We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steve n julie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Virginia Hotel to your Saves list
Virginia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reni Kosnikou, Koskinou 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“steve n julie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

me n my wife arrived home a week ago after spending 2 weeks relaxing at the hotel. the bar staff were really friendly - as i found out after having spent many a hour propping the bar up in the heat of the day, in fact, all the staff were extremely helpful. we would go again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing time. the food was plentiful - just as long as you were not behind someone whose idea of a main meal didn't consist of Kilimanjaro on a plate. we spent every day on the beach and some evenings in old Rhodes town. down side - the rooms were a bit lame in the old part but the view over looking the waterfall/sea was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    71
    69
    54
    29
See reviews for
99
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked a week last minute, family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. On arrival we found reception staff very helpful but we were very disappointed with our room, as previous people have commented the hotel advertises the new part of the hotel, we booked via teletext and the room description was 'superior room with kitchenette', however on arrival we found we had a room in the old part with 2 twin beds and a set of bunk beds all in one room. All furniture was cheap pine and looked quite dated and tired, the only redeeming factor was we had a sea view (Slightly obscured by a restaurant). We went to reception to ask if they had an alternative as it was not ideal for 18 and 16 year old to be in bunk beds but only alternative was another room in old section which has 4 single beds and air conditioning wasn't working properly and view wasn't as nice so we decided to stick to original room and ended up moving the top bunk mattress to the floor each night. Room would be ok for a family with little children but if you were self catering the cooking equipment was sparce, luckily we were all inclusive.

Food was good, good selection each day you could always find something. The only problem was that the hotel is full of Eastern Europeans who were incredibly rude and greedy. They had no idea of the concept of waiting in turn, and would fill their plates with all the available fruit and desserts before they had even got their first course. The queue for the ice cream was always horrendous too.

We found all the staff friendly. The bar was disappointing drinks were served in plastic beakers and you are unable to get a pint glass. Only drinks available were whisky, rum, vodka, there was no Malibu or Bacardi substitute and the coke was nothing like coke.

Location is very isolated, you can walk along a main road to a few restaurants and supermarkets but there is nothing to do in the evenings and no hotel entertainment except for a Scooby doo club for the kids. Ok if you want to just eat and go to bed early but if you want to do something in the evenings the best option is to get a bus/taxi to Faliraki or Rhodes town. Taxi was 8 euros each way to both for family of 4.

Beach is right across the road from hotel, yes there is a little slope (uphill on way back) but not as bad as people have made out, and sunbeds are 8 euros for 2 sunbeds and umbrella. We spent most of our time at the big pool, this is a lovely pool, always able to get a sunbed and the animation team do aqua gym and water polo each day for the adults and children and the music is good around the pool. There is a bar right nearby and snack bar which has food, salad, pasta and cakes most of the day if you don't want to go to the main restaurant.

Rhodes town is well worth a visit, lovely old town and harbour. We also went to Faliraki one evening and had a nice Chinese meal and a few drinks.

Overall this hotel would be good for someone that wants to eat and sunbathe and go to bed early. Not ideal for teenagers or anyone that likes to have a walk in the evening as there is nowhere to walk to, area surrounding hotel is undeveloped. Would be ok for family with young children that use a children's club and don't want to go further afield in the evening.

Air conditioning was a necessity in End July/August as rooms were incredibly hot, luckily it is free in July/August but I believe they charge at other times.

Maids in every day except Sunday. Safe deposit boxes are not in the rooms they are little pull out trays at reception so you are limited what you can fit into them. Cost was 15 euros non refundable.

Room Tip: Request a room in new section, these are maisonettes and family suites I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went to Rhodes 27 July for a week. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomodating no matter the query. The food was excellent varieties each day and more so for the vegetarian like myself. The bar staff were exceptionally friendly and always worked hard and fast to serve there customers.
Rhodes old town was beautiful and had so much going on, the harbour was fantastic view, Lindos was amazing especially the ruins, very hot at this time of the year, definatley go again and stay at this hotel, thoroughly recommend this place and value for money :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Normally it is just the 2 of us but on this occasion we went with granddaughter and her little girl, our great granddaughter, which was lovely for us. The hotel was alright and the swimming pools o.k. but there was no entertainment at night for the little one which was a huge disappointment. I had rang up to inquire about this and was assured that they now (in July) had entertainment. The mini disco was run by Poles which somehow did not catch the interest of English children of which there were a few.

The beach was not as appealing as we had hoped for. It was not far away, just down a steep hill, unfortunately we also had to get up this hill again for lunchtime - in the heat of the day.

Breakfast was (for me) unbelievable. No tomatoes, cucumbers or any other salad to go with the Feta cheese. Greasy fried onions, sausages, cooked ham and other cooked things in abundance for all the Eastern people who, as usual, piled their plates full with anything they could get hold of.
Because of this, I think, food was never replenished when needed but maybe I just was very unlucky and always there at the wrong time. This remark refers to lunchtime and evening. Waiters also could not keep up with clearing and cleaning the tables. We mostly did this ourselves.

The room cleaner was very friendly but not pushy and the receptionist was extremely helpful and informative.

All in all we had a good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flekkefjord, Vest-Agder, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

OK. Only after booking our holiday I had time to look a bit closer on Tripadvisor about the Hotel we were going to. A bit of ohoh, hope this will be ok crept upon me.

First impression when arriving: it is one of the older hotels, at least partially. There's the old part with several appartment buildings and the larger new building with the new pool.

We were in the old part, because we opted for appartments with a cooking corner. First impression into the rooms was one of slight dissappointment. The furniture is older and needs replacement in a near future. Maybe not so much because it's broken, but to keep up with standards. (I certainly don't rate it at 4 stars Apollo)
In the kitchen basic cooking material were missing, but on asking we got that fixed up straight away.

Once you get the brochure pictures out of your head (almost all in the new part taken) it all works out well. We enjoyed our stay for the 2 weeks.

On the plus:
- personnel is friendly and helpful.
- Hotel has an own car rental service, be sure to reserve on forehand. (10 min. walk away you can get it also a bit cheaper)
- Nice beach with shallow water 300m away
- Nice playground for the kids
- Bus stop 200m away on the main road, bus every 20min. to Rhodos city for € 1,80 pp
- calm environment
- close to Rhodos, thereby cheap with Taxi
- New pool is good, big enough and long enough even for making some lanes.

On the minus:
- older hotel, at least partially ripe for upgrade
- a bit far away from a decent supermarket (1 km or so)
- the surrounding is a bit of a downturn with the unfinished/abandoned hotel project next to the hotel.
- water quality in the old pool is not good at some times. Can be greasy in the children's pool.

We didn't use the restaurant, so I can't say anything about that.

Room Tip: Just want a room ---> insist on new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for one week, wanting a chilled out scene but with good night life near by. Falaraki and Rhodes town are both €13 away in a taxi which can be ordered from the reception.

On arrival, we were greeted by the receptionist and given a room key receiving no information on where our room was and were told to look at booklets throughout the hotel for any extra information. Once we found our room (in the old part of the hotel - please book new part if can!!) we could not operate the door, as the handle was on its last legs, so had to ask reception to open it for us and he informed us we had to lean on the door whilst turning the key for it to work!!

The food at the hotel is extremely basic and is the same pretty much every day.
The drinks on the all inclusive are extremely limited only offering beer, wine, vodka, tequila and whiskey. Not allowing for any extras for example - lime cordial or grenadene. According to the rude bar staff these were only for the children.

The hotel is largely based for Eastern Europeans, with all animation staff not really bothering with the English.

Overall, the holiday is what you make of it.

If like a lively nightlife, Rhodes town and falaraki are a must visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I travelled in the 2 middle weeks of July; this was our first holiday together. We booked the whole holiday trip from Ice Lolly and we got a good deal for 2 weeks all inclusive. Having said that, in regards to the hotel, we got what we paid for!

On arrival, we were frustrated because it was nearly 11pm, we were hungry and the transfer took nearly 2 hours because of how many stops we had to make. First thing the receptionist said was "Can I have your passports?". There was no "Hello, welcome to Virginia Hotel!" or "How was your journey?". She was one of 2 receptionists and my partner and I avoided her completely for the 2 weeks we stayed because of how rude and blunt she was on arrival. However, the 2nd receptionist was absolutely lovely, and we would always make sure we asked her the questions we had. The 1st receptionist gave us our room key, electric key and air conditioning remote. She explained everything in the leaflet that she gave us and told us where our room was. We saw the sign for WiFi and we paid 30 euros for 2 weeks; only one device was allowed on the WiFi that you pay for, which was annoying because my partner and I both had 3 devices we wanted to use altogether. We started to walk down and was surprised at how nice the hotel grounds were. BUT, inside the room was a completely different story......

Got to our room, there was a shaking wooden door to greet us. It didnt seem very secure... We put our electric and lights on and I checked the bathroom straight away (which was as soon as you walked in, on the right). The shower horrified me! There was a yellowed, plastic shower curtain that surrounded this very basic shower - two taps and a loose shower head. The shower curtain did not even reach to the floor so there was a drain in the middle of the room, which you stood on when on the toilet, so it made it similar to a shower room. The toilet and tap were fine though.
We were booked for a twin/double room and I presumed they would put us in a double room being a male and female couple. We had 3 single beds with 2 bedside tables. We were frustrated already (because of the transfer taking so long and being hungry), so we were not happy with the room as it stands. We both decided to go back down to reception and ask how much it would be to upgrade to a studio in the newer part of the hotel. Of course we still had the rude receptionist on desk. We asked her how much to upgrade, she turns around and talks to a male behind the desk in Greek, turns back around and says that they're all booked up for now. Then we asked if we could get moved to a double room because we had 3 single beds. The male says to us, "The rooms are all like that."
Now at this point I was confused and angry because on their website they advertise their double rooms with DOUBLE BEDS!! Why advertise DOUBLE BEDS for DOUBLE ROOMS if you don't even have them?!
The beds were very hard, we had a sheet and thin blanket to cover us with. If we had air con on in the night we were too cold, when we didn't have it on it was too hot! Haha, I think this may have been because my partner and I are used to using quilts at home, whatever the weather, though.
As for the "not-so-secure" wooden door, we found that it would shake like crazy in the night because of it being windy; we had to put a door in front of it to stop this.

Haha, basically we didnt have a very good start to the holiday already!


In regards to the amenities, I was extremely pleased with them. My partner and I always went to the pool in the newer part of the hotel because it was bigger and had a lot more sun on the area. There was only 1 day of the whole 2 weeks that we were not able to get 2 sunbeds because they were full, and this was at about 3pm so we were not surprised. The pool was always clean, sunbeds always available (never had any trouble with people stealing your sunbeds) and the pool bar was very convenient to have so close by to the pool. The pool snack bar was pointless, just left over food from the breakfast and lunch (e.g. cake, mini croissants, rice, salad).

The beach was practically straight across from the reception and was down a very steep hill. This bothered us a little and was often the reason we would choose the pool to sunbathe by rather than the beach; the climb back up was very hard when you are hot, bothered and thirsty.
We walked along the beach a little a found a restaurant which seemed to be joined onto the neighbouring hotel, Sunwing.This was extremely lovely to eat out at, it was overlooking the sea, food was amazing and the vanilla milkshake was delicious! However, it was a bit expensive, but seeing as it was the only time we ate out in the whole two weeks, it was a nice treat for us. Other than the beach, there is not a lot around the hotel.... This was a HUGE downside to the hotel.
Although, if you came out left of the hotel and walked down the road and turned left again at the next turning and walked a little way, we found this little town (not entirely sure if it was Koskinou or not....) there was a few supermarkets, restaurants, cocktail bars and places to rent cars. We didn't spend too much time here because it was a little empty and not many people seemed to be around. However, there was a lovely supermarket that we visited twice (first supermarket you reach); staff were lovely and they sold a huge range or gifts, foods, drinks etc you could buy!

If you turned right at the first turning you reach, after turning left out of the hotel, there was a bus stop. My partner and I worked out that this was the bus stop to Rhodes Town because the leaflet that was given to us at the start of the trip illustrated where several bus stops were. The bus was extremely cheap to use (1.60 euro each way per person). Rhodes town is a brilliant place to visit for shoppers and along the harbour there were PLENTY of excursions that you could do. This is where we booked our scuba diving. Rhodes Town is a must!!!!

In regards to the food and drink at Virginia, I was pleasantly surprised!! For soft drinks, they had Cola (had hardly any taste), Fanta Lemon (Lemonade) and Sprite. My partner and I stuck to Fanta Lemon and Sprite because they were tastes we knew from home (UK). They also had wines, spirits etc. which I would normally drink (and I tried to) but the measurements were literally half and half, and I dont like my drinks that strong.

Breakfast became EXTREMELY repetitive and we were both sick of it only after the 1st week! Scambled egg, boiled egg, beans, mini frankfurter sausages, mini croissants and seasoned potato cubes were on almost EVERYDAY.... Sometimes there would be onions and what they would like to call "bacon". There was always fresh bread out for breakfast, but was covered over with a tea-towel for use at lunch and dinner, which meant they were very hard by that time.
Lunch was different everyday and dinner was similar. Gyros pork, mixed beef and pork balls, rice, chips (WHICH WEREN'T ON EVERYDAY FOR US), pasta, spaghetti, bolognese, carbonara, salad are only a select few of what was offered at lunch and dinner! You do get tired of the same stuff, but you will always find something to eat because you basically have to....
Puddings never amazed me... The different cakes they bought out (carrot, lemon, chocolate) were always really WET?!! I'm not sure if they froze them and just let them defrost and that is why they were so wet, or if there was another reason...? But puddings I tried each thing, and nothing ever amazed me. Jelly and ice cream was on eveyr dinner time.

Staff were all very reserved but did their jobs. Bar staff were very efficient as were waiting staff in the restaurant that took your dinnerware away. Never had a problem with the hotel staff.
They washed the floors everyday around the hotel and had sprinklers to water the plants on at least twice a week. The housekeeping of the hotel was good.

As for our room, this frustrated me A LOT! You NEVER knew when your maids were coming, and did not have an option to put a "Do Not Disturb" sign up! One day they came at about 9am, another day about 2pm. The way they would check if anyone was in was by knocking, and without waiting for an answer, just barge in. On the second day, I was literally shouting at them "WE ARE STILL IN!" but she was still inisitent on coming into the room!! All she said was "Tomorrow?" and I said "Yeah that's fine!" I've never experienced anything like that! So my partner and I had to try and organise our activities to make sure we were out for the maids but we never knew when they were going to be there!!!
Room service was 6 out of 7 days, but we never knew which day wasn't room service so we still had to try and get out of the way for that maids on that day... Linen was changed 3 times a week which was okay, but we had blood on our sheets for 2 days :-S. One time when we wanted our towels changing (we would leave them on the floor if we wanted them changing) they just folded up our wet towels and put them back on our beds.... However, bins were changed everyday which was good.

I know this review seemed like a moaning one, but if I am honest, it was okay for what we paid for. But after this experience, my partner and I now know what to look out for next time we book for a holiday (e.g. closer to a town/busier place). It was a lovely 2 weeks in the sun, which is what we looked for. But this is our own opinion and yours may vary and if you like secluded places then this is an good place to stay at.

I would never reccommend this place to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Hotel

Address: Reni Kosnikou, Koskinou 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Koskinou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Koskinou
Virginia Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.