We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai House Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thai House Beach Resort to your Saves list
Thai House Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Moo3, T.Maret, Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach 84310 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent christmas 2012 at the Thai house beach resort and loved it. It was our first time on Lamai beach and second time in Samui. The hotel was in a perfect location for the beach, local restaurants and shopping, also close to Chaweng for more shopping and partying depending on what you're looking for. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and although there are 300 rooms they knew all of the guests staying there. The rooms are spacious and clean, the pool area is lovely and shaded some of the day which is perfect for 40 degree heat. The food from the restaurant is very good, breakfast was really good also. We had unlimited drinks all week from the bar whilst on the beach and at the end of the trip the bill was barely £100. So very well priced for a hotel too. We would definitely recommend anyone to stay in this hotel and would definitely go back as a couple of with our children in the future, perfect for all.

Room Tip: Depending on what you want to pay and what you are looking for, the pool view rooms are lovely but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    148
    47
    16
    7
See reviews for
114
172
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 7 days at Thai House Beach Resort and really enjoyed it. I love Lamai and enjoy the vibe that the streets have after hours so this was a good option. The rooms are clean and well kept, the wifi works (not common), the food at the restaurant is really good, if not a little pricey and the staff are really friendly. We stayed in a pool view room and initially though that we had made a mistake being so close to the pool but found that it was really quiet at night and we really enjoyed it. We would definitely recommend the place and suggest that anyone staying there treat themselves to an excellent Thai massage on the premises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Thai House Beach resort for 7 nights (first time in Lamai although 3rd time in Samui). After deciding to try somewhere different to Chaweng. This hotel was very good value for money, the rooms were more usual hotel style as opposed to thai style & not very big, but really adequate, clean & comfortable enough.(& I'm pretty fussy). After our 7 night stay here we reluctantly moved onto our double the price hotel in Chaweng & quite honestly we decided we preferred it at the Thai Beach House. First time we've ever bothered to move from the poolside chairs to the beach also, it was a much nicer beach area. Overall, very good value for money & would definitely stay there again. The only negative was the "fitness room" which was very limited compared to some hotels & the air con was not working, so virtually impossible to use & although the staff were asked several times re this, it was not resolved in the time we were there. That aside, overall good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed a week in this hotel and we had excellent service from the moment we arrived till the minute we left
On our first morning I had an accident and tripped in the bathroom, putting my elbow through the glass door, needing 4 stitches, The young manager was on hand to help us immediately and we were driven by an employee to find a doctor, and he waited outside for 45minutes while i was being seen to and then drove us back.
We were moved to another room, and we apologised many times and offered to pay, but they wouldnt hear of it! and every day they asked how I was.
Breakfast was varied and plentiful.
Rooms were spacious and clean.
We would reccommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Lamai!!
The only let down was the rain which no one can predict!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Having stayed at the Pavilion on my last 2 trips to Samui I was a little dubious about changing to the Thai House Beach Resort at first but as I was being joined by relatives arriving from England and staying for 3 weeks (I was only staying for 8 days) the Pavilion just seemed too expensive.

Firstly the resort is good value, my parents stayed 21 nights but only had to pay for 15 nights, similarly I stayed for 8 but only paid for 6 nights, I had to pay 50% up front when I made the booking which is unusual (they could have just billed my credit card for a no-show afterall), but what did concern me is that they billed me for the remaining 50% on check in...in other words I had paid out over B120,000 before I had even seen the room!, I figured that in the event of a dispute I could cancel payment with my bank so I let it slide.

I had previously asked to upgrade my room to a beach front villa and was given Villa D over looking the beach and pool, the Villa was lovely, clean and spacious and I spent many an evening enjoying a cold beer sitting out on the balcony enjoying the sound of the sea.

Breakfast was fine, nothing to rave about but nothing to complain about either, egg station, bacon and eggs, cerials, a couple of daily changing dishes, Asian breakfast, cold cuts, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices, coffee and tea...what more do you want really for a free breakfast?

Staff are attentive and generally friendly, location is very good...there is a family mart at the corner of the road down to the resort and the staff had no problem with us buying our beers there and sticking them in the mini bar, even drinking them by the pool was not a problem.

The swimming pool is a little small but as the resort is not big and it was not peak season when we went it never felt as if the pool was crowded and there were always plenty of loungers available too.

Lovely beach, white sand, clear water and very few beach sellers hassling the tourists.

During our stay the entire island experienced a 4 day black out due to damage from the main cables from the mainland, the resort had a generator but was only equipped to run as a back up for no more than 8 hours at a time, the hotel staff were very good at keeping all the guests informed of the situation and posting times that the generator would be running so as to minimise the inconvenience to us which was reassuring.

All in all I enjoyed my stay very much and will happily stay at and recommend the Thai House Beach Resort to others.

Room Tip: Villas D & E are the best in my opinion, Villa A is closest to beach but has the massage sala in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I´m writing this review on my last day on this resort. My stay was great, the beach is very nice and the resort is very well located near Lamai main street with a lot of good restaurants, bars and shops on the surroundings.
The hotel has a very good price/quality relation, it is not very expensive and it has the essential services like free wifi, gim, nice beach front restaurant (specially pleasant while having breakfast), small swiming pool and attentive staff.
The rooms are nice but need updates, the gim and swiming pool are small but nice.
Overall it's a nice small resort where you can enjoy a few days on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this hotel for 4 nights for the end of September 2012, which was at the beginning of our holiday. Knowing that we were to come back almost 3 weeks later, by the end of our holidays, we kept in mind that we would need a hotel again in Koh Samui. We had the most pleasant stay here. The location was perfect, the personnel of the hotel ever so kind, not overly present, but helpful and understanding. The food was very good and the drinks (pineapple & mango juice) were of extreme quality! The first night we were accommodated in a standard room even though we had booked a villa. But we got an upgrade for the other nights, which resulted in a very nice villa with beach view, on the pool side. Everything seems to work well in this hotel, the personnel speak English well and we really enjoyed our stay. So we didn’t hesitate when booking the last 2 nights of our holiday in this hotel again. We booked a standard room and when we arrived we got a very nice room on the ground floor, close to the pool, but quiet. We really felt welcome and didn’t like the fact that we had to leave. Long story short: the hotel has a very good location in Lamai, the rooms are spacious and well maintained, the personnel are very professional and kind. We really enjoyed our stay here and, if we would go back to Koh Samui, we would definitely book here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thai House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai House Beach Resort

Address: 131 Moo3, T.Maret, Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach 84310 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai House Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai House Beach Resort is located at Lamai Beach on beautiful island of Koh Samui. Only 35 kilometers from the main land, it is easily accessible from all major airports in Thailand. Transfer time from Koh Samui airport approximately 30 minutes. Bus from Bangkok to Samui will take 12 hours. Daily Ferry Service will take one hour and half for every trip duration 08.00 am to 06.00 pm. We can arrange transport for you by the budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Thai House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai House Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Thai Hotel Beach
Thai House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai House Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.