We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dream of Zanzibar to your Saves list
Dream of Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

First of all, those travelling to Zanzibar/Tanzania must know that being close to the Ecuator, the day in equal with the night... This means that every day, no matter the season, the sun rises at aprox. 6.30 and it goes down at 18.30.
We stayed at this hotel for 10 days, during the middle of august 2011. The weather was not great, there were showers every day and plenty of clouds.... Taking into account the day lenght and the not so sunny weather, we started a chase for the sun, in order not to turn back at home whiter than we came...
The hotel is nice, the personell is very helpfull and is there to help you anytime. The food is ok, various, but if you are looking for something fancy, this is not the place. If you like sweets and pastries, you will not find someting eatable, but you can focus anytime on fruits and/or fresh juices wich are very good.
The room was big and clean, and the cleaning personell was doing a fine job.
The evening shows are lame, nevertheless the entertainment team is doing its best.
Inside the hotel there is a travel bureau from wich you can go on trips on the island, but we recomend all to go on trips with the beach boys (they can be found everyday on the beach. Speak with Cambi, their boss). There are a lot cheaper than the hotel agency and provide quality and safe trips with local guides and plenty of food (Prison Island, Stone Town, Josany forest, Safari Blue, etc).
As a general conclusion, the hotel is good, no major complains, and has a good price/quality proportion. They are doing huge efforts to make you feel good, and this can be seen very quickly in the quality of the services.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in ther rooms with the garden-pool view, because of the noise during the day and som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    219
    50
    22
    13
See reviews for
156
476
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I have travelled a lot in a variety of countries. Yet, often in East Africa (Kenya, Tanzania), many hotels fail to live up to their expectations, either because of the food, location, etc.
It is to say that Diamonds Dream of Zanzibar is just spectacular. The reasons are multiple:
First off, the attention to details is everywhere: the rooms (a suite in our case) was fantastic, either brand new or superbly well maintained. It was spacious, fresh and with perfect water, excellent and powerful AC as well as all the amneties expected for such level. In short the level of 5* room you find in Paris, NY or London, except that you are located in a remote location on the eastern side of Zanzibar!
Second, and not the least, the entire hotel resort is beautiful. I can say enough how well maintained are the gardens, the pool, the restaurants, and all sites. There are always gardeners everywhere we went and the staff is always efficient, pro and busy ensuring the places are spotless, well arranged and looking beautiful. For instance, the pool and beach area have over 100 coconut trees which are very tall. during a week, I saw one man ensuring everyday by climbing with his bare hands that trees are well kept, coconut are brought down, branches are trimmed, etc. in short, it is just a little paradise. The staff at the pool is looking after guests to ensure you get your refreshments from the bar daylong and that your towels are always dry and reassorted. Here, customer service means something for sure! All the staff is always friendly. Not to mention that we were there during Ramadhan and we did not see any differenciation before or during it, while it is well known that 95% of the population are muslims over there. so obviously hotel management does well at making its staff pleased to work regardless of the dates and time. The manager told us that there was close to 300 staff workers during our stay, while there is roughly 180 rooms. We did not get a chance to use the spa (our kids 2 and 6 years old had us busy....) but the kids club was great and this was a nice surprise which provided us some free time for reading or enjoying the pool for a few time while the kids were playing.
Finally, the food. Perhaps, this was the more surprising: there are 5 restaurants onsite. 1 is not included in the all inclusive package we had. It is the beach-high-end restaurant and great for honeymooners (again - not for us with 2 kids!). We went to 3 out of the other 4. There is a brasserie which serves everyone at all meal times. food is good, diverse and fresh. there are 3 additionnal restaurants: asian, italian and african which are specialized food theme restaurant with very limited seatings (from 15 seats for the asian restaurant to 30+ for the italian). It required advance booking but prooved to be very good and representative (the italian had great pizza and the asian restaurant had a great thai menu).
All in all, I was impressed by the fact that over 8 days, no one got sick from the food, water or just having fresh juice by the pool!
Big kuddos to how this hotel is run and that it delivers upon expectations. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for a suite with ocean view (building B16, B17 or B18 recommended). Each building have 8 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in Zanzibar and had a magnificent time! The bad first: I would say that even though this is rated 5 stars, I wouldnt come here expecting the equivalent food that one would receive at a 5 star New York hotel. The food isnt bad, it is just not excellent. The good: Zanzibar is a magical place and the hotel has beautiful rooms, relaxing pools and fantastic beach. Tours arranged by the hotel are vastly over-priced but the bar and activities (such as the sea food barbeque) were excellent. One great experience was walking onto the beach right in front of the hotel and paying a local fisherman to take us on an inexpensive ride in a traditional boat! All in all, I think this hotel is great for a romantic getaway for a couple

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

we spent our honeymoon at dream of Zanzibar, and despite the other reviews and the elecctricity problems the place and the staff were excellent.
Its Africa, you should enjoy as it is.
who cares about the room, whih was superb and the dark
we spent the whole time on the beach and we didn't notice at all the problem and if it was only for 1.5 days.
We loved the place and me and my wife we will for sure go back nex year..

Hakuna matata
ahsante to all dream of zanzibar stAFF

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

After 7 days travelling around Zanzibar i stopped for a rest at Diamonds Dream of Zanzibar, which i knew from last years family holidays.
The Resort is full of emotions as ever, the staff friendly and professional, the Restaurants have been refurbished and restyled which i find gorgeous.
During my stay there were some problem with the generator and electricity, the manager and all its staff have done their best to fullfill all my requests.
Actually i must say that during the day i didn't even notice the lack of electricity and at night the resort was amazing with all candle lights everywhere.

I hope i will be able to go back to that living dream again very soon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

we arrived at the 10th of july in the dream of zanzibar. What should be a dream vacation became a stress vacation.
The rooms were very nice and new. Nothing to complain only the matrass was so hard that we had to ask housekeeping for something soft under our sheets. They did it twice without complaining.
On day 1 they nightmare begin. After a day on the beach we would like to take a shower. I was under shower and suddenly there was no more water and the lights when out...ok within 3hrs the power was back on. But the diner was less than normal (and normal there wasn't also much variety).

The day after the same scenario...no water and no power. Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. But the day after was the worst. The situation became unhygenical. No water to flush the toillet, no power to cool the food,...The power fell out from 02 am and wasn't going on untill they fixed there generator. Know that they needed spair parts wich have to come from Italy!!! So the part normally arrived on monday, 6 days without electricity and clean water, sorry no i had enough off it. I went to the reception an demand to be transferred to another 5 star hotel. Finally the manager came because there were a lot of people complaining and we sticked together and demand a solution.
He told us to transfer to the sister hotel next too this hotel. We could go and take a look if we want to stay there the rest of our vacantion. It was sandies hotel. I didn't like the hotel at all. The other people didn't also...so we looked up on the internet in this hotel (ours didn't work because there was no electricty) wich other hotels there where. We decided to ask for the royal zanzibar. After 3 hrs the manager did all he could and we could move to the other hotel. There we could enjoy further from our holiday. But it was a lot of stress. I had to make me very angry at the people of the reception because they were laughing out into your face, they didn't understand why we had stress and why we were upsaid. No power and no electricity...they said Hakuna Matata. If you work a whole year and you want one week to relax and payed a lot of money for it and expect a 5 star hotel, and this happens....you feel very sad.

Now the comment about the hotel: Rooms are very nice. We had a standard room by the garden pool. Very quiet.
The food was horrible! Breakfast was always the same....every day.
Lunch was poor. Some left overs from the night before from the theme restaurants..Pasta wasn't fresh. Grill: the meat was from bad quality, you couldn't cut with a knife throug it...
Diner: sometimes left overs from lunch. 1/week diner on the beach. 1/week at the pool. Every day the same.
Staff is trained and know some line by heart. If you ask something else they say: Enjoy...and took off. But they are very pollied and try to make your stay very comfortable.
The swimmingpool is great with the palm trees and lounge chairs. Also the beach is very nice.

This hotel could be a very good 5 star hotel if they had more disipline and structure. And if they were propared to problems with electricity, because it is a wellknown problem in Zanzibar.

We will never go back to zanzibar! It was a nightmare for us. For that money you better book a hotel at the carribean! Same palmtrees/ view but hotels are much much better!!!!

Internet and gym isn't included: 5 dollar a day for the gym/ 5 dollar for 30 min internet.

Lot of italians in the resort!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

No electricity, no warm water, sometimes no water al all. No variation in the food (probably because the electricity panne). Bad service. Had to move to an other hotel (with candles in the evening). This is no 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream of Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.