We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort, Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky's Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky's Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Rocky's Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Resort, Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Rocky's was the most beautiful resort we visited in Thailand. Stunning setting looking at the beach, beautiful pools and tropical gardens. Attention to detail was very impressive beautiful flowers and rooms, along with stunning red lanterns lit up at night in the trees. Friendly staff and great food! Cheap and easy to get to lamai or free shuttle. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, we are please that you had such a fantastic time, hope you trip back to NZ was OK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    191
    49
    20
    7
See reviews for
296
760
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston Tasmania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Rockys is a fabulous Resort. The staff are friendly, efficient and maintain beautiful gardens, pools and lovely rooms. We appreciated the complimentary iced water drinks, folded towels and fruit that were refreshed while relaxing about the pools or beach. The breakfasts and buffet dinners were exceptional. The cooking school with chef Um was great! Rockys is very peaceful and a short taxi ride to explore attractions such as the Elephant trek and waterfalls, markets. You need to go to Chaweng if you want lots of shops and eateries, and a visit there reminds you of the benefits of a peaceful setting. The beach is not good for swimming so you need to walk or taxi a little way towards Lamai Beach if you want to swim in the sea. However the views are lovely and kayaks are available free of charge. We certainly recommend Rockys for a special holiday.

Room Tip: We were very lucky to have a huge, authentically decorated room that was private b999, however, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, There are exceptionally low tides at this time of year, but you can walk out to deeper water, special shoes are provided to protect your feet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at Rockys Resort for 2 weeks in July 2014, 1 week in a pool view room and 1 week in a seaview room.

Being our first visit to Thailand and Koh Sumai we wanted somewhere romantic to chill out and relax as a couple, and for the most part we got it.

The setting is beautiful, with views over the bay and plenty of trees, red lanterns, and a tropical garden feel, making this a really pretty boutique resort.

Both our rooms were superb, very spacious and set out beautifully and had everything we could have asked for.

The staff at Rockys are exceptional, very friendly and personable and are a credit to the resort and left a good impression with us.

There are a few gripes however which stops us giving a 5 star review.

Firstly, as mentioned by previous poster below, the website gives the impression that this is a very chilled out resort, ideal for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

We were quite surprised however, by the amount of families at the resort, which is not a problem normally for us, but there were quite a few children running round all day with a free reign and dive bombing into the pool and having plenty of 'noisy' fun etc from early morning to evening.

Nothing wrong with kids enjoying themselves of course, but we were expecting a romantic chilled out and quiet resort as implied by the website, and to be honest it wasn't really that.

The beach is great for relaxing, with very comfortable sunloungers, free water and mid morning fruit snacks to keep you going, but there is definitely no chance of being able to swim, with sharp rocks and shallow waters.

We knew what to expect being called 'Rockys Resort' but we've been to a few resorts with 'rocks' in the title and still been able to swim in the sea.

Here, there is no chance as the rocks really are lethal.

The resort is 5 mins from Lamai with shuttles going out from Rockys a few times a day.

The last pickup from Lamai centre is around 5pm however, which seemed a little strange, we thought there should be one later, say for example around 10pm.

Also the events put on are quite expensive, as is the food in the restaurants. Better off getting the free shuttle into Lamai which takes only 5mins and has a wide range restaurants with tasty dishes to get stuck into!

All in all, we enjoyed our time at Rockys but feel the resort is better catered to families than those looking for a relaxing and romantic holiday away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, We get many types of people here at Rocky's but there are more children here as normal when the European school holidays are on, which was when you were here. There are times when there are no children here at all. Come then and you will receive a free night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was a guest at Rockys for a wedding and the venue is stunning. The food, service and location are all stunning. My only complaint is it's so far from town. The local shops are a bit of a hike down the hill and there's not a huge selection there either.

Room Tip: I was near the top pool and being able to step out and be in the pool in four steps, or just enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, We are just 5 minutes in our free shuttle bus or taxi. It is walk-able but a good 25 minutes.
I believe the benefits of being out of town a little and be on a private beach, with no vendors at all far out weighs the disadvantage of having to travel into town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I got married at Rockys, The hotel team, Ann especially could not do enough to make our stay and the wedding day as stress free as possible, the hotel, rooms and surroundings were perfect, my only gripes, if you can call them that, the F&B needs more variety and I think the rooms should have dehumidifiers, Otherwise one of the best holidays we've had. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you, as others are gardens are really great. We are currently looking at both menus in both of our restaurants to improve the variety, hope you come back to try them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It brings us great sadness to leave Rockys feeling like it was an average experience as it has so many positives but due to various factors we will not return in the future.

At night it is absolutely beautiful with fairy lights hanging in all the trees, red lanterns blowing in the breeze, candles floating in the pools and fresh flowers everywhere this is one of the biggest highlights of Rockys and made it one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. The staff have some key members who really shine through as being fantastic. Most members of the staff will always stop what they are doing and say good morning right from the housekeepers to the gardeners which was just amazing and made us feel so welcome and at home. The food was ALWAYS amazing and we didn’t have one bad meal it can be at times expensive but was high quality and yummmmy. The service in the Bistro was not that great and very slow and some staff in The Dining Room didn’t seem very familiar with the menu which was a bit disappointing but overall very well done.

We booked Rockys looking for a romantic relaxing week away together as a couple and after looking at the website we thought Rockys could provide this and more. It advertises that there are many things to be done at Rockys including boat tours and romantic dinners on the beach all this is true but we were not expecting the resort to have so many children staying which really ruined our quiet and relaxing holiday. At times it felt like a crazy kids fun park with children running, screaming and splashing around the pool. Our room being a pool view room there was no escaping the noise even with the doors shut. We appreciate that it is no fault of Rockys that some parents have no idea how to discipline their children but this really ruined our stay. Trying to eat at the The Bistro by the pool late at night we had children from another table throwing rocks into the pool splashing us while we dined and a few nights later a family in the pool playing a very loud game of MARCO POLO well after the pool was actually closed splashing and screaming while other diners were just as unimpressed as we were. Coming to relax it was very hard when we were continuously interrupted by obnoxious and rude children. Don’t get me wrong we don’t hate kids and we met some wonderful well mannered children but there was just no escape from the noise and the screaming tantrums. A child a total blubbering mess ruins the romantic setting after seeing it every hour or so!

We feel that Rockys needs to pick a direction that they want the hotel to go in as they are trying to cover too many bases. Do they want a family friendly hotel which provides a nice setting for parents and children to enjoy or do they want to be a wedding/honeymoon destination which is suitable for a romantic relaxed atmosphere for couples. I don’t believe they are doing the family/kids/wedding/honeymoon/romantic/relaxed hotel very well at all.

Thank you Rockys for a semi enjoyable time. We will not be returning but will happily recommend this resort to the families we know that will be able to benefit from all that this resort offers.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms can be VERY loud. Garden view rooms looked fairly private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you, We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday but really disappointed to see you only gave us a 3/5.
Regarding children here, it is currently school holidays in Europe nearly all hotels and resorts here will have a number of children staying. So avoid July/August and Christmas/New year .
Also if you have made us aware that you were being disturbed, we would have moved you to a quieter room of which we have many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

When my husband & I decided to have a destination wedding we could not have chosen a better place to get married. We got married on 21st June & everyone who came agreed it was one of the best weddings they had ever gone to.

The ceremony, reception, flowers were so tastefully done I was very impressed. The Wedding Planner Ann was fantastic, she made my Wedding Day perfect and I was very happy with the overall results.

The resort was just amazing & wished we had stayed longer instead of going to Phuket as it was such a let down after staying at Rocky's.

The room we stayed in was the Deluxe Beachfront Suite, highly recommend. My family stayed at Rocky's and loved it just as much as we did!

The staff here were all very friendly and always greeted you with a smile, nothing was too much for them, very helpful.

I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beachfront Room 333
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you, We are really happy that we made your wedding day so special for you.
And we hope your guests will support us here too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky's Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.