We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an excellent cooperation with all the management to organize our group of 200 pax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Dream of Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dream of Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mahonda
Cizkov
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was an excellent cooperation with all the management to organize our group of 200 pax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It is not easy to manage group of 200 pax in hotel. The management and all the staff did a very good job to organize our group in the best way. Also special events on the beach as Welcome and Galla dinner were well done, with very professional organization, table set up, food etc. We didn't had any complains against the service offered by hotel during our 10 days.
So, if U need to organize a group in beautiful place and be sure to have professional partner, I can suggest you Dream Of Zanzibar with the professional Plan hotel management!

Room Tip: All the rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    163
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
118
340
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I spent a glorious weekend in this paradise getaway and the time was just too short. Friendly staff attended to my every wish and from the reception to the the bar area to the passages I was always greeted with a smile and a friendly greeting. The food was tasty and the variety left me standing staring at all the options, not sure if I should take all of it!!! You have to try the risotto at the Italian restaurant.... the best I have tasted in a long time.
The perfect setting with the perfect people made this a trip one that I wont forget easily......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On arrival at Diamonds Dream of Zanzibar we were greeted at reception with a cold towel, an even colder refreshing beverage and a warm smile from the staff! This was the perfect start to what was an amazing trip!

We were then escorted to our rooms which were immaculate and shown to the area for the main restaurant where many meals would be enjoyed. There are a selection of restaurants but we found that the main restaurant had a good variety of food so we did not venture to the other restaurants. The service from all the hotel staff was friendly, speedy and conscientious and they all spoke English so communication was not a problem (and we even picked up some Swahili during our trip).

On the first night we were treated to a pool party with a local band playing universal popular hit songs. As guests we were all encouraged to sing along and to get up and dance. Which proved to be great fun!

And that was just the first day! The rest of the trip proved to be just as much (if not more fun) - it included long walks on the breathtaking beaches, interacting with the friendly locals, enjoying the amenities of the hotel (including a thai full body massage at the spa), a spice tour and tour of Stone Town, a day at the Kizimkazi Dolphin Village swimming with dolphins, a cultural night organised by the hotel to showcase the massai cuture and traditions, "waikiki" (a beach party) and enjoying the all-inclusive package including all the passion fruit mojitos we could handle!

The only bad thing was that occasionally the electricty supply would go down but this was not a problem at all because within 2 minutes of it going down the generator would kick in. That's a very small down on an otherwise AMAZING trip! I have already recommended this hotel to all my friends and family.

I have another trip planned to this mystical island! And once again I will definitely be staying at Diamonds Dream of Zanzibar! What an amazing trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

the first time i visited there i felt to be there forever,the food is deliciouse, the place is lovely,beach is amzing,coctail are good ,and servant are so frendily, it is a lovely dream land.i had a very amaizing moment there,the enviroment are nice and clean,service are parfect,rooms are nice everything are first class,i never feel alone when im there ,and every day i feel like going back to the dream land,it large hotel and a hotel you can relax.it is truly a dream place.can not compere with any hotel inTanzania.

Room Tip: suite is very fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I visited Dreams in June 2012, the experience was absolutely 1 st class, from the airport pick-up all the way through to the very last day. The staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home and they cater to your every need !

The attention to detail was noticeable - not a thing out of place ! I found the beach / pool area to be my favorite where most of my time was spent :-)

There is enough restaurants to choose from and the food in all of them was outstanding.

I will highly recommend this resort ! Truly one of my better holidays (and I have been to Zanzibar a couple of times)

Safe travels and enjoy the sun :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located on the East Coast of Zanzibar (about a 45 - 60 minutes drive from Stonetown or the airport), this 5 star Resort Hotel is set amongst tropical gardens directly on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the absolutely stunning turquoise sea of the Indian Ocean.
It is a large hotel and not for those wanting to have a quiet time, but rather for those who want to be kept busy and entertained.

The hotel has 157 rooms including deluxe rooms with exclusive swimming pool with children area and bar, junior suites (these are actually deluxe rooms with seaview), junior suites with a Jacuzzi and deluxe rooms (these are the entry level rooms and don't have a seaview, but face inwards towards the garden or pool). There are also 3 royal suites with private pool(although there is quite a bit of traffic past these rooms to the beach, fitness centre or spa, so not that private).

The style of the guest areas of the hotel reminds you of a Moorish Palace with white domes and arches. The buildings where the rooms are, are very ordinary looking from the outside and are under thatch. However, the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. All the furniture and fittings are Italian designed and made from teak wood. Rooms have comfortable king size or twin beds, luggage rack, mosquito net, ceiling fan, individual air-conditioning , IDD telephone, remote controlled TV with satellite channels, DVD-CD player, wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar and coffee maker. All rooms have an ensuite bathroom with
walk-in shower, double hand basin, toilet, bidet, hairdryer, face mirror and complimentary toiletries. Rooms also have umbrellas for those tropical showers.

The hotel is not wheelchair friendly however - no ramps anywhere. Also, quite a lot of stairs to get from the rooms to the beach and the main areas. Probably a good thing, as once always tends to overeat anyway and you need a bit of exercise whilst on holiday..

The main restaurant is called Cape to Venice Brassiere and offers indoor (air conditioned) and outdoor dining . All meals are served buffet style - breakfast, lunch and dinner. A good mix of local and international dishes are on the menu - salads and meats. Due to the hotel being very popular with Italians, pizza and pasta are served daily. The hotel organizes special theme nights on a weekly basis- the beach BBQ under the stars with local lobster is really good.

The hotel also offers two other restaurant’s to choose from :
The Andiamo Pizza Co. serves fresh Pizza, pasta, salads, desserts and snacks with wine, beer, soft drinks and juices. Open for dinner only.
The A la Carte Restaurant Blue Vanilla ( pricy but good)offers seafood and fusion cuisine. Open for dinner only.
Bookings at both restaurants are essential.

At the Pool and beach areas the Kokosnuss Bar and the Mama Pawpaw Bar offer cold drinks and snacks throughout the day, afternoon tea and a variety of cocktails in the evening .

The fitness centre offers a full range of cardio conditioning activities including weights, treadmills, lifecycles, step machines and cross trainers. This is an additional cost per day and not part of the fully inclusive rate.

The Spa is lovely and combines hydro therapy and indigenous treatments. I had a Swedish massage here which was sublime! The spa also has Jacuzzi baths, a relaxation lounge, steam rooms and private showers.

The hotel also offers a range of additional services :
Scuba diving, deep sea fishing, business centre, laundry service, sightseeing and excursions- the hotel has it's own tour desk - with a representative from Gallery Tours, a medical facility, really big pool close to the beach, pool aerobics( ja -right!!), beach and pool volleyball, darts and billiards, tennis, library, table games and Ping-Pong.
The hotel also has a small gift shop, but you would be better off buying from the locals on the beach, one of the Masai shops or even in Stonetown.

Each evening there is entertainment in the form of a Masai show with dancing, local acrobats, singers etc. The disco is also open every night until late. This is hugely popular with the Italians who seem to know all the moves to all the songs from the Macarena to Waka Waka - had such a laugh!

Plenty of loungers available both around the pools and all along the beachfront. There is hotel security to keep the very persistent beach sellers from harassing you whilst working on your tan. When the tide goes out, it goes out about a km, so during low tide, there is no sea to swim in. Instead, you can walk along the beach and in the shallows and see what the fisherman catch and the local women harvest seaweed. When the tide is in, it's a lovely stretch of sea to swim in - warm with some gentle waves!
The beach is front of the hotel is always interesting with locals doing their business, children at play, beach soccer with the Masai, photo shoots and more.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, from the manager to the waitress. When I had a last minute reservation change and had to shorten my stay by a night, the manager offered a complimentary couples massage, as a refund wasn't possible - what a nice gesture! The waitress at lunch time was almost always the same and after a day or so, was bringing us our lunch time drink of a n ice cold beer shandy as we approached! Although the language is sometimes a bit tricky - the lack of English, the staff are really sweet and do try their best.

What I liked about the hotel is the fully inclusive rate. With the except of the seafood restaurant and ordering special drinks like champagne, imported beers and spirits it's all in. All meals, morning and afternoon tea, all local drinks, housewine and delicious coffee and espressos ( Tanzanian of course) - think my husband overdosed on caffeine whilst he was here!

I really enjoyed this hotel and would definitely like to return!

Room Tip: The all inclusive rate is a winner - no hidden, nasty suprises for your drinks when you check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Getting maried on a saturday, we took of for Zanzibar Sunday night.
We really wanted to have some "r&r" and DDOZ is perfect for it!
After a long but pleasant flight from Brussels airport (9h) we arrived at Zanzibar and were brought to the resort by small bus.
The ride already gives a nice impression of how the people live. Altough they are very poor, they are always positive.
Arrived at DDOZ, in the reception, we immediatly got a cold towel and a fresh drink and heared for the first time the words "Jambo" and "Hakuna matata" in real life.
After a few minutes our luggage was brought to our suite and we walked straight to the restaurant. So we got a view of the nice garden, wonderfull white beach, palm-trees, etc.

We stayed for two weeks in a junior suite with sea view. The suites are really verry large, nice and comfortabel and get cleaned and decorated with flowers on the bed every day.
The service is excellent and everyone working in the hotel has a beautifull smile 24/7!
We have travelled a lot but the service is really unique! The manager is a warm and kind person who takes the time to listen and talk with his guests.

Our special thanks goes to Shams who knew we were "honeymooners" and made our stay even more wonderfull with that little bit of extra.
The way he handels his tough job and long days is something that a lot of people can learn from. He gives respect to guests and the people he works with and they give it right back at him.
My bride had her birthday on the last day of our stay and once again Shams arranged something unforgettable. Just as the private dinner on the beach he arranged for us! Thanks again for everything! We wish you all the best in Zanzibar, India or elsewhere!

The climate is very nice although we had 2 days with al little bit of rain.
But after half an hour the sun is back and in the mean-time you can have a drink at the "Kokosnuss-bar" by the pool. Then you can go straight back to the wonderfull beach. By the pool you find everything you need: a nice bar, chaise longs, cold drinks, snacks,...

The meals are very good and when you feel you have seen the buffet after a few days, you can always book the other restaurants. We prefered "Andiamo" (Italian) and "Chop sticks".
The African restaurant is nice as well. We did not go to the restaurant by the beach that is not included. Simply because we enjoyed the other restaurants.

For lunch it isn't even necessary to leave the beach. You can have a nice meal on the beach with the sea in front of you while you eat some nice sushi or have an Indian lunch.

We booked a few trips (Stonetown, prison Island and Blue Safari) and enjoyed it. They come pick you up in front of the hotel and take you back afterwords. Blue Safari we booked by the people at the beach (Bigfoot) and they are honest: a woman who stepped in an angel-fish and could not come with us, got her money back when she asked for it.
suggestion: pay attention and take some strong slippers with you when you go for a walk by/in the sea. It is painfull and a shame when you have to go to the doctor during you stay.
Make sure you take a beachwalk when it's low-tide because it is really an expercience when you see a variety of colours, starfish, ... And take your camera with you!

From time to time there is a power-cut but but it never takes more than a few minutes and is part of the "African-charme".

There are guests from all over the world. During our stay the majority of them were Italian. No problem here because we like the Italian way of life.

Due to mechanical problems with the airplane in Belgium we "were forced" to stay one more day "all -inclusive" and free of charge... We did not complain :-)

Conclusion: we had a dream-honeymoon and could not have picked a better resort. We are afraid that it will be very hard to beat DDOZ in our following journeys...

K&V

Room Tip: Altough this is a personal choice: it is not necessary 2 pay more for the sea view: you are not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream of Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.