We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I give it 8 stars?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solstrand Hotel & Bad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Solstrand Hotel & Bad to your Saves list
Solstrand Hotel & Bad
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Solstrandveien 200 | Os, Osoyro 5200, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Osoyro
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Can I give it 8 stars?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My first experience of Solstrad was booking my wedding reception there, which took place in June 2009. Living in London at the time my wife and I relied on the hotel staff to organise and advise on all but the most intimate details, visiting only to view the various function rooms and bedrooms, and then again to sample the menu and wines. At no point in the two year lead-up to our big day were we left with any doubt about the professionalism and competence of the team there, as they organised accommodation, coach transport and baby-sitters for our guests. Even more impressive was the way the staff entertained our every whim in the few days leading up to the big day, and the quality of the food, service and surroundings made our wedding reception one of the most stress-free parties I have ever thrown!

Having footed the bill for a party for 50 at Solstrand, I would say that while not cheap, (even by Norwegian standards) the place does represent great value. The staff are extremely well-trained and the matriarch of the Schau-Larsen family is nearly always visible somewhere, greeting guests and ensuring standards are kept up. At no point did I feel they were out to get my money, and there were even a few extras that never made it onto my bill...

Aside from the organisation and service aspects, the hotel has about the most stunning location possible, with a view out over the fjord, a glacier visible in the distance and immaculate, peaceful gardens in which to pass the time contemplating existence... If that's not enough, the spa is like nothing else - brilliantly designed with three large steam rooms/saunas of different flavours, a jacuzzi the size of a small swimming pool, with huge windows facing "that view", a generous-sized indoor pool for serious swimming and a smaller super-heated outdoor infinity pool with built in lounger, purely for lazing around. There are also plush-looking treatment rooms if you want to pay for massage etc, but I never used those. Incredibly, all but the outdoor pool is perfectly hidden under the hotel and lawns, so cannot be seen from the rooms.

There's also the option to take one of two locally built Oselvar rowing boats out on the fjord at no extra cost, to see the place from another angle. That was pleasant...

Most of our wedding guests had never been to Norway before, and the feedback from them was that Solstrand had made them really want to come back to see more of the country.

Three years on, and now living in Bergen, I visited Solstrand for an extended business meeting in August 2012, and the standard had not dropped one bit. Meeting, private dinner, drinks and breakfast were brilliantly managed - just the right balance of discretion and attention from the staff, and the same excellent facilities. I spent at least two hours trying everything at breakfast the next morning, and quietly enjoying the location with a newspaper before I was ready to drive back to the office...

I have stayed at a few so-called five-star hotels around Europe, but for me nothing comes close to this one for setting, service and dining, with all the facilities you would expect and then a little more. I would move in there for good if I could afford it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
39
4
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great large room with incredibly beautiful views of the gardens and parks and beyond Bjørnefjorden. Varied and delicious food at the buffet for lunch and good dinner. The hotel is huge and has many salons and antique furniture, great stoves and fireplaces and much beautiful interior. It's easy to understand why the female owner and driver of the hotel has won several awards for her work. We also saw the same lady had an overview of the lunch buffet and arranged the flower beds outside. The hotel has an excellent spa area with a 2 pool. A heated pool where you can swim from the hotel and out, beautiful to look up at the stars in the dark-while swimming around. The bar and dance area had a pianist and singer who created a great atmosphere and got many guests to dance and enjoy the evening. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, a woman who washed spa area took the time to accompany me to the meeting room. A hotel I would like to visit again.

Room Tip: The hotel is built so all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Solstrand Hotel & Bad (Solstrand Hotel and Baths) is located in the town of Osøyro, half an hour south of Bergen city, in quiet and picturesque surroundings right on the water's edge in the West Norwegian fjord landscape. The hotel is well established with long traditions in the Norwegian conference market, and hosts the famous Solstrand leadership development program for the business elite.

The hotel building itself is a mixture between old but well renovated and more modern additions with an atmosphere of gentility and tradition. The room I was in was very spacious, with vintage details and finish, but quite up to modern standards. Conference facilities were also very good, in the same modern and vintage mix that really gave it a character beyond your average conference hotel. Huge windows with a spectacular view added to this.

I had two lunches, a breakfast and a 3 course dinner during my stay. Breakfast and lunch buffets were seccond to none. Some of the best I have had, with a very good selection of breads, hot and cold dishes with particularly excellent use of traditional Norwegian fish and meats.

The hotel is known for its spa and bath facilities, among other things with a heated outdoor pool at the fjord side, but I did not use these and can't really review them. The hotel also has a big park, with walking paths that give the opportunity for various length walks along the sea.

Prices seem to be in the upper range, but this is is a world class hotel experience offering an atmosphere that sets it quite well apart from your average glass and steel conference hotel. If price is not important, or if you can get a good deal, I would heartily recommend this. Particularly if you see more than enough of your usual run of the mill hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Couldnt find fault with this hotel, second year visiting for a conference. Food is wonderful, wine bit expensive, but it is in Norway. Quality of rooms is very good. Great location, heated infinity pool lovely. Sauna and steam room nice. didnt get to try any of the treatments

Room Tip: Try to get one facing Fjiord
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

After 4 weeks of solid travel we thought we had arrived in heaven when arriving at Solstrand. The location takes your breath away and then there are the rooms. We booked a deluxe room and it more than met expectations. Very adequate. Plenty of room and storage space and then there was the view!!! The spa facilities are some of the best we have encountered in many years of travel. The pools (plural) were amazing. To swim outdoors with snow capped mountains in the background was a little surreal. Dinner was very expensive so the second night we ate in our room after walking into Os (very picturesque) and buying wine at great prices and then off to the supermarket for fresh produce, we had a lovely meal. Staff are very accommodating and the breakfasts are ample. The only negative is the cost of getting to the airport in Bergen..870 Nor Kr

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It's pretty expensive but it's absolutely positively
worth it. All kinds of beautiful pools and the breakfast
buffet was extraordinary. The view out the window
was lovely. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.
About the only negative is that they just had two
computers for guest use and one was kaput. But if you're in the mood to
splurge, this place is just amazing!

Room Tip: No problem - all the rooms have a wonderful fjord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

It was a great place to relax. We had a corner room and with great views of the fjord. One can just sit there for hours looking at the picture perfect scenery. Definitely a place for romance. It had beautiful pool and spa, wooden canoes for rowing into the fjord and places to swim in the fjord. The gardens surrounding the hotel was very well kept and maintained. There was only one single restaurant. It was probably the only decent place to eat in the area. There were not many menu choices. They provided a daily 3 course menu which probably the best value. The food was quite good.

Room Tip: One will need a car to get there from Bergen. There are parking places around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solstrand Hotel & Bad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstrand Hotel & Bad

Address: Solstrandveien 200 | Os, Osoyro 5200, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Os Municipality > Osoyro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Osoyro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solstrand Hotel & Bad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solstrand Hotel is situated right by the fjord only 30 km south of Bergen and the airport. This unique location right by the Bjornefjord, an arm of the Hardangerfjord, is as beautiful and serene as it is convenient. Solstrand has been in the Schau-Larsen family for four generations, preserving a tradition of unsurpassed hospitality, traditional cuisine and a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Solstrand Hotel & Bad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solstrand Hotel And Bad
Solstrand Hotel Bergen
Solstrand Hotel & Bad Norway/Osoyro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solstrand Hotel & Bad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.