We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay of our life.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Searine Samui Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Searine Samui Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Searine Samui Boutique Resort
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   127/60 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Serene Hill Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst stay of our life.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I will never ever suggest ANYONE to stay here.
This place was a nightmare for us - Travelled in a group of six.
We were placed in the mountains.. about a 20 minute walk up hill (all of us are pretty fit 20 year olds) Staff even struggled to carry our luggage up there.
There were holes in our doors and walls ants and bugs all over our beds - No safe!
No airconditiong! Electrician couldn't even fix it - we weren't offered an upgrade or money back.
Live wires in the pool - Drinks and food took way longer then average (an hour) for a bowl of chips and a cocktail.
We lasted 2 hours at this hotel and had to leave asap.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
2
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Koh Samui
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a lovely little bit of heaven. The location, landscaping, rooms, & spa treatments all divine. The staff hard working, friendly, great sense of humour and very helpful. Only good things to say!

Room Tip: We stayed in the family villa, which was huge, all teak and scrupulously clean & cleaned regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We paid £50 a night for room 119 had a lovely bungalow. Size wise it was excellent, went into the bathroom and there was a weird planter in there and holes in the slated windows so we felt a bit uncomfortable about bugs and creepy crawleys. Low and behold the 2nd night we found a spider as big as your hands spread out climbing up the wall a foot from my head. As no telephone I ran down the hill and up again to get reception they removed it quickly but we didn't feel comfortable staying there after that I slept with the light on.
Coupled with a rather tasteless breakfast. We checked out 2 days before we needed to even though we'd paid in advance.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Overall stay was great, stayed in a wooden villa, very spacious with lovely bathroom. Very clean, basic breakfast but enough to keep you going until lunch. Only downfall is the resort is situated on a hill so walking back to rooms can be tiring in the heat and after a long day . Would recommend to couples wanting a quiet getaway away from busier Chaweng beach . Shopping is better in Chaweng and would recommend hiring a moped for a day or more. Hotel charged 250 baht for 24 hr hire but can get cheaper on the main road to hire just need a passport to hire.did get hassled on lamai beach a little for foot scrubs, painting nails massages etc etc but have experienced worse you just need to be firm when saying no and best off ignoring them as they are quiet persistent and much pricier. Many bars on beach offer cocktails for 99 baht and are worth it. Overall I would only really recommend this place is you are seeking a quiet romantic holiday not for partying and don't want something in the centre of town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton on sea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

first impressions was ok,we had booked a 'standard room'online but when we arrived they mentioned we could upgrade to a 'superior'room for 500 baht(about £10) per night extra,they insisted we look at this room but declined,we was satisfied with the standard,then her mood suddenly changed to being not very friendly.the 'superior'rooms are a lot nearer the reception,but be warned we was situated in a room right at top of the 'hill'we are pretty fit but when you have been out for the night we was not looking forward to your journey to our room!also if you don't know your way around the island they will charge at least 500 baht a trip!the local songthaw costs 60 baht!we wanted an extra 3 nights,we agreed a price but when it came to paying they requested more money!we moved to the north of the island.we took advantage of the free transfer to the airport which took us 3/4 of the way to our destination.be wary of the local karioca bars just below the hotel they go on till around 4 in the morning.the only positive thing was the breakfast which was cooked to order and not bad for thai standards,there was a loveley chap who took your orders always had a smile on his face.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We rented a villa and it was wonderful. Very quite hotel and a far but doable walk to the beach. They will drop you off for free, but you’re on your own to get back. Most nights/ days that was not an issue, but we did have to walk a couple times and it was a hike. This location is great if you want to be away from the partying, it’s nice a quite. Pool was beautiful but empty most of the time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

A group of us recently stayed in the Family Villa at Serene and were very happy with the resort. The friendliness of the staff really stood out - nothing was too much of a problem for them, and they were always smiling and offering suggestions for things to do and ways to get around.

Location: Great - short walk into Lamai (as another reviewer commented, it's near the seedier end of Lamai, but carry on walking and you'll get to a street of great restaurants and nightlife). We didn't use the free shuttles but they're available every day - would recommend hiring scooters through the hotel and heading to neighbouring Chaweng for a stunning beach trip though. We also taxiied to Cheweng to check out some of the clubs - it was around 100 baht/each from Lamai.

Restaurant: A bit overpriced for the quality - there are much better offerings in nearby Lamai. The included breakfast had 5 basic options (eggs/fruit/toast/croissants etc) which were lovely - one of our party didn't like her scrambled eggs (had a hint of coconut milk? Delicious for me, not for her) so the staff brought her a free plate of mixed fruit when they saw she hadn't eaten any of her eggs.

Pool: As others have said,, the pool was absolutely beautiful - lush gardens surrounding, and a bit of a view of the surrounding hills and ocean. The pool bar was closed, but it seemed that there were only 6 people in the resort when we checked in, so this may be why.

The room: We stayed in the family villa - it had two aircon units, a spacious living area and balcony, and a newly renovated bathroom with jacuzzi - would recommend for groups, not just families (it worked out being $NZ36/each a night). Free bottles of water + minibar were included. The room was very clean and even the towels were arranged nicely for our arrival. We left valuables in the room (passports, cash), forgetting that they would come to service it during the day, but had no problems. I left a dress behind that one of the housekeepers raced down to bring me when we were checking out.

Facilities: We didn't use the spa so can't comment, but there was only 1 computer available for internet. We used it to organise our travel and that's all - in the surroundings, who wants to be on a computer anyway?

I would recommend this resort to other travellers who are looking for someone clean, pretty and quiet, but a short trip away from the nightlife and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Searine Samui Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searine Samui Boutique Resort

Address: 127/60 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Serene Hill Resort and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Searine Samui Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is situated on the mountain with great view of the ocean. Our resort comes with full spa facilities with over 30 treatments at affordable prices. We have been awarded the best spa by the department of health. All our villas are made from teak wood, and surrounded by beautiful landscapes and trees. We have a huge swimming pool with water fall, overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Searine Samui Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hill Hotel Koh Samui
Searine Samui Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Searine Samui Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.