mythos beer at Keri Restaurant - 2,5 euro. so there was no difference.
They told us not to bring any beer/juice down at the pool bar so we had to buy it from there but that was not a problem for us because we had enough money.
Debbie was very cute,polite and helpful as was her daughter Kristina which was working all day long with her parents despite she had a summer holiday.Dimitri,the owner,gave us very good tips about things do to or not to do on the island,places to go,tavernas to try and so on.His tips were great and we appreciated it very much.
Debbie was very kind and lent us some snorkeling equipment that other tourists left there so we didn't need to buy any.
As a conclusion,Markella is very basic,reasonably priced,good position in a wonderful resort(Keri Lake) but it also has its minuses which i already mentioned above.
My advice would be for young couples (20-35 years old) not to go there because that's not a suitable atmosphere.As Dimtri told us he doesn't want young people staying at his hotel because they are noisy an would disturb the other guests.That was not our case though.
Hope you find my review useful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midhurst
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

we booked a late deal in eary april and although with hindsite and information we obtained from dimitri and debbie we perhaps thought the first day that we were too early for decent weather, however this year it was superb !!.

We must say the service we got from dimitri and debbie was first class, they saved us at least 5 days of our holiday by ther informative information ( we were actually the only ones in hotel ).

Debbie and Dimitri we wiil see you in October Mike and Donna xx

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Markella Studios & Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markella Studios & Garden Suites

Address: Limni Keriou, Limni Keri 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Limni Keri
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Limni Keri
Hotel Class:3 star — Markella Studios & Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Markella Studios And Garden Suites
Markella Studios & Garden Hotel Limni Keri
Markella Studios & Garden Suites Zakynthos/Limni Keri, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markella Studios & Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.