We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments but location very quite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   81 - 87 Guide Street, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dorking, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great apartments but location very quite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The apartments are large, clean and well equipped. The Clifton beach is only 50 metres from the apartments and very clean great for walks, a short walk to the swimming area which is safe. Keep walking for 45 minutes and you get to Palm Cove.
Unfortunately there is only one restaurant in Clifton, although the Clifton Capers is very nice and opposite the apartments - there is nothing else in Clifton Beach... If you do not have a car (like us) the bus does stop next to the apartments and is quite reasonable to get into Cairns. There is also a Coles supermarket about a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGrizzle, Owner at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Clifton sands, we agree, it's lovely quiet complex & in a brilliant location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This establishment is an absolute diamond for value, views and convenience plus it's only a few steps from one of Cairns best northern beaches. We were hoping for unit 14 as had been mentioned in other reviews and by good luck or good timing we were allocated number 14 by Grant. He is a great host and a fountain of information. We were originally from Clifton Beach and on a first return to Queensland since a move to Victoria we were glad to see little had changed and our choice of accommodation was well and truly validated by the reviews on Tripadvisor. A very highly recommended choice.

Room Tip: Try for a level three unit. The views are excellent and Grant will help out if he can we are sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliftonsands, General Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you with us at Clifton & we really do hope we will see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clifton sands was an amazing place to stay. Comfortable and at a great location. Only 5 minutes from Palm Cove and Trinity Beach. Clifton Beach is literally a 1 minute walk and so beautiful. Clifton sands had a very clean pool which was awesome to bathe at. Great seafood restaurant across the road as well. Wifi included also and had everything needed for a memorable holiday. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We orginally booked for 1 week but wound up staying for 2 weeks at Clifton Sands in November 2012. Grant the manager took care of all our needs from booking tours to the Great Barrier Reef, Undara lava tubes, Kanadra Scenic Railway, to providing us with directions and giving us some great travel advise which we took to heart. The apartment was awesome, watching the sunrise every morning from our 3rd floor balcony was the best part of our day. The laundry washer and drier right in the room were a real bonus since we were traveling for close to a month. As Canadians we did miss not having a coffee maker to brew a pot in the morning, but we made by with instant! LOL. We would definitly recommend Clifton Sands for the cost, location, amenities, it was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just had 8 days staying at the Clifton Sands Holiday Units and totally loved it. Clifton Beach is a beautiful place and our unit was just perfect for what we wanted. It was clean and tidy and very well maintained and the whole experience was very relaxing. I loved sitting out on the balcony in the mornings enjoying my breakfast. The pool is very good too. The staff looked after us very well. Would recommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliftonsands, Owner at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Bryony,

Happy you girls so enjoyed your stay - it was lovely to meet you both. Hope your travels in Asia were all you hoped and that you had a wonderful time!

Thanks again for staying with us at Clifton Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can't praise this place enough. Stayed here by myself on a family business trip for 3 nights. I was really surprised by the lovely clean, spacious one bedroom unit that greeted me for such a reasonable price in a very over priced Cairns. The unit was not only large with homey touches, but really well fitted out with all the kitchen stuff one could need, two tv's, washer/dryer, full size fridge, microwave, and stove top.
On my arrival the lovely Monika greeted me, carried my case up the stairs and helped me settle into my unit with an assurance that if I needed anything she was just downstairs. The view from the balcony was just superb, looking out over Clifton Beach in the moonlight and in the sunrise. Add to this free WiFi and parking, something unheard of in Cairns!. There is a pool and a herb garden that you can take from for your dinner or help maintain if the mood takes you. I also wandered over the road to Clifton Capers one evening and had a nice meal with music for a good price. You could not do better than staying here if you want a great place on the Northern Beaches at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We initially booked for 5 nights, extended to 7, then to 10. Reason: It just felt so nice, homey and lovely. We stayed in a 1 bedroom fully self-contained apartment with ocean view, which is just a block away. Great to wake up with the sunset, have a walk and a swim at the beach or at the small but nice and refreshing pool. The staff (Monika) was very friendly, helpful and accommodating in every respect. Very relaxed atmosphere, reasonably priced and with shops (very close) and one restaurants (across the street).
The Units are well equipped with pots, bowls, plates, microwave, oven, laundry etc. Some of the units have some older kitchen furniture and don’t have a modern look but it is absolutely clean (we haven’t seen a single cockroach in roughly 2 weeks). There is also free WiFi available and on-site parking (no additional costs).
Will definitely recommend this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: room 9 and 18 both have ocean views and we really felt at home in number 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: 81 - 87 Guide Street, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Clifton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the gently breaking waves, Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments at Clifton Beach is the ideal choice for a relaxed holiday in a beautiful beach-side village. The sleepy, laid-back atmosphere is an ideal escape for those seeking to be away from the rush and hurry of modern living. Our spacious and well appointed one bedroom apartments are an ideal base to explore all that the Tropical North has to offer. We are - without doubt - the best value accommodation on the Cairns Northern Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments Clifton Beach, Australia - Cairns Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.