We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lamai Wanta

Save Saved
You added Lamai Wanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lamai Wanta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124/264 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Lamai Beach
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I booked this hotel because it got good ratings but I was very disappointed. If you are looking for a very budget , no frills hotel, you would like this. BUT if you want a bit of comfort and luxury forget it. A hospital room has more personality. There were no decorations or color in the room . It was like staying in an institution. I know you don't spend much time in your room but when you travel abroad you want to feel some local culture and atmostphere. (I found this in all the other hotels we stayed in.) I found things to be in desparate need of upgrading. The pool area chairs and umbrellas were in terrable shape.
The area has pole dancing bars and old men seeking young Thai women. Not suitable for families.
So if you don't want to spend any money on any frills, you will like this . But to me I didn't feel comfortable and could hardly wait to leave for my next destination and a hotel I deserved for my vacation money. Just my opinion...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    154
    51
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
127
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I just completed a stay at the Lamai Wanta January 30-February 6.

The hotel is in a perfect location in Lamai within walking distance of the nightlife area and restaurants but far enough away to not be bothered by noise. Free wifi.

I had a sea-view bungalow and I agree with a previous poster in that it doesn’t provide any privacy but the ocean view is very nice. I might take a garden-view bungalow next time, I’m not sure. I think the bungalows are a better choice than the regular rooms however. The bungalows are minimally furnished, not sure about the regular rooms.

Breakfast was good each morning with some variety. Service was friendly and attentive. I had lunch at the restaurant one day and it was good.

Overall, this hotel is a good choice for Lamai. It is perhaps a little overpriced but not too bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

we stayed here over christmas and had a lovely relaxing time.
room was clean and well kept.
perfect location right on the beach and near to lots of bars and restaurants.
lovely pool and the hotel staff were very helpful & friendly.
definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

If you are looking for an oasis in the madness of Lamai, this place is it. Perfect location on the beach and the pool is very nice. On the beach, literally. Some may say that it appears dated but I did not feel so. Initially, I was booked to stay in a Deluxe Room. On arrival the staff did their best to find me a quiet room as I had requested. The room was nice enough but on entering, I asked if they had any bungalows luckily they did. The room was dark, some may not be bothered about this, but I am. To cut a long story short, I upgraded to a Garden Bungalow for 800 THB a night. Good move, very happy I did that. The Sea View incidentally I felt were too near the pool and I would feel that they would not have been private enough.

The breakfast I thought was lacking on the first few days, there was no full buffet but they changed that a few days into my stay. The restaurant food is well priced for the location and good. Staff are friendly... Attended the Christmas Gala Dinner which was mandatory.
I am aware that many resorts require guests to attend these kind of events but I did not like paying for something basically I did not want to go to. The food was good and plenty of it. One thing I have noticed about Thailand in general is how the staff are too eager to clear things away sometimes. As a solo diner, I went to pick something up from the buffet, came back and my food was gone!!! That really made me angry as I was enjoying my dinner and that really put the brakes on for me. I complained strongly and it turned out that a new member of staff was on duty and had taken my food unknowingly. He, they apologized but honestly it really left me miffed. I left shortly... I still will remember that incident and it spoiled the dinner for me.

Had wi-fi issues and constantly had problems connecting for the first few days. Staff did their best to help and finally solved the problem. Finally, I decided to check out 7 days early as I did not like the street side of Lamai. It has become something close to Chaweng but not as heavy. The staff at the Lamai Wanta assisted me with my cancellation and contacted Agoda on my behalf. I tipped the receptionist for her help as she really did save me. After I switched to a place in Bohput which was more what I was looking for.

Would I stay at the Lamai Wanta again? "Yes" if it were not in Lamai! I will never go back to Lamai again. Some may like the way it is now, it used to be so much better, low key.
Depends what you are looking for...

Tip - Outside the restaurant there is a laundry lady, 30 Baht per KG, very honest and friendly. Do your laundry there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We spent 11 days at this resort and had a very enjoyable time. The rooms were a good size, clean and had a little terrace out front that you could sit on. The bathrooms were clean and had lots of hot water. Our room was air conditioned and included free unlimited wifi access. The staff was friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. The grounds of the resort are very nice with lots of plants and a lovely pool facing the beach. We enjoyed the extensive breakfast each morning (included in your room price), and also used the restaurant for many other meals. If we return to Koh Samui we will definitely stay here again. You might find nicer rooms in Koh Samui, but not for this price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We are still staying here as I write, it is Dec. 5, 2010

We came from the Weekender Hotel, 300m up the beach. See our review, also worth looking at, especially if you love a perfect pool

Wanta though has a much better value.

The setup:
Beautiful plants. One feels like walking through the jungle, when going to the room.
3 free DVD per Day. Very important, for it is raining now for 4 days for at least 5 hours a day...
Edgepool right at the beach. Nice, nothing special tough.
Beach is clean, not wide, water gets deep quickly.
Left and right of hotel are bars. They rent out jetskis... Might be noisy in season.
Hotel is quiet. Might pick up when season, for the hotel rooms are a bit towards the road in Lamai.
A nice 1 minute walk to the beach.

Book cottages and you are closer to the beach. Cottage 126 is closest to the beach with a beautiful view.

The rooms:
Very hot water available. No possibilty of boiling water yourself. TV and Fridge are there though. Free WiFi
Rooms are very clean. The staff is the best. They saw us having very small children so they folded a towel so it looked like an elefant. Our daughter was cold, so that wrapped her ín a towel thai-style (took us a while to figure it out) She refused to take the towel off for a few hours!

Very good value for the price.
Breakfast in low season is to be ordered and included. Good, but it never changes.

Hotel is right in the middle of things... Shopping, bars, restaurants. Best value restaurant: "Big Wave". McDonalds just around the corner, so is SUBWAY.

We prolongued our stay and will stay another 3-4 days.

Hotel is great for younger couples. Weekender Hotel is more for the mid 50s

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Lamai Wanta was great - location & breakfast. Room was ok i.e. as per the photos on the website - the only thing lacking in the room is coffee/tea making facilities & an in-room phone. Guests can rent up to 3 DVDs at a time which is great when you're stuck in the room during the monsoon season, continuous rain & flooded roads. Do note that during low season the hotel doesn't run their buffet breakfast - instead they have a semi buffet (fruits & bread) and guests can order the rest from a preset breakfast menu. Each guest may put in multiple orders :). Also the path leading to the superior/deluxe rooms can be a little dark at night so look out for the steps. Live music from the neighbouring resort can be heard from this resort though...but the singer was pretty gd.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lamai Wanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Wanta

Address: 124/264 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Wanta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun, flowers, smile and momentums of happiness is all about our boutique beach resort “Lamai Wanta Beach Resort”.Located at the main coast of Lamai, at the heart of Koh Samui. Lamai Wanta provides a perfect atmosphere to rejuvenate your soul, reward a floral holiday, recharge your batteries and relax at the most cozy private beach of Lamai Wanta. The Boutique Resorts offer 74 most convenient room on floral theme with plush amenities and spacious size of bed. A floral sunbath, and smile therapies are just a few activity to name about, but lots to see when you are here. Reawaken your freshness of mind with the subtle rhythms of waves softly lapping the pristine aroma of herbs and flower. Enjoy the warmness of hospitality Lamai Wanta Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Lamai Wanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Wanta Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Wanta Beach
Lamai Wanta Hotel Beach
Lamai Wanta Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamai Wanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.