We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort, Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky's Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky's Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Rocky's Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Resort, Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Rocky's was the most beautiful resort we visited in Thailand. Stunning setting looking at the beach, beautiful pools and tropical gardens. Attention to detail was very impressive beautiful flowers and rooms, along with stunning red lanterns lit up at night in the trees. Friendly staff and great food! Cheap and easy to get to lamai or free shuttle. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, we are please that you had such a fantastic time, hope you trip back to NZ was OK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    214
    52
    21
    7
See reviews for
338
832
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston Tasmania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Rockys is a fabulous Resort. The staff are friendly, efficient and maintain beautiful gardens, pools and lovely rooms. We appreciated the complimentary iced water drinks, folded towels and fruit that were refreshed while relaxing about the pools or beach. The breakfasts and buffet dinners were exceptional. The cooking school with chef Um was great! Rockys is very peaceful and a short taxi ride to explore attractions such as the Elephant trek and waterfalls, markets. You need to go to Chaweng if you want lots of shops and eateries, and a visit there reminds you of the benefits of a peaceful setting. The beach is not good for swimming so you need to walk or taxi a little way towards Lamai Beach if you want to swim in the sea. However the views are lovely and kayaks are available free of charge. We certainly recommend Rockys for a special holiday.

Room Tip: We were very lucky to have a huge, authentically decorated room that was private b999, however, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, There are exceptionally low tides at this time of year, but you can walk out to deeper water, special shoes are provided to protect your feet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at Rockys Resort for 2 weeks in July 2014, 1 week in a pool view room and 1 week in a seaview room.

Being our first visit to Thailand and Koh Sumai we wanted somewhere romantic to chill out and relax as a couple, and for the most part we got it.

The setting is beautiful, with views over the bay and plenty of trees, red lanterns, and a tropical garden feel, making this a really pretty boutique resort.

Both our rooms were superb, very spacious and set out beautifully and had everything we could have asked for.

The staff at Rockys are exceptional, very friendly and personable and are a credit to the resort and left a good impression with us.

There are a few gripes however which stops us giving a 5 star review.

Firstly, as mentioned by previous poster below, the website gives the impression that this is a very chilled out resort, ideal for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

We were quite surprised however, by the amount of families at the resort, which is not a problem normally for us, but there were quite a few children running round all day with a free reign and dive bombing into the pool and having plenty of 'noisy' fun etc from early morning to evening.

Nothing wrong with kids enjoying themselves of course, but we were expecting a romantic chilled out and quiet resort as implied by the website, and to be honest it wasn't really that.

The beach is great for relaxing, with very comfortable sunloungers, free water and mid morning fruit snacks to keep you going, but there is definitely no chance of being able to swim, with sharp rocks and shallow waters.

We knew what to expect being called 'Rockys Resort' but we've been to a few resorts with 'rocks' in the title and still been able to swim in the sea.

Here, there is no chance as the rocks really are lethal.

The resort is 5 mins from Lamai with shuttles going out from Rockys a few times a day.

The last pickup from Lamai centre is around 5pm however, which seemed a little strange, we thought there should be one later, say for example around 10pm.

Also the events put on are quite expensive, as is the food in the restaurants. Better off getting the free shuttle into Lamai which takes only 5mins and has a wide range restaurants with tasty dishes to get stuck into!

All in all, we enjoyed our time at Rockys but feel the resort is better catered to families than those looking for a relaxing and romantic holiday away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, We get many types of people here at Rocky's but there are more children here as normal when the European school holidays are on, which was when you were here. There are times when there are no children here at all. Come then and you will receive a free night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was a guest at Rockys for a wedding and the venue is stunning. The food, service and location are all stunning. My only complaint is it's so far from town. The local shops are a bit of a hike down the hill and there's not a huge selection there either.

Room Tip: I was near the top pool and being able to step out and be in the pool in four steps, or just enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, We are just 5 minutes in our free shuttle bus or taxi. It is walk-able but a good 25 minutes.
I believe the benefits of being out of town a little and be on a private beach, with no vendors at all far out weighs the disadvantage of having to travel into town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I got married at Rockys, The hotel team, Ann especially could not do enough to make our stay and the wedding day as stress free as possible, the hotel, rooms and surroundings were perfect, my only gripes, if you can call them that, the F&B needs more variety and I think the rooms should have dehumidifiers, Otherwise one of the best holidays we've had. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you, as others are gardens are really great. We are currently looking at both menus in both of our restaurants to improve the variety, hope you come back to try them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

When my husband & I decided to have a destination wedding we could not have chosen a better place to get married. We got married on 21st June & everyone who came agreed it was one of the best weddings they had ever gone to.

The ceremony, reception, flowers were so tastefully done I was very impressed. The Wedding Planner Ann was fantastic, she made my Wedding Day perfect and I was very happy with the overall results.

The resort was just amazing & wished we had stayed longer instead of going to Phuket as it was such a let down after staying at Rocky's.

The room we stayed in was the Deluxe Beachfront Suite, highly recommend. My family stayed at Rocky's and loved it just as much as we did!

The staff here were all very friendly and always greeted you with a smile, nothing was too much for them, very helpful.

I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beachfront Room 333
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you, We are really happy that we made your wedding day so special for you.
And we hope your guests will support us here too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fantastic all round experience. For family maybe a bit closer to main and secluded beaches would be better, but there is hotel transport.
Hotel restaurants were a bit of a let down vs some of the others tried. Breakfast could be better, but ok

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you, It was regrettable that you chose a time of year where we have extremely low tides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
7.0 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa
8.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 173 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#1 of 173 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel
10.4 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 29 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky's Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.