We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food when they have it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jernbanegaten 1, Horten 3187, Norway   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30 % Off Scandinavia
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Horten
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food when they have it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here while attending a course for 5 days. Horton itself is depressing, with little to do and pretty crap pubs. The hotel was clean although overdue an update. When dining more often than not, they didn't have what you wanted on the menu. Beds were comfy enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi!
Thank you for giving us comments on Tripadvisor. We will use this concrete review to make our product better for our future guests. We hope you will stay at our Hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    16
    16
    3
See reviews for
3
5
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here whilst working locally and was put into a Jnr Suite. Sounds better than it was. Whilst the linen was clean the the room was very dated and clearly the whole building was neglected. Staff were friendly and breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi!
Thanky you for giving us feedback after your stay at our Hotel. I am sorry that your room did not have a better standard. We are working daily with maintenance, but when I read your review, it is clearly that we have to do even more, and maybe faster. But the staff liked that you complimented their effort, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lundby, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

What I especially like about this hotel, is that all amenities functions perfectly. My room is quiet and not too big but with good lamps, good bed, good working desk, many power outlets. The bathroom is also in perfect condition. The breakfast has a rich number of choices of good quality and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Stig!
Thank you for a great review. It makes us proud to work at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell when we read that our guests have been this satisfied with their stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada, Greece
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed for two nights and used also the restaurant.

Breakfast was nice, nothing extraordinary, just the normal thing.
Room was ok , clean and tidy. Internet is free of charge and you can log in as many devices you want. The staff is friendly and polite, helpfull with directions and arranging taxis. A lot of people attending courses in Horten use this hotel apparently.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daglig L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your overnight stay in Horten, and giving us a feedback on Tripadvisor. I specially enjoyed reading that our staff was friendly and polite. I hope I will see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The staff is very friendly and polite. (as they should be) Very helpfull with directions and arranging taxis. A lot of people attending courses in Horten use this hotel apparently.

The first room I got had a bad smell so I asked to get a nother. The standard of the room is not that very good but it was clean and ok. Electrical heating is not what you see everyday...

I ate one meal in the resturant except three breakfasts. The Meal was salmon and was not to bad. But at the table next to me a norwegian guy ordered a "meat plate". the norwegians love it, But it stinks like rotten meat from a sick animal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Zachodniopomorskie, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hotel is very close to ferry, you can easy hear each ferry boat arriving to coast. Room doesn't have any air condition, you can only open window. So each morning you don't have any air in your room. Room service is good, each day you get clean towels etc. Breakfast everyday is the same, but still good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

The overall feel of this place is lack-luster. The rooms are dim, the carpet is unclean and need removal. The breakfast environment is grim and the food, albeit is of moderate quality, is presented in a minimal effort way. The sauna is closed and there is no excercise area. They do offer a discounted rate at the nice gym up the street (walk 10 minutes) for a workout, if interested. I would not recommend staying here unless there were no other choices in the area. The location is okay for business in the area and located directly across the street from the Moss Ferry terminal. There is an easy walk to several restaurants and a shopping mall down the street where you can find basic items. The staff is relatively pleasant, but my feeling is the Management is not concerned because they have enough traffic to keep them at a decent occupancy level. would recommend staying at the hotels in Tonsberg, or try the small hotel across the street, the Hotel Brygge - Horten, where the place is clean and bright and they put some effort into making sure you have a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell

Address: Jernbanegaten 1, Horten 3187, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Horten Municipality > Horten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Horten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Horten Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.