We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No entertainment! No Free Wifi! But Lovely hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Virginia Hotel to your Saves list
Virginia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reni Kosnikou, Koskinou 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No entertainment! No Free Wifi! But Lovely hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Firstly this hotel and resort is lovely. Rooms fine, air conditioning, clean and although all inclusive food aint brilliant its fine. The down side is there is nowt to do at night, no entertainment is put on (we were there 30/8-5/9) and there is nothing really around hotel to go to. On plus side it is about a 2 min walk to main road bus stop and another 10 mins on bus to Rhodes town which is just gorgeous. For what we paid for hol I would prob go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    71
    69
    54
    29
See reviews for
99
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After visiting this hotel for a week I must say a few things about it. Some good and some not so good

However, some reviewers really do just complain about this place for the sake of complaining. YOU PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET!!!

Anyways, first impression of the hotel was nice. Everything appeared really clean and tidy and in its place, but I was hoping for a room in the new building, but instead was placed in the old part. I wasn't disappointed though, as I say, you pay for what you get, we got a nice decent sized room with a balcony which appeared very clean (until later in the week when I found some old clothes under the sofa from previous tenants) the beds were comfy as hell and the bathroom had all the amenities you'd expect to have. The next Morning we noticed we didn't have any towels so I called reception from the room and within minutes someone was at our door with towels (speedy service).

The pool area was lovely, yes there were children about but its a family place. There was entertainment for both children and adults although the entertainers lacked English language skills. There were more than enough sun loungers and more than enough inside seating if you wanted shade.

The food was a little disappointing, on arrival old building guests were given a green band where new guests were given blue, but there were different areas for each band to eat, green getting apparently the worst types of food. The food was quite repetitive, and some things just didn't look appetising, I mainly stuck to rice, chips, and when they had them, chicken nuggets.

Staff were generally really nice. When we arrived at the hotel the man on reception seemed very disinterested but I put that down to the time of the morning. The man working the early shift at the downstairs bar was rude, horrible, and tutted a lot. However the guys who ran the upstairs bar were much better, they attempted to chat and made jokes and had a laugh. The lady who ran reception was also cry lovely, when my band got ripped off she replaced it for me and told me good places to visit on my travels. But by far my favourite staff member was the cleaner, always smiling always happy and always ready to help.

Location for me was ideal. It was half way between the old town and faliraki and a taxi only cost 7-9 euros. There was a beech about 200 meters away with a lovely blue sea and good snorkeling spots.

One thing that did put me off was workers smoking whilst working behind the bar and reception and guests smoking inside, although nearly all the English guests smoked outside as its illegal to smoke in public places in England.

All in all as I say you pay for what you get and for me I got a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Me and my partner want a nice relaxing holiday,that's excatly what we got.location was perfect,nice a peaceful,no noisy roads-3 miles to Rhodes 1 way and 3 miles to faliraki-only 1.80 euro on a bus or 9 euros by taxis.lovely beach jst accords the road from hotel.there are sum nice places if u turn left on the main road,lovely little cocktail bar called parrot bar,nice friendly atmosphere n very reasonable prices.
We stayed in the older part of the hotel-room are dated but very basic,we didn't go on holiday to stay in our room,so none of the above bothered is,they were clean and bedding and towels were changed every other day.staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful.food was basic,plenty to choose from,a little repetitive but neither of us our fussing ratter and always found sumfing that we liked.pool area we nice,plenty of sunbeds,there is 2 relaxing pools n 2 livelier pools,we spend most of the time at the relaxing pool,trading a book of chilling on a lilow.if ur looking for value for money and a quite base for a relaxing holiday-this is perfect for want we paid and wanted.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Location: The hotel is about 100 meters from the beach. However the beach is small and packed - like being in a sardine can. The beach is also quite dirty - lots of litter etc. There are a few burger vans on the beach and one or two small sheds for toiltets - filthy. No other beaches within walking distance. The resort centre is a 10 min walk - fairly quite with a few restaurants/shops (but very expensive). Car hire cheaper outside the hotel.

Food: Amount and variety of food was better than expected on the AI package. However theres lots of re-using of food e.g. left over frankfurter sausages at breakfast are used in salad for lunch, and evening, and on occassions for the next days lunch. Likewise the tomatoes, melon, and cucumber used in the salads were rarely fresh. Also there is no fresh fruit for breakfast - tinned fruit only. However there's always cooked breakfast availiable.

Drinks: AI drinks are water, white & red wine, beer, coke, diluted orange juice, lemonade, fanta, rum, ouzo, brandy, gin, tequila, vodka. The spirits tasted slightly watered down. Overall we felt the drinks were acceptable for the price paid and you rarely had to wait more than 2-3 minutes to be served.

Other Guests: During our stay the majority of guests were Russian or from Eastern Block countries e.g. Slovakia, Albania, etc. Indeed most of the notice boards in the Hotel are in Russian - nothing in English. Meals were like watching a fish tank full of pyranas at feeding times - very hectic and not a pleasant eating environment. We eat later on to avoid the madness! There are lots of families at this hotel, and loud ones at that. If you are a fairly loud/active family you will fit in but otherwise not. No larger louts which was a positve. There is loud animation (in Russian) pretty much all day long in the newer part of the Hotel but not in the older part/pool.

Rooms: If you go for the cheaper 'room' option then your in the older part of the hotel - ok but very dated. In our opinion certainly not 4 star - more like 2 star. The newer part of the hotel appeared to be occupied entirely by Russians. Lots of guests complained about the air conditioning e.g. not working at all, only blowing but not cooling, or as in our case cooling but very noisy. All rooms have a balcony. Garden view rooms are probably the best as there is a nice garden with water fall. Sea view rooms overlook what appears to be the start of a building site - a few trucks and JCB's but not too noisy. Our TV didn't work, shower holder was broken so had to hold the shower head, plug missing from sink, door didn't lock properly, etc. Towels cleaned every 2nd day but sheets only changed every 7 days! Room walls are paper thin and therfore it can be a bit noisy at 1 or 2am when people are returning from the bar.

Hotel Staff: Bit of a mix. The taller bar man is very bad mannered but the shorter one friendly. One waiter is very miserable but the rest always smile. Reception staff are fine. Head housekeeper bellows down the coridors during the daytime to try and locate the cleaning maids - if you like an afternoon siesta when on holiday you can forget it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

we had no problems with the hotel the staff are nice the food was good but it did seem to be much the same stuff every night the apartments where ok for what we paid £250 for both of us all inclusive 9th to the 16th june one week there are two sides of the hotel we never had any problems with getting a sun bed no matter what time we went there is no entertainment at all no problem for us there is a little beach across the road but be warned you have to go down a big slope but it does tell on the legs on the way back there is a little mobile bar there there is nothing in the area you can walk in to the next little town takes a 15 minutes at a slow walk i would go back to the hotel if there was more around the area there was a few loud polish and russians there

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Can't understand previous reviews of this Hotel, it's very clean, well maintained, food just what you expect from all-inclusive (can be repetitive but overall something for everyone). The nearby beach is lovely. Staff esp. Bar & Reception, were friendly and welcoming! only downside we found was nowhere nearby to go to unless you catch bus to Rhodes. And some sort of evening entertainment would be beneficial to both hotel & guests, as when all-inclusive finishes at 11pm, that's it! Where if they had a small disco they would make from sale of drinks. Very few british guests predominantly Eastern Europeans, who have NO consideration of other guests!

Room Tip: ask for rooms in new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

where to start ...........................
the review below basically says it all there actually is not one nice thing to say about this hotel.
we travel at least three times a year and always go all inclusive and have never recieved such awfull food and dirty horrible conditions as this hotel offers we are very open minded people and understand that the standards abroad are not the same standards that we have at home but to say that this hotel is a four star is a total joke its a 1 star maybe pushing a 2.
i have since returning home spoke with our travel provider and have given them a full report which they them selves were absolutly horrified to hear i have also sent them pictures of every thing we had to endure and the food that was available.i am absolutly discusted and will fight all the way for some compensation as i think all the guests that stayed with us should recieve.
please be aware for your own safety if you hire a car(you need one because the hotel is in the middle of no where) to check the car very carefully, we hired one and were about to go out when my husband noticed the front passenger car tyre was totaly ripped to shreds... when we told them they did give us another one but seemed totaly bumused by our concern.
we arrived on the 18th october and every day the whole situation got worse by the minute from the thursday we no longer had bread,tomatoes, lettuce,orange juice, no ice for drinks,no bottled water and the food was being put out time and time again and was always cold as the hotplates were turned off 2 hours before finish of service
on the saturday evening on returning to our room a cat had **** on the hall way carpet on the tuesday on our departure it was still there??????????????
men obviously managers or somthing each night sat in the bar playing cards and smoked to there hearts content (right outside restaurant area) was very pleasant as im sure you would agree
i could go on and on about this horific hotel but i think the review below and this should give you some idea of what to expect
i would not let my dog stay or eat at this hotel and that is as honest as i can be .
rohdes is loverly and there are some very nice hotels .please dont waste your money on this hotel you will regret it, its not a four star the receptionist will tell you that its classed as a three star and if you did get lucky enough to stay in the new part which they class as four star you still have to eat in the old block.
please think very carefully before travelling here you might think your getting a good deal but believe me your not ..................................

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Hotel

Address: Reni Kosnikou, Koskinou 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Koskinou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Koskinou
Virginia Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.