We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time was good, second time was PERFECT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Republic The Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Republic The Residences to your Saves list
Beach Republic The Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“First time was good, second time was PERFECT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited Beach Republic in November 2012 and I did have a few complaints, mostly concerning the service and staff appearance. Oh yeah, and the restaurant, too.

However, in May 2013, I could clearly see that a lot of improvement had been made!
We were welcomed back very friendly and we had a marvelous holiday. I wouldn't ever want to stay anywhere else in Ko Samui!

And saying this, I really mean PERFECT. We were traveling with 2 young kids, and I can say that demands of both generations of our family were fully met. My kids had a lot of fun in the pools and at the beach. Whereas my husband and I could enjoy the dj-sets and cocktails, and also the Spa (oh my.. that massage, I just can't forget it! in 4 years of my life in Thailand - I've never had anything like it!!). It may seem that Beach Republic is not a family place, but it will be, if you want it to!

And yeah, those funky grooves, stylish decor and sexy atmosphere make it all surreal!
We stayed at the 1 bedroom deluxe with a jacuzzi tub on the balcony, which was great. I also appreciated a lot when the receptionist offered us to use the existing bedding in the room for our kids to avoid extra costs because of the extra bed. This is very rare it Thailand, where most tourist-related places try to catch any chance to earn money, forgetting about the true value of relationship between people, and also care for the customers. It made our day!

After about 3 days, we discovered, that our neighbors were party-folks (which we were too a few years ago before having kids!) and they discovered that our kids woke up at 5.30 every day. So we were unwillingly disturbing each others holidays. And here again, came the valuable and kind attitude of the management, which upgraded us to a truly luxurious two-bedroom penthouse free of charge for the remaining 3 nights in order to make our stay as comfortable as possible!! And well.. the penthouse.. it's just stunning, luxury and high quality in every detail (cutlery, kitchen appliances, toiletries, bed linen, books....). You should just try it. You will never regret it, trust me!

A few words about the restaurant.. Since we've switched to a raw vegan diet (i.e. only raw fruit/veg/nuts), we've only tried it for breakfast, we had the rest of our meals on our huge balcony.

Every now and then my hubby and I were just looking at each other and saying "Wow, we're in the middle of the most beautiful holiday we've had in years!
Anyway.. words are nothing, just come and check it out!

We love Beach Republic!!!

Room Tip: Two-bedroom penthouse is the absolute score!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It just feels great to receive comments like this from an experienced reviewer like you and on top of that a returning guest. We are constantly striving to improve and it's really nice to see that you can feel and see the changes. It makes me extra happy and proud that you mentioned our customer care and attitude. We have been working on these areas a lot and I can honestly say that we are now a team of hospitality professionals that all know the importance of happy guests and who constantly work diligently to make sure that our guests enjoy their time with us. We are still not perfect, but we are always doing our best and trying to find the best possible solution for the guests in front of us if there is a problem. I also want to point out that you did the magic thing that helped your situation...approaching our staff in a constructive and friendly way with a concern. We welcome feedback from our guests, even when it is a criticism as it helps us learn and grow. And while it is not always possible to please every single person who enters the resort, we continue to do our very best and I think this deep commitment to excellence can be felt by all visitors to Beach Republic. Of course we hope to welcome you back again and on your next visit we will be pleased to prepare something special for you as a third time visitor. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    106
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
103
234
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I don't give out stars easily, but these guys deserve it. We had the best few nights away that we've ever had and I can't wait to go back!

First Impressions:
After checking in we were escorted down to the beachside pool area where my wife ooh'd, ahhh'd and giggled, and I tried to maintain a manly composure. We had been travelling for 10 days or so, staying in average places, I was sick and tired, and this just felt like heaven! After only a couple of hours at Beach Republic we had postponed our onward plans (at a reasonable cost), and extended our stay so we could enjoy this paradise just a little more.

The room:
Our room, a club suite, was very nice - a roomy 55sqm hotel style room with a nice little balcony.
Each day we would find lovely little treats in our room left by the staff. This is just one example of how Beach Republic makes the effort with the little things.
The little pod coffee machine provided in the room was a godsend and made remarkably good coffee.
There were plenty of TV channels so we caught up on world news and watched a documentary from the comfort of our comfy bed.

The Staff:
Staff were friendly, helpful, and spoke enough english to do anything you needed. If you really wanted to get complicated, there's enough natural english speaking staff wandering about that it would never be an issue.

The ambiance:
Paradise. We spent several days just lying on the beach beds, moving only as far as the pool, or rolling over to order some tapas or a meal. We enjoyed the fun aspect of being 'citizens of the republic'. We would return the friendly salute from the casual military styled security staff as we walked past the sign informing us that we were not permitted to roll a tank past this point. The weather was magic - hot & dry - quite the contrast to our last week of humidity and scattered rain.

The food:
The food was delicious and varied. The included breakfast was great and included a selection of cold buffet items as well as the ability to order something fresh from the 'hot menu'. Each morning, Wifey would have dim sums and I would have an omlette with various extras and some really yummy toast.

Random bits:
BR offers a free shuttle to a couple of the local beaches / beach towns with a couple of preset pickup/drop times.
I was impressed with the gym. Its a perfect size (most hotel gyms are small and cramped) and has enough equipment to stay on the ball.
The spa was enjoyable. The girl at the spa reception was really friendly and fun. Wifey had a pedicure while I endured the sauna and then we met up for an hour massage together. Of course, you'll pay a lot more for this than you will at one of the beaches or towns, but then you've got to leave, and for once, we just couldn't bring ourselves to do that.
Beach Republic, as a whole, seems to get the whole 'size' thing just right. Its big enough to have all the facilities, but small enough that there is seldom a crowd.

Things to change;
If I was going to be really picky and find something to upgrade, it would be:
- Get a good coffee machine & trained barristers at the bar / restaurant
- Maybe upgrade the driveway...
- Make the check-in area / office much bigger



Now I must stop reminiscing about this great resort, and go back to work... oh well...



Beach Republic - We'll be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our Club Suite which was plenty big enough (55sqm)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for a fantastic review. It really means a lot to us and it makes the team very happy and proud. And thank you also for pointing out the few areas where we can improve. We love good coffee and I'm happy to tell you that since your visit in April we have invested a small fortune in a super coffee machine, a La Cimbali M1 flown in directly from Italy. Wow! Also, please note that a new second reception area is four times bigger than the existing one and is already ready for use. However, we need to train additional staff to be able to open and operate it properly. We are currently working on that. I totally agree with you that we can upgrade the driveway. It is certainly on the to do list. I look forward to personally welcoming you back. On your return, please come and say hello and I will make sure that you get a couple cups of outstanding coffee on me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

You know you have found a fantastic resort when you travel with a group of 30 people and everyone is already planning their next trip back due to the fantastic time they all had! We held our wedding here last week and could not have asked for a more magical day or experience. Julie's service was quick and precise with every communication we had and everything worked out perfectly on the day which is fantastic considering she is also the resident manager! All our guests loved the accomodation, food, entertainment (resident DJ is excellent) and excellent service from all the staff (special mention to Aung who's service is amazing and always with a smile!). Even little things such as our cake, table settings and fairy lights had an amazing attention to detail and completed the night...... If anyone is looking for a perfect wedding venue with super service and a chilled ambience this is the place!

In regards to the rooms we stayed in a penthouse suite which is amazing value for money and would have to be the nicest accomodation we have ever stayed in ourselves. Nothing beats waking up and having a dip in your own private pool overlooking the Lamai coastline in the morning! A number of our guests stayed in other rooms from the club suites up to the two bedroom penthouses and all were clean, air conditioned and very comfortable

Breakfast in the morning is top notch with a number of choices from the menu plus a buffet of breakfast choices for a lighter meal which you can have whilst looking out over the water. Happy house in the afternoon is a welcome treat after a long day in the sun and the little desserts in the fridge every night were a winner!

Overall a fantastic resort that we cant wait to come back to, keep up the fantastic service and thankyou for giving us the wedding we have always hoped for! Special mention again to Julie, Claire and Aung as you all made our experiences memorable!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were fantastic, if with a group would recommend a penthouse or villa with a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

There are many many options for good quality accommodation in Koh Samui making it difficult to choose the one that will tick all the boxes. If you are looking for the place that has everything for an relaxing holiday and provides great customer service then book in Beach Republic. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment with its own pool and most importantly air conditioning, and it was probably the best equipped apartment we've ever experienced. The glassware, crockery, and cutlery are all high quality, the furnishings and electrical appliances are modern, and the bed is soooo comfortable. They even have a pillow menu, which is a great example of the attention to detail that management have invested.
The food and drink options are extensive enough to satisfy most people, and are good value for money. In our 7 day stay there were 2 banquets with different themes and an abundance of food. There can be some language challenges when ordering, so speak slowly and ask to have the order read back if you askfor chsnges to the standard menu.

Finally the pool and surrounds are just fantastic, one of the best features being the double sun beds that allow you to lay about in the sun or shade enjoying the incredible weather with drinks nd food served right to your chosen location.

Room Tip: If you can afford the 1 bedrron penthouse it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have recently returned from yet another wonderful holiday at Beach Republic, Samui. We cannot thank all the staff enough for looking after us so well. The pool team, especially Aung, were attentive and always on hand, the fab sounds of Dan, the DJ in the afternoons, were spot on to get you in the mood for happy hour(s). The menu/food was excellent, beautifully presented and the Sunday Brunch an absolute MUST! As always the accommodation was immaculate and the ‘evening treats’ delicious. Muek, the Housekeeping Manager could not have been more charming and clearly has everything under control. Now we just have to save up so we can go again!
Eric+VivAnderson

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here in April, unfortunately we took the Yorkshire weather with us! When the sun was out this place is amazing, coll, trendy with good DJ vides. Service is great, everyone has a smile on their faces and want to make your time at Beach Republic special. The appartments are spacious, the bed comfortable and with a big balcony. The beach, pools, bar and restaurant were lovely. Food was excellent! If you want a exclusive beach club this is it! Overall very very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Staying only for a few nights January 2013. Service and staff very good. polite and helpful and there seems to be 1 staff member for every 2 guests. Food tasty, well presented. Drink fairly expensive for thailand. Beach beds comfy and plenty of them for a small hotel. Paying day guests have a seperate area to relax. Rooms were large, cool and decorated to a high standard. Downside is the beach is all that and there not much directly around the hotel. DJ sets around the pool were great the young at heart and young! We had a family birthday whilst we were there and the hotel staff could not be more helpful in making the day a really special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Republic The Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.