We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso to your Saves list
Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandia 21060, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kandia
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I have visited the hotel twice,both of the times the same impression ,very nice place,beautiful beach spacious rooms,but the managing of the hotel is so pooooor!!!.the breakfast was just ok,the pool bar was too expensive ,the pool is perfect,the reception probably is totally unhelpful ,IN ONE WORD THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO MANAGE THIS HOTEL.AND IT'S A SHAME

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
38
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The plan for me and my family, was to spend a long weekend during the New Year ’s Eve in a luxurious 5-star hotel. The price was 200 Eur. per day, HB. Unfortunately the choice was not good. Although the hotel facilities were excellent (spacious room, huge swimming pool, nice decoration etc.), the service was very poor. It was obvious that the hotel was closed for the winter season and they decided to open it for 3-4 days during Christmas and 3-4 days during New Year’s Eve, just to make some costless profit. It was extremely understaffed. During our arrival we met only 1 employee in the reception desk that he admitted he had just arrived too! We asked for someone to help us with our luggage and he smiled and informed us that nobody was available!
In our room, the minibar was empty (not even water). Moreover we had no hot water in the bath (the problem was fixed by a plumber a few hours later). The toilette had no heating equipment and it was like a refrigerator.
Same or even worse situation was in dining facilities. A couple of waiters were struggling to serve, while any kind of comical situations were happening (some times the food was cold, other times the tables were not enough etc.)
Perhaps during the summertime the hotel is a beautiful place for holidays but it was obvious that they tried to make money with the least cost in Christmas.
In my perception when you advertise 5-star service and you demand high prices, especially in recession years, you have to be more competent. Definitely I wouldn’t suggest the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

this hotel is really very pleasant, with spacious and superbe bedrooms and bathrooms (we were upgraded in a deluxe bedroom : for once this naming was justified, which is not always the case in Greece). The swimming pool is incredibly big and pleasant. Staff are nice and efficient (the hotel is a bit understaffed however, which can be explained by the fact we stayed there off-season).Breakfast is OK.
The only real criticism does not aim the hotel itself : the surroundings are not very pleasant (scruffy little beach village) and you need to a car. If this condition is fulfilled, the hotel provides an excellent base for touring the Argolide.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

A sparkling-new 5-star restaurant with a breathtaking lagoon-type pool ( I believe the largest in Greece) located on a very quiet sandy beach. Beautiful and comfortable rooms and facilities, some of which alas are not operating (the spa).

I cannot help but praise the swimming pool, the kids has the time of their life!

But something is missing - as other reviewers noted, the management does not seem to to justice to the hotel. It seems to me that they are trying to recoup the investment in a haphazard manner:
- Breakfast was 4-star at best: plain and not out of the absolute ordinary, and in some cases foul-tasting ( the ersatz Nutella spread was inedible)
- Lunch was very expensive for what it offered and in some cases misrepresented in the catalog ("fresh-cut fries" were of the supermarket frozen variety)
- Room delivery of food is charged a 30% markup over the already expensive menu prices
- No live music or entertainment of any sort in the evenings
- When we checked out, the cleaning lady had the courtesy to say "I hope you enjoyed your stay, hope we see you soon" - but not the desk clerk!

It is a very new hotel, and probably going though its teething pains...I would really like to visit it again, once it gets its act together!

Room Tip: Ground floor suites with direct access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a hard review to write. I most definitely would go back. On the upside - the building, rooms, landscaping and garden, pools are outstanding. Check in was excellent. The quality of the rooms is excelIent. I relaxed and really enjoyed my stay here.I liked the fact that despite being a big property everything is well thought out and within easy reach - you don't need to walk miles to go for a swim, or a meal. Breakfast was pretty good too. The pool is out of this world and well cared for. Wifi was excellent too. It is ideal for people with small children too. But teenagers may have a bit of an issue, as there is nothing for them to do really.

On the downside - not 1 bar of soap to be seen in our bathroom. We had a soap dispenser made from glass which was by the hand basin, plus gel for the shower. Bear in mind that we also had a jacuzzi which not exactly made for gels etc!! We had an executive suite which also had a wc and no soap of any description in it. Also no robes. I think the hotel is not fully finished yet, although it did not affect us as I was not interested in the Spa, but I think it is nonexistent. The food was pretty good but due to the lack of occupancy a slightly limited menu and I think excessively expensive for what you got. You would avoid eating in there on a limited budget. The place was a bit empty - to put it mildly - so there were not that many staff. However enough to keep us happy, they were very willing and some of them were very capable. Having said that, some seemed to need training and not one of them had a name tag. My biggest complaint is that there seemed to be too many bosses who were basically running the business from the pool bar and their comments and discussions could have been better conducted from their offices. It strikes me that it could truly be paradise if run properly. Overall a super few days though and really great for relaxation!.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS,GREECE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We visited Kandia Castle for a weekend in June 2011 and we were impressed by its:
- Huge and top quality rooms. even if we prefer more modern decoration we could recognise the excellent work they have done. The bed is the biggest we have ever slept in (more than 2,20m wide)
- The swimming pools are absolutely great. In order that you swim around the pool you need 4-5 minutes!
- The overall service is very nice, people are very helpfull and the breakfast is very good.
- You can easily visit Nafpion which is perfect and also you can eat at the nice taverns nearby.
One drawback is the high prices for eating and drinking in the hotel. When you pay a lot of money for the room you cannot pay that much for a coffee and a club sandwich.
Unfortunately the spa was not open and also some restaurants inside the hotel but it didn't matter.

Perfect for a weekend.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms in the 1st floor have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lenaman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Our room was really spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was one of the biggest and best equiped I have ever seen, with a jacuzzi bathtub and a separate shower.
The pool is huge and in the middle of it there is a pool bar and a pool restaurant. There is also a small but nice beach almost bext to the pool.
Since the room rate was on a half-board basis we had dinner twice in the main restaurant. The variety and taste of the dishes offered was really satisfactory. Breakfast is also very rich.
It is probably the best hotel in that part of the Peloponese.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso

Address: Kandia 21060, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Kandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandia`s Castle Hotel, Resort And Thalasso
Kandia`s Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso Hotel Drepano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandia's Castle Hotel, Resort & Thalasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.