We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, quiet and nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Laguna Resort

Save Saved
You added Samui Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Laguna Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   124/103 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Lamai Beach
Biasca, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple, quiet and nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The place, position is very nice and quiet. The beach is also beautiful. We think this was a good choice for price/ quality. The resort in located in the center of Lamai Beach.
We choosed a bungalow. The only thing that was missing is a safe in the room, they have them but at the main entrance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your compliments are the great support to us. We will keep up with our facilities and services. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    50
    20
    12
    9
See reviews for
12
47
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

issues there were a few but yet again....
1. When you confirm they take the full sum from your credit card there and then (in our case 4 months prior to travel) so check with them.
2. upgraded to beach front bungalow ...they gave us 301. at 1000bat a night extra you would expect a view. we had one. OF THE BACK OF THE MASAGE HUT. managed to get a 500 bat discout though.

OK now the good
Location - at the very end of the strip so quiet - nice bit of beach
Rooms - ours was bang on cant fault it
Staff - honest and hardworking
breakfast - ok choice and quality

tip get your room sprayed for mossies every night they will do it at the drop of a phone call.

best rooms

201, 101

301 not perfect but wort 500b a night extra.

Room Tip: 201 or 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your time for the kind review. We do apologize for the inconvenience issues that may occur to you. Also, we appreciate your kind complimentary very much. They are the great support to us and our staff.

Should you have any further suggestions, please kindly inform us through our e-mail info@SamuiLaguna.com. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great - out of the way of the greasy bars and not too far away that you can't walk pretty well anywhere in Lamai.

That being said, the beds are firm but this seems to be a trend in Thailand for budget minded hotels. For how much a box spring would cost and the vast improvement to comfort you think this would be a no brainier. Rooms are clean and mid 90's appointed with DVD player and CRT TV. No lock box in the room but the safety deposit boxes are at the front desk and this may be safer in some respects.

Never had the included breakfast but 300 baht? Come on, there's a restaraunt run by a friendly lady and her husband when you hang a right out of the hotel and proceed around 300m on the left hand side that does a pretty decent breakfast for 79, usually for two people with smoothies you'd be under the cost for one person at the hotel. Even the french cafe right, immediate left and about 400m on the left hand side is a better deal. Lotus supermarket (like Walmart) is a right out of the hotel, down to the end of the street, a left and then a ways down that road. Pick up some bottled water, two are included with the room per day but have a look at the lagoon next door and it makes sense why you wouldn't want to brush with or drink the tap water.

Try to negotiate but for what other hotels go for in the area this isn't a great deal. Beach is medium to coarse grain, not powder soft white sand. Overall positive experience but if I came back it would be to another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind review. We do apologize for any inconvenience that may occur to you during your stay, We ensure that we will improve our facilities and services. We hope to have another chance to serving you again soon.

Happy Holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khujand, Tajikistan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are expecting 5 star hotel rooms then this is not the place for you. If you expect good value for money and great service from the staff, then stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean, the location is great, the bungalows are very close to the beach. What more do you want or need? We stayed for 7 days and everything was perfect. I will stay here again if I am in Samui.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your compliments are the great support to us. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Happy Holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

iv just left the laguna this morning after a 2 week stay (was only ment to be 2 days then off to koh phangan but fell in love with muay thai training so extended my stay instead!) i cant say enough good things about it, great location 5 minutes walk into town, brilliant front desk staff could not do enough for you and always smilling and happy to help too, in fact great staff alround, room was nice clean and spacious, i read a review about towels being worn? maybe i got lucky because mine were fine and changed everyday, the pool is nice the hotel clean and right on the beach, good wifi, breakfast was ok, only ate there once, as i liked to eat in the small local cafes that are all in walking distance, lamai is a nice place, quiet chilled and just a 60 baht tuk tuk away from chewang which is a crazy, overall great stay good location and will defienatly come back to laguna next time i come to samui :)

Room Tip: when it rains the 3rd floor has patchy internet, the 2nd never fails no matter what weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your time for the kind review and compliments. We will keep up with our facilities and services. We hope to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great location situated at the end of the busy strip so away from the noise. The staff are really helpful and can't do enough for you. The beach is stunning and not as commercial as Chaweng so good for chilling but only a stone throw away from the hustle and bustle of Lamei.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your compliment is a great support to our management team and staffs. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights whilst waiting for rooms at another location. The hotel service is great , well trained staff, & free wifi everywhere which seems to work well.
Food at beach front restaurant is good, low priced and great ambieance/view.
Hotel has a pool and beach ,both with sunbeds.
Rooms are good for the price with fridge , coffee/tea facilities, aircon, saftey deposit box,, satellite TV, hairdryer and room service. Discounts are available if you email them through their website at www.samuilaguna.com We were offered 37% to 40% discount on published rack rates if we extended to a week. However, later I checked Booking.com and they were quoting Baht 100 per night less than I had been quoted so shop around. Low season rooms can be as low as Baht 1500- double per night including tax and service and breakfast. There is low season rates , high season rates and peak rates for Christmas.
Location is excellent with restaurants and shops all nearby and walking distance . Lamai Beach is a quieter area than Chaweng so not so many bars and discos, so hotel is excellent for mature couples & retired couples (like us ) or families. If you are young and want "some bar and disco action"' , stay at Chaweng Beach instead...........Green Mango is famous .

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony in main building which look into a small garden with trees, these are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you for your time for the kind review. Your compliments are the great support to us. We will ensure to keep up our property and service. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Laguna Resort

Address: 124/103 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Laguna Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Samui Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Laguna Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Laguna Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.