We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and relaxing resort...despite a few ridiculously stingy fees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Republic The Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Republic The Residences to your Saves list
Beach Republic The Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great and relaxing resort...despite a few ridiculously stingy fees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Our stay at the Beach Republic was wonderful. There was a lot of construction during our stay but that wasn't too much of a problem because of the friendly atmosphere created by the staff. Everyone at the pool area was offered free mojitos because of the construction noise on Christmas Day. We got a room upgrade from a one bed suite to a two bedroom villa with private pool. I think this was due to our room not being constructed yet. We got lucky!

There were a few things we didn't like that we felt were totally unnecessary. One was the high cost of airport transfers from the hotel. The hotel said they charge the same as taxis do to go to and from the airport....which is 500Bht. The taxis rip off tourists so does that give the hotel the right to rip off their guests?? Such a short trip should not cost so much! Also, my wife paid 1300Bht for a 1 hr Swedish massage. After the massage, she mentioned she'd like to use the steam room. She was told that it would cost an extra 400Bht to use the steam room. REALLY??? We have been to many spa resorts and the use of the steam room & sauna always came with a massage purchase! Interestingly, the Beach Republic offers a promotion to people NOT staying at the resort. This promotion costs 1500Bht and includes free hotel pickup, a 1 hr massage, 2 course dinner with wine, and full use of the steam room and pool. We were hotel guests and my wife paid 1300Bht JUST for the massage and was denied the use of the steam room unless she forked out another 400Bht. Does this make sense?? By the way, the 300Bht beach oil massages a little way down the beach were great...and you can even listen to the waves rolling in.

We would definitely like to come back to the Beach Republic to see what it is like after the expansion! Thanks also to Fon who was a wonderful server for each of our breakfasts!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach_Republic, Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your review. There was clearly a miscommunication as the herbal steam room is available free of charge to all guests. I sincerely apologize for this oversight and I have reminded all our staff of this. As far as the airport transfers, at 500 Baht, we are still cheaper than the taxis, which will ask 600 to 700 Baht. It is about a 30 minute drive depending on traffic (1 hour roundtrip for our drivers) and we feel this is quite reasonable.

Again, thank you for choosing Beach Republic and we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    93
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
92
220
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

this place is luxury and excellent friendly staff.....nothing is too much trouble for anyone!
we upgraded into 2bed deluxe pool villa and it had everything any more.........
location was excellent, out of the way of main resort but only a 15-20min gentle walk and you can be in main area of Lamai with bars, massage shops and nightlife.
would receommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

While on holiday with my friend, we were originally planning to pass through Kho Samui en route to Kho Phan Nang - and ended up staying 3 nights at Beach Republic!! It was a highlight of my holiday over 3 weeks and I would unreservedly reccommend it to anyone - and already have to a friend planning her honeymoon!!

We arrived to Koh Samui from Laos, via Bangkok, shortly after some bad storms had hit the island. Given the weather, I assumed low occupancy and was intending to enquire about an upgrade, only to find we had already been upgraded on arrival to an amazing pool villa which had a beautiful outdoor area, with seating and outdoor bar / kitchen facilities. We also had a dressing room, outdoor and indoor bathrooms and a second bedroom upstairs. Fantastic...

We hardly left the hotel, having been in Koh Samui previously, and also because it was so lovely we didn't want to! The pool / bar / restaurant are fantastic and the food and drinks are so great you can't help but over indulge... The Porn Star Martinis are a must!!

The staff are friendly and take the time to get to know you as an individual guest, as opposed to the formality of some 5* hotels. Mentioned in review belowl, before but worth saying again, is Alex the Manager, who was enthusiastic and hospitable the whole way through the visit. One of the staff even took my friend on his day off to one of the top tattooists on the island! They couldn't do enough for us.

On the day we were leaving we were offered a 'courtesy apartment'. This was again extremely luxurious (albeit next to construction work) complete with a jacuzzi bath on the balcony. Great service, and meant we enjoyed a relaxed final day which really felt like we extended our stay as opposed to just waiting around to leave for the airport.

I can't reccommend Beach Republic enough - the people who run it clearly care about the experience that people have whilst staying there, and the people who designed it have a great flair and eye for detail.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Kudos to Beach Republic! I stayed in the one bedroom pool villa traditional. It was perfect in every way! A beautiful plate of fresh fruit was waiting for me and the room furnishing and cleanliness were to an exceptional high standard. Everyone was so helpful and pleasant. This truly is the best place I have ever stayed. My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Management and Staff was very accommodating and were willing to work on solutions to your problems and concerns. Food was very good and at a reasonable price. I enjoyed the pizza and several tapas. Restaurant ambiance for dinner was outstanding. My one bedroom deluxe suite was easily 5 star + equivalent except for the lack of a peep hole on the door. Also the stools for the kitchen counter were mission. I only stayed a few days so I felt no need to complain. Bug spray was provided and used on the door, window frames and the couches since some critters had taken up residence. The bedroom suites area is undergoing major expansion and renovation. Look out for scaffolds, debris, and workers in the halls. However I didn't hear very much construction noise. Also, be advised that additional expansion is under way along the trail to the restaurant, fitness room, and spa area. This work will probably extend well into next year. The fitness room is OK, with a few exercise machines and free weights. There is a mini-market a few blocks away for snacks, beer, chips, etc. The main area of Lamai is few kilometers away and the walk along a major highway is not pedestrian friendly, so a cab is recommended. If you are looking for expansive and well groomed beaches, grounds, and shrubbery this is not it. However, Beach Republic does provide privacy amidst luxury. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach_Republic, Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, December 18, 2010
Thank you for your review and your comments regarding the stools and peephole. These are two items that will be addressed soon. As far as the construction due to expansion, this is winding down now and will be complete by Christmas 2010 with the opening of an additional 25 deluxe apartments and private pool penthouses.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

My wife and I recently enjoyed seven fabulous nights at the Beach Republic Residences. We spent four nights in the deluxe suite followed by three nights in the modern one bedroom pool villa. Both offer all the amenities one would need and Beach Republic took no exception to the quality, design and layout of these units. These units are very spacious and you never feel like you are living in tight quarters our out of your suitcase as with most places.

The staff here is top notch and go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. I can easily state that the staff at Beach Republic (including the drivers, front office, house keeping, managers, wait staff and even the security guard) was by far the best I have ever encountered at any place I have ever stayed. This was our first trip to Thailand and we found the Thais to be very friendly in nature, but Beach Republic went over the top.

One slight drawback for some may be the location since the town is not within walking distance. The town of Lamai is a short 5-10 minute (200 Baht) drive and Chaweng is about 20 minutes (400 Baht) . Others, however, may find this attractive since you are removed from some of the hustle and bustle; i.e. street noise, traffic, jet skis, etc.

If you chose to stay elsewhere in Samui, please do yourself and favor and at least hit Beach Republic up for their Sunday brunch session. This is definitely the highlight of their Beach Club. This is not your typical buffet and it includes tasty lobster, crab, sushi, Thai and Mediterranean foods, desserts, and much more. They have a DJ spinning good tunes at just the right volume that it is not too loud and obnoxious nor too quite that puts you to sleep. I would suggest calling ahead to reserve a table our lounge chair as I saw many tables reserved in the morning. I believe they even offer free pick up service if you are not staying with them.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanary-sur-Mer, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

It was the perfection... room, restaurant, service, staff, the best in Samui!!!! If i could, i would like to live here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Republic The Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.