We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical but good all inclusive hotel. Good choice for families but nothing so special for that price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club to your Saves list
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 100, Mahonda, Tanzania (Formerly Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A typical but good all inclusive hotel. Good choice for families but nothing so special for that price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I was there with my girlfriend on July 2012. The location is really nice, north east coast is better than the west with white sand and large difference on water level during tide. The hotel is not bad but probably I was expecting something better from the price I paid and from the pictures I saw, (especially for the rooms where you could smell the humid). Everything there was looked a bit old, the furniture the decoration the sport equipment etc. Moreover the stuff was not well trained we had to try a lot in order to give them to understand what we were need. On the other hand I have to add that the personnel was very polite and smiling all day trying their best. The Italian manager also try to satisfy as because he saw that we were a bit disappointed from the hotel. The place was full of families and programes for kids etc for us most of them were without meaning but for a family it could be nice. Food also in all inclusive was plenty but without any fantasy or variation, after few days you were bored. Averall hotel was not bad. Nice location good facilities and happy people. If you are a fsmily with kids do not expect too much or you can find a good all inclusive price (maybe from Italy) then you will really enjoy it. Finally remember that everything from the hotel (tours) will be very expensive. Bargain a lot or find alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    153
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
102
217
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
243 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What’s not to love about this place? We had an amazing stay here and can’t really find anything significant to fault it. From the time we arrived till the time we left we were very well looked after by the friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located right on a beautiful beach with all the water activities and beach comforts you could ask for.

Our room was really nice, a free standing bungalow unit (garden view). The room was spacious with a king size bed, ceiling fan, air conditioning, and a bottomless minibar. The shower in the bathroom was particularly impressive with double shower heads for showering with a special friend. We even had a bed on the veranda which was a nice place to hang out and read a book. The food in the restaurant was amazing – buffet meals 3 times a day with really high quality fresh foods and ingredients, seafood right out of the sea in front of the hotel, fruits and veggies from the local markets. Unbelievably good!

There was no shortage of things to do around the resorts. We played tennis daily, tried our hand at archery and stretching classes, played ping-pong and darts, swam laps in the pool, went for early morning runs along the beach, lazed in the warm turquoise waters of the lagoon – magical! We met with one of the beach locals, Verimark, who offered us tours (spice tours, snorkeling trips, Jozani forest, etc) at a fraction of the cost of the hotel prices. All of the tours were well organized and we didn’t experience any problems whatsoever – all very professional with safe drivers. We would definitely recommend Verimark’s services.

The only criticisms I can offer are as follows:
1. Wifi internet is only available in the reception area, and you have to pay for it. They really need to upgrade their system and offer complimentary Wifi to all rooms and common areas on the property.
2. There are not enough deck chairs and umbrellas around the pool. We only once ever got the chance to use the pool facilities because of this.

I would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers and would just love to come back here again myself. We had an outstanding holiday at Mapenzi and hope that we are back this way again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Mapenzi (Love) in February for our honeymoon, it exeeded our expectations.

The staff and locals are very friendly and always willing to help.

We met a local called 'Verimark' on the beach he does excursions and took us on a few it was great.

The travel agency I booked with was also fantastic, Africa Stay was very impressed.

We had a fantastic time and will definately go back.

PS: Please dont take photos with the locals that have monkeys chained to ropes, it only encourages others to kidnap more moneys and chain them to ropes.

Room Tip: See views are stunning but the garden room are also nice and cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazlyn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Whilst the resort is wonderful - it is best suited for the older group travellers. not much activity at night in the resort for the younger age group and far from everything requiring taxi trips (60 dollars a go)
Make sure you leave the resort and experience other areas of Zanzibar.
Nungwe is Fantastic :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Mapenzi for 12 days over the festive season 2012 / 2013. What an amazing experience. From arrival to departure - an absolute dream come true. Beautiful clean hotel. Right on the beach, beautiful pool, beautiful beach beds on the sand. Rooms airconditioned and well looked after. Staff just out of this world, funny and great sense of humor. Beach Boy Verimark - arranged the best tours for us, better than our travel agent arranged. Do yourself a favor and ask for Verimark when staying at Mapenzi - you won't be sorry. We fell in love with the hotel, the people the culture - Zanzibar is just beautiful and will hold a place in my heart always. Will go back to Zanzibar and Mapenzi again and again. Well done hotel management and team xxxx

Room Tip: Beach front cottages a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What an awesome resort, friendly and professional staff, stunning rooms, excellent service, the place is 100% clean and neat 24/7. This was the best holiday experience of our lives, with plenty to do, beautiful beaches, worthwhile excursions especially Safari Blue, a must do while in Zanzibar. The rooms are serviced and cleaned daily with fresh flowers everywhere, even Hibiscus flowers in your toilet daily ! I can highly recommend Mapenzi to anyone !

Room Tip: Beach Cottages looked much nicer than the Garden Cottages, but the Garden Cottages are awesome anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here after an 11 day trekking trip around Ethiopia so were really looking for relaxation for 5 nights. The resort was fantastic - the friendliest staff while also being efficient, a beautiful bungalow on the beach, cleaned every day, new towels twice a day, turn down and mosquito net service at night, daily entertainment at pool such as aerobics, water polo and volley ball for those who want it. The restaurant buffet was very well stocked with delicious fresh fruit, fish, pasta, salads, soups breads, deserts etc. Great choice very day. Good quality beers, spirits, cocktails included. Only one little issue is the inadequate number of beds and umberellas at the pool. Other than that, top marks. We didn't leave the resort except to walk the beach and to go horse riding in the nearby equestrian centre which was superb with great gallops on the beach.

Room Tip: We chose a bungalow on the beach which was superb, air conditiioned and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club

Address: PO Box 100, Mahonda, Tanzania (Formerly Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Mahonda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the east coast of Zanzibar on the Kiwengwa shoreline, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach perfectly blends in the natural environment of the surrounding landscape, covering an area of 4 hectares blessed with a long white beach and lush tropical gardens of palms and colourful bougainvillea. The Resort is just 40 minutes from Zanzibar international airport and is a perfect choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers a nice mixture of relax,fun and extensive all inclusive services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club Hotel Mahonda
Mapenzi Beach Hotel
Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.