We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dream of Zanzibar to your Saves list
Dream of Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“True luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Nice, clean, rooms with great bathroom, mini bar and sun terrace. I had a garden room so no sea view but still a great room.

Pool area is fantastic - comfortable loungers, soft towels, great big shades for every pair of loungers and staff who will bring you drinks. Only downside - pool in desparate need of re-tiling.

Beach area lovely too - the art set back from the sea is private so no hawkers and plentiful loungers and a bar; the part by the sea is public. The hawkers are a little annoying but it's their livelihood. The beach itself is ok but not as good as nungwi.

Good restaurants - buffet for breakfast and lunch (good selection including several chef stations such as made to order omelette, pancakes, pasta, fish etc). The Italian is great for dinner -wood fired pizza oven = yummy pizza. Only downside - the wine is awful. But you can just have cocktails instead - passion fruit mojitoes fab but avoid the piña colada!

Spa is pricey but good quality treatments - book as soon as you arrive though.

Staff at the resort are stunningly friendly and really made the trip. The resort is also spotlessly clean and well maintained (except pool tiles!).

Things which would make it better - free wifi, free gym (you shouldn't have to pay for either at an all inclusive), pilates or yoga lessons.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    226
    51
    23
    13
See reviews for
163
490
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

After a long flight we were very pleased to arrive at such a great place. Perfect location perfect hotel perfect service. Couldnt be more happy with our choice, we recommend it to anyone that wishes to have a true relaxing holiday

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
303 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location is stunning; the grounds are immaculate; staff are friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. I was in a junior suite and we had a view of the ocean. The whole site was kept spotlessly clean. There was a very good variety of food and drinks for all. Unfortunately I did get sick the first night, so I didn't really get to make the most of my all-inclusive, but one of those things.

It is a lovely hotel and I enjoyed my stay. I've travelled extensively and usually stay in more modest hotels and, whilst I don't mean these as criticisms, there are just a few things that I feel are needed to make it the kind of top resort it is 'meant' to be. :
-the name advertised on all the sites is different to the one on the gates/ road outside. It makes finding it very tricky!
-you have to go in search of pool lounger cushions each day, when they should be put out first thing
-wait staff in the dining room are overly attentive, to the point of being annoying. There were times when it was impossible to have a conversation without being interrupted. They all seemed to be responsible for all of the tables, rather than a section. This meant that each one asked you the same questions
-in contrast, at the pool, I would expect to find waiters taking drinks at the pool. This happened very occasionally but normally you had to go to the bar. Not a hassle, just not 'all inclusive'
-charging for wi-fi in this day and age is a real con. If backpacker hostels can provide it, then hotels like these are just exploiting their guests who have already paid a great deal

Room Tip: the junior suite had an ocean view. However, I think the cheaper rooms were pretty much the same so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a good holiday at DD of Zanzibar however while writing this review I am still at the hotel. Be well informed prior booking to this place as once on the spot you encounter some surprise you might not expect in a hotel with all in formula. To start with: the restaurants: for seafood its payable! Watersports as mentioned on the website is NOT included in the price. You need to pay per hour for the rental of surfequiment or catamar and (most funny of all) you can only hire these between 9 am and 3pm. Be advised that during this period the tide is low and thus impossible to make use of these equipments. At the end of the day tide is high,wind is perfect conditions top BUT management decides its not possible to use the gear. So in a nutshell all watersportequipment is established on the beach for decoration! So instead of going for watersports we aimed for the fitness which at our surprise is also payable per hour. Which is not mentioned on the site either.
Internet and wifi is also at charge. However the staff is superfriendly and service is good. Would we come back? Maybe yes to Zanzibar but to the same hotel I doubt as we have this feeling of being a bit sacked in comparison to the price we paid...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Perfect service & super friendly staff: whatever we asked was ok, even if they had to get us cocktails from another restaurant, without extra charge above the all inclusive. In this hotel they really understand the meaning of 'at your service'!! Never had an all inclusive with so much 'included' btw: all kinds of fresh cocktails (no sugar syrup like some other hotels), 4 different restaurants, water sport etc. Very good quality of food and with enough variation in the buffet. The garden is amazing, it's huge and perfectly clean, full of flowers, fruit trees and 2 swimming pools. Don't hesitate: just book this hotel!

Room Tip: Just take the standard room, it's already big enough and almost like a junior suite in some hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Djambo!
My husband, our friends and I have been to dream of zanzibar end of january and we are still enjoying after this great experience...
This is THE place to be in Zanzibar!
The staff, ALL of them are amazing, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are very spacious with a great bed, everything is perfectly held, very clean, eye for details, fresh flowers, beautiful garden,....
I work aswell in a beautiful hotel so I know what it takes to make the guests enjoy their stay, trust me it's not always that easy... In this hotel they go all the way to make your stay perfect, from the general manager, who is always around checking if everything is ok, to the cleaning person who makes sure everything is spotless...and all of them always smiling and friendly!
It's a calm setting, really to relax, the food is really good, all restaurants we tried were excellent, the cocktails are great, the wine is really good.
The sea is amazing, the fact that it goes all the way back during the morning, beautiful colours,
warm water,...
Anyway, I'm still dreaming at the moment... we will definitely go back and I really and warmly recommend this hotel to everybody!
Big thanks to the GM and Garvit for the nice and free upgrade to the suites and the invitation to the romantic dinner, big thanks to Shams for the nice talks and his kindness, thanks to Mr George our poolbar guy, Muhindi who gave us every morning a new word to learn in swahili ;), to isidra for his perfect and kind serving and preparing our table every lunch on the beach with a breathless view, I don't know all the names but still : asante sana to everybody!! We'll be back !

Room Tip: Junior suites are really nice, we had number 1408
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed 1 week at this all inclusive full pampering resort.
From amazing excursions, to a different variety of restaurants (on white beach under palm trees) to professional and welcoming employees, this 5* resort has everything you are looking for total relaxation.
Make sure you try their Passion fruit Mojito which is unbelievable, and take long walks on the never ending beach, where you will be welcomed by Zanzibars' breeze.
Cant wait to go back!
L.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream of Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.