We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too far away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Republic The Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Republic The Residences to your Saves list
Beach Republic The Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
3931
1 review
“too far away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

great place, great staff but too far away from the action a taxie ride everywhere, beach is not a great one to rocky, and not good sand. not really a place for kids, and if you want to be in the action this is not the place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear reviewer. This is a very interesting review and will be of great help for many travelers. I was thrilled to see that you rated us excellent on service, value, cleanliness and rooms, but I was disappointed to see that you weren't pleased with our location because it is 'too far from the action'. On the point of location, to a certain extent I agree with you. If you need to be immediately next door to hundreds of souvenir shops, internet cafes, McDonald's, Starbucks, etc. then we are not the place for you - and to be quite frank, most of our guests are more than happy not to be in the middle of all of that. However, if you enjoy the convenience of these businesses, but don't want to be surrounded by them, then Beach Republic has an excellent location. We are just minutes from the hustle and bustle of Lamai town and about a 20 minute drive to the center of Chaweng. This means that you can enjoy the unique atmosphere of the Beach Club while being close enough to head into town when you're in the mood. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review here. If you return to Samui please come down to visit us on our signature days - Wednesday Asian Buffet and Sunday Sessions Brunch when we are usually quite busy with a fantastic atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    93
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
92
220
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel section of the resort. The villas looked awesome, but out of our $ range.
Firstly, our room was modern and comfortable. We had a penthouse type room with plunge pool. The other rooms balconies are only separated by wooden like wall, so you can hear what's going on next door at times, but all in all this wasn't a problem for us. I'd be annoyed if there was a loud group next door though... But that comes with travelling! The room otherwise was great. Basic rooms looked ok.
Secondly, the beach, bar and restaurant area is great. Spend time on the sun lounges, reserve a spot for the day on one of the private sun lounges when you are at breakfast is our tip.
Thirdly, the Asian buffet isn't overly cheap by Thai standards, but the selection and food was great. A highlight for us. The Sunday brunch etc... And the chilled vibe is a winner for those who don't mind a few beverages and some down time. Easy to sort taxis and bikes here, but man... We saw some messed up people from scooter crashes ... Avoid from what we saw!
So, not the cheapest place, but if you can afford to stay and enjoy what they offer it is worth it. We stayed downtown Koh Samui and would recommend a mix of both if you have time.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you dear reviewer! First of all I would like to tell you that I agree with you 100% on the danger of hiring motorbikes here on the island. We only recommend guests to hire a motorbike if they are experienced drivers and hold a motorcycle license in their home country. Thank you for the kind words about our Beach Club and signature days -Wednesday Asian Buffet and Sunday Brunch. Our Penthouse balconies are huge and as said separated with the next room with a screen made of half concrete and half wood. We have five penthouses in total, one in the first building and two each in the second and third buildings. It is very private accommodation - you either have no neighbors or only one neighbor so only a very noisy neighbor will cause a problem (in which case Management will get in touch to ask them to quiet down). Thank you for staying with us and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited Beach Republic again this year and as always - superb.
We had the 1 bedroom apartment which is really such a good size, with a very comfortable lounge and little kitchen area, which is stocked with everything you want if you just wanted to have a lazy night in to self cater which sometimes is quite a nice change, or just phone down to Ocean Club and have dinner delivered while watching DVD.!
The Housekeeping staff are so friendly and nothing seems a bother to them. If you ask for something, you blink and they are at your door. They also bring a lovely little dessert every day with the Manifesto which is a daily update newsheet on places to visit locally and info on BR.
The courtesy car in/out of Lamai daily is such a treat, and also the one way to Chaweng. Super idea.
If I wanted to find fault with Beach Republic, then I would find that a very hard thing to do.
Thank you again for all your help Julie....see you next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you very much for your review. It's great to see that little details are noted like our extensive DVD collection that our guests can borrow movies from at no additional charge, daily turn down treat, daily news sheet 'Manifesto' and our free transfer services. I do think we have a very great house keeping team and it's really nice that they are mentioned. Your comments mean the world to the team - it's great when all the hard work is noticed by our guests. Thank you very much and welcome back soon! Please let us know in advance when you return so that we can make special arrangements for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Throughout 2012 and early 2013 we visited the resort on quite a few occasions. Every time we were there the accomadation was top notch and the happy hour and Sunday brunch is a must. Staff are extremely helpful, location is perfect for this type of resort and the beach feels secluded and peaceful. Will be there again one day!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Short, but sweet dear reviewer. Thank you for all the kind words! Please let us know when you return and we will make something special for you! Really nice to read the good comments about the staff - it really boosts our moral knowing our guests enjoy our service. Thank you also for mentioning our daily happy hour and our signature day - Sunday Sessions Brunch, which is great fun! Thank you again and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having returned to BR for the fourth visit, Lynda and I were delighted to witness the forever increasing standards of service. Daniels vision to abandon the previous 'buffet' type breakfast setup,and replace it with a personalised experience, is a great advancement to the breakfast menu.
As usual, Julie applies her professional skills throughout, and Claire, Lek, Tat and May all contrive to deliver a pleasurable restaurant ambience. The attention received from the beach staff is second to none, with young Aung and his colleagues tireless in this pursuit.
Anyone visiting BR which I strongly advise, whether for a short or long duration will be truly impressed by the quality of the whole experience, especially the ubiquitous 'Sunday Brunch' which seems to get better every year.
Well done to all concerned. James L

Room Tip: All suites are furnished in a modern minimalist style, and we stay in a one bedroom apartment with v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear James. Thank you very much for your kind words. It really means a lot to us hearing it from a returning guest. Thank you also for mentioning the team members by name. You should know that May won the General Manager's Excellence Award this month. We have big plans for making Beach Republic even better so I expect to be able to show you some great improvements when you next return. Thank you again and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for ten nights, place is everything other travelers rave about. Staff are fabulous, nothing is too much trouble yet they are very discrete and not constantly in your face. During happy hour, when you finished a drink the second one magically appeared. Did the cooking class and must say Dang the sous chef and Gai the interpreter made it so much fun and such delicious food with just the right amount of spice for the western palate. Music is really cruisey, DJ on site just the right amount of zing. The best thing is if you are dissatisfied with anything, they address it immediately and with a smile. We travel a lot and really can't fault it. There are always little things which you could pick, but with such a welcoming staff, sunshine, cocktails...why nit pick.

Room Tip: We didn't intend to hang around room, so didn't matter to us. But they do have great private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I love this review! Dear reviewer, you are touching the core of Beach Republic hospitality and I thank you for that. The way you mention the staff and the attitude makes me very proud. I am also happy that you mention the cooking class. Both Daeng and Gai do a great job and are very dedicated. We recently upgraded the cooking class and the location with an ocean view to add to the fun. I am the first to admit that we are not perfect and we do make mistakes here and there, but as you say we always do our best to resolve any issues as soon as possible. Hosting great guests with a positive mind like yourself makes it a bit easier. Thank you for noticing our efforts. In house DJ, DJ Dan is always happy to read nice comments about his music. If you miss his mellow grooves and Beach Republic in general, be sure to tune in for live broadcasts at BeachRepublicRadio.com! Thank you so much and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is our second visit to Beach Republic and we can't fault anyhthjng. Service is good, location is good as its away from the hustle and bustle of Lamai and Chawang but close enough to go by local transport for dinner or shopping.

One of our guests got sick and needed to go to the hospital (8km away) and when asking for directions, they happily offered to drive us there - no trouble - no fee.

The resort is beautiful and it's clean - rooms and facilities.

The best thing about Beach Republic are its people. Nothing is too much trouble. A friendly face meets you every day. There may be fancier places on the island but Beach Republic is perfect.

Sawadee ka

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you! I really like this review since it captures a lot of what we strive to be. We don’t want to be fancy in the traditional sense of the word. We are fun, irreverent, different, and sophisticated but relaxed. The general disposition amongst all of our staff is one of helpfulness and understanding. If we have a guest in distress we will walk the extra mile. Taking a guest to the hospital when they are in need is not seen as an opportunity for a profit, but rather a responsibility that we are happy to fulfill. This is something that comes naturally to the junior management here who are authorized to make such decisions themselves for quick handling. Thank you for a great review and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Republic The Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.