We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso to your Saves list
Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandia 21060, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kandia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went there for Easter Easter vacations . The rooms were luxurious .... The mattress on the bed and the pillows secured a heavenly sleep. The bathroom very practical and huge space to move in. I strongly suggest the ground floor rooms , especially if you have kids because they have direct access to the garden and you can drink your coffee and they can play, so it's a win-win situation. Humongous pool... It's even bigger than the photos suggest! The beach was perfect. The stuff was really trying to be helpful but still have a long way to a five star hotel service. The prices were very good and the value for money more than ok. If I would notice two minus for the hotel that would be : a. the prices for the restaurant (but with very good food quality) were a bit high and b. the stones in the pool that are dangerous for the kids. If you need true escape from all your problems pack your things now!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
38
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wow! Is all I can say about this hotel. We have been all around the world and stayed at so many different hotels, this was unbelievable. The room we had was comparable to any 5 star hotel here with the technology, the luxury, cleanliness, and space. The pools were HUGE and only steps away from the ocean. The prices were actually very reasonable-- 2 tosts (grilled ham and cheese panini), a fruit salad, 2 freddo coffees, 2 bottles of water, and potato chips less than 16 euro...We will definitely be going back to stay there!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egaleo, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It was a new, clear, hotel with perfect big pool with good quality water.
All the facilities it was maintain and in perfect condition (without damages).
The room and the bed, it was XL size (type of the room: DELUXE DOUBLE).
The marble bathroom was very clear, with Jacuzzi bath and with separate shower cabin
The breakfast it wasn’t bad but in the minimum standards for a5star hotel.
The dinner in the hotel restaurant it was expensive for what its offer – nothing special- (two dishes with pasta, 3 beers -330ml each one, one salad, a dish with 4pcs of brusketa ,one bottle water & two desserts 101€!!!!)
The coffees in the pool was too expensive (two freddo espresso and a small water 11€)
But the big minus it was the behavior, of the most staff, were cold and unapproachable (they did not know what is the smile)
The Nafplio city it was 30 minutes away with a car

Room Tip: The rooms with private pool , its in public view. Ask king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Positives: This is a remarkable, outstanding hotel in terms of its facilities. The rooms are luxurious, extremely comfortable and super clean with expensive furniture and beds. The bathrooms are very big with a Jacuzzi, separate walk-in shower and toilet. The views from our balcony were breath-taking and so very peaceful. The swimming pool is an unforgettable experience. My child had the time of her life. Never seen a better designed and built swimming pool. The wi-fi was the best I have ever used at a hotel in Greece and it was free to use in our deluxe room.
Negatives: The prices at the pool bar and restaurant are painfully high. 5 Euros for a small can of beer is just not justifiable. The breakfast was not that of a 5 star hotel. 4 star at a push. The food at the pool restaurant was good and tasty but again the prices were prohibitive. Service was slow and the staff looked tired and disoriented. Personally, I love the hotel’s location but if you don’t have a car you might find it a bit out of the way with not much to do at nights. Perhaps, they should consider opening a separate bar area for evening entertainment.
All in all, this is a wonderful hotel with the potential of becoming one of the best in Greece, if they improve in some of the areas highlighted above.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The key word here is quiet. A big bonus in my books but not if you have children or young teenagers. If you just want to soak in the sub, the huge tropical pool next to the pool bar and lovely sea then this is for you! A new hotel build near the quiet village of Kandia. Just ~20 min from the bustling city of Nafplio. There is a lot of sight seeing to do in the area including Epidaurus. The hotel has large luxury rooms, friendly staff, Fantastic pool and beach facilities. The spa should also be operational soon I was told. The only downside is the lack a restaurant. It only has the pool bar which serves snacks and plates of the day and the hotel restaurant in the evening which has exactly the same menu. But then again the neighboring villages of Vivari and Iera have out of the way taverns that offer fresh catch of the day fish. A truly relaxing holiday!
Last comment is that the Hotel and pool bar prices need to be reviewed soon as there are other cheaper options in the area, maybe not as glamorous but just as fulfilling.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms facing the pool are very spacious with great bathroom and Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Very beautifull hotel with the biggest pool I have ever seen! Also great rooms very clear and large!

The only problem with it was the high prices in every service they provide...

It's better to eat somewhere outside than there..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It’s a quite new hotel, located about 2-3km from the closest built-up area, though just 15min from Tolo and 25min from Nafplio.
We stayed in a deluxe suite, on the second floor, a very big room, with nice but quite classical decoration. I cannot agree more with some fellows that have highlighted this issue. Once inside the room and isolated from the outside world, you get the feeling that you are somewhere in the mountains and the only thing missing from the room is a fireplace! Probably it was intended to create a castle’s atmosphere! The bathroom was excellent. It included a jacuzzi bathtub and a big walk-in shower.
The pool (freshwater) is really the hotel’s strong point. It was huge! By far the biggest we have visited in Greece. Very clean, with variable depth (from 0,3m to 1,6m) and great landscaping. Right at the centre of the pool (connected with bridges) lie a bar & a restaurant. The hotel is located right on the beach where umbrellas and sun-beds are offered to the hotel clients. The sea there is clean and you can easily move from the pool to the beach for a dive.
Breakfast is all in all of average to good quality for a 5-star hotel. The standard products you would expect were there, but still it was a bit short of options (compared to other 5-star hotels we have been to). The pool restaurant offers some standard options (the same as room service) plus two specials (at least on Saturday when we were there). Portions are generous and the setting in the middle of the giant pool is very nice, nevertheless prices are very high (for room service ridiculously high).
The staff was friendly and polite. However, some minor issues could have been avoided. Specifically, although we had arranged for a late check-out (at 16.00), our key card was de-activated at 11.00 and we had to ask the cleaning lady to open our door. Plus, we asked at the reception for some towels for the pool but nobody told us that we should return them there instead of taking them to our room and the next day we were told we had not done so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso

Address: Kandia 21060, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Kandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandia`s Castle Hotel, Resort And Thalasso
Kandia`s Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso Hotel Drepano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.