We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for family all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club to your Saves list
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 100, Mahonda, Tanzania (Formerly Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Wonderful for family all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a really wonderful time The staff are friendly and my kids made many friends within the resort to play with. More than enough entertainment all wonderful relaxation for all of us. The food and drinks did not disappoint at all really good and varied. The resort has people to do excursions however we found them expensive but can recommend a local on the beach called Verimark. We did a few excursions with him well priced and well organised I recommend looking for him he is pretty easy to find on the beach. All in all wonderful experience. We will return to Mapensi.Thank you Zanzibar.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    157
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
107
220
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is Sandies Zanzibar resort and it has little to recommend it. Igot sick in 3 days here after 10 days in Tanzania w/out incident. Pool and beach facilities below average. Rooms were fine but restocking of supplies (including H20) was erratic.Many annoyances from check in onwards. I hope one can findbetter in Zanzibar. If you do go book a massage with Victoria, she was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed in one of the rooms a right at the beach front. Well worth the extra money. Had full board which was worth it. Wide selections during the buffet service. Pizza restaurant was good, you could each get an individual pizza made fresh from the oven. About an hour drive from stone town. Great service and happy smiles from all staff. I didn't have a problem with the BeachBoys and was a single traveller.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A very cool place
Laid back. Very friendly and authentic staff.good food , rooms are perfect
Lovely garden setting
Get ready for major harassment on the beach by the locals trying to take you on tours , sell you art etc
Management couple are very helpful and create a a good atmosphere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very rustic & well put together resort. Open plan with lots of light and space. Rooms are simple but lovely & have everything one needs. Staff are exceptionally friendly, helpful & never without a smile. The buffet could do with more variety however the food is always fresh. They offer shows every few nights which keeps things fun as well as an African beach dinner which is fantastic, a pool side dinner & a pizzeria beach dinner too. The all inclusive package has been worth every penny with food throughout the day & an extensive drinks menu with enough cocktails to make every day a good one. The beach is a beautiful one although there are not many activities offered by the hotel so it would not be the ideal place to bring younger kids. All in all, a lovely experience that has left us feeling relaxed and refreshed (and perhaps a few kilos heavier)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great service and excellent staff makes this slightly older hotel a gem for visitors with families or on a budgte. The accomodation on the beach is great although limited but the view and atmosphere makes it memroble.

Go meet the staff like Joseph, Mtawa, Latifa, Adelina,Chef Voctor and many more to see why we enjoyed it. Please take your own music or entertainment for the rooms as the atmosphere is rustic and simple with no television or radio in the rooms.

The best option si full board as there is plenty of food and drink and daily activities. You wont regret it and then make use of Verimark at the beach to take you on all your local trips at 50% less thna the in-house tour group.

We never met or saw the General Manager, but Jospeh the Food & Beverage manager was probably the best hotellier and host that I have met in my life! The staff make the hotel and please note there is no room service, so stock up on breakfast, lunch and supper and you will be in heaven.

Thanks Joseph and thanks staff for making it memroble.

Room Tip: Beach delux rooms, but take your own entertainment. Also make sure of the current times and the tide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Arrived late at about 10.30 pm, where we were shown to our beach front villa and then they prepared a snack for us in the restaurant. Our home for the next 10 days in our villa was wonderful. Breakfast was amazing, so much to choose from, as was lunch and dinner. The staff could not do enough for us, very polite and always served from the right. I will say though there was a 100 steps from beach to the restaurant.
As we were there in low season there was entertainment most nights, themed meals twice a week, pool side and on the beach. During the day, stretching, archery and water aerobics, volley ball and football in the afternoon, and usually about 5pm they bring pizza on the beach.

We had clean towels twice everyday, and clean sheets every other day. Flowers in the room daily, and change of beach towels when you wanted.

Beach was swept everyday, and we had no trouble with beach boys.

Would definitely recommend staying here for a relaxing holiday.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club

Address: PO Box 100, Mahonda, Tanzania (Formerly Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the east coast of Zanzibar on the Kiwengwa shoreline, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach perfectly blends in the natural environment of the surrounding landscape, covering an area of 4 hectares blessed with a long white beach and lush tropical gardens of palms and colourful bougainvillea. The Resort is just 40 minutes from Zanzibar international airport and is a perfect choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers a nice mixture of relax,fun and extensive all inclusive services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club Hotel Mahonda
Mapenzi Beach Hotel
Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.