We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visually Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky's Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rocky's Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Rocky's Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Visually Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The first stop on our honeymoon to Thailand. This is hands down the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail is apparent at every turn. Two pools, one overlooking the ocean, one set in a beautiful garden. While laying by the pool, the extremely friendly staff comes around periodically to give out fresh fruit skewers, ice water, and chilled towels. You feel so pampered while staying here.

The Thai buffet and show is a must do.

The only cons about our stay were the seriously weak drinks and the lack of friendly bar scene. We felt like we had to whisper by the pool. Also the beach is not the prettiest.

Overall though, I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a relaxing experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you, we do try our very best. I will check our drinks, they are all made to international standards using only original spirits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    186
    49
    20
    7
See reviews for
291
736
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've stayed in my fair share of hotels, but this place stands out from the crowd. We were visiting Thailand for the wedding of my cousin. The wedding was at Rocky's and it was just amazing, that may have swayed my perspective, but either way we had an amazing time.

We stayed for 5 night in total. The first night happened to be lobster night, much to my wife's delight. I didn't have a great experience, due to a failure on my part to describe a food allergy. My wife however had 'her best meal ever....' The following night we decided to go to the Bistro restaurant which does just Thai food and I've yet to experience better Thai dining yet.

Food aside there is a private beach where water and fruit kebabs are dished out at regular intervals. There is free to use snorkel gear and kayak and whilst we were there the sea was a mill pond.

Finally the rooms. We had a sea view which was outstanding and the room was spacious with a stunning walk in shower/wet room setup.

What Rockys does really well are the little things. The turn down service, the water on the beach. It was a truly amazing stay.

After all those positives, there is a cautionary word. We did the thai cooking class, which was brilliantly done, but if feels at times that they push their own 'events' a bit too much and usually at breakfast when nursing a hang over. My advice would be if you want to fill your days with more than just lounging, to look at trips outside of the hotel before arriving.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you, For someone who reviews a lot of hotels, we are very honoured by your review.
W constantly strive to improve and as other guests have found, next time you come back there will be something else to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped at Rockys for 9 nights & had a beach side room. We arrived late at night but still met by very friendly staff. Our room was immaculate & very comfortable. The view from our windows were fantastic. We definitely had the best views of all the rooms available.

All the staff were so friendly & couldn't do enough for you. Even down to the iced water they gave you when sitting on the sun loungers by the pool & they topped that up on a regular basis.

At breakfast there was a good choice of help yourself food like fresh fruit/pastries/ toast/fresh juice & then there were many choices off the menu that they cooked fresh.

We ate in The Bistro a few nights which serves Thai food & it was delicious. We also ate in
the main dining room where the food was equally delicious but served more westernised food.

They hold a cocktail evening on Friday nights ( free cocktails) by the pool side which is worth going to :)

The free shuttle taxi service they offer to the local town is really useful & very prompt & a delightful driver, just make sure you book in advance.

We enjoyed our stay at Rockys & would recommend it if you are looking for a complete chill out holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you, I hope your trip back to the UK was uneventful. We now have a revised and improved guests experience here. we hope you come back to try it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We enjoyed every single part of this holiday and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were great and very attentive. The room was wonderful, large, relaxing and superbly decorated. The restaurant catered to my vegetarian requests and offered a very relaxing atmosphere.We cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you, People do not realise that we have a full dedicated vegetarian menu, including a superb 5 course vegetarian degustation menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I cannot begin to express how amazing Rocky's are especially if you plan to have your special day there.
My partner and I are from two different continents (Australia & Sweden). Thailand was the perfect halfway point to bring our families together for our wedding. I must start by saying I am a meticulous researcher/planner, when researching our Thai wedding Rocky's just kept coming up at the top of the pile every time.

Rocky's has it's own wedding planner Ann (who is an angel on earth). Ann holds your hand all the way from planning (via emails) and throughout the whole wedding day, all I had to worry about was having an amazing time. Everything went so smoothly. The rest of the staff were also very warm and welcoming.

The hotel itself is paradise on earth and the rooms are spectacular. We had a few family members staying there so we got to see all types of rooms and they are all beautiful.
The food was also very good with alot of variety.

It's hard to summarize how truly appreciative we both are, Rocky's made our wedding day so special, I don't often write reviews but for Rocky's I feel compelled.
Thank you so much.
We cannot wait to return one day :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, 71 weddings last year, they are as beautiful to watch as to attend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were blown away the minute we arrived. Great resort, accommodation, gardens and people.
Thankyou to Ann,kian, cherry, boat and Jo who made our stay most enjoyable.
We had the pleasure of getting married here and it was perfect. Ann did an amazing job and I had nothing to worry about. The setting is amazing and I recommend anyone who is thinking about getting married in koh samui to do it at rockys.

During our stay we had the opportunity to go out on the Josephine and have a day snorkelling. Highly recommended. We had a cooking class with the chef and tasted some great Thai food. We had the Thai buffet and international buffet for dinner during our stay and was delicious. I was disappointed not to have tasted more of the menu.

I had an unfortunate accident which put a cloud over our trip but I hope to get the opportunity next year to come stay again at rockys .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you, and thanks for mentioning our staff by name, it means a lot to them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and at the end felt very relaxed batteries recharged ready to return to Bangkok.the first impression here is one of a beatifull setting and a feeling of surene
relaxed atmosphere. Easy pleasant check in with a Thai smile.our room was a garden pool view,very big modern,spotless.great rain shower a big double bed and big single,balcony over looking the pool on the first floor.breakfast excellent with many choices for everybody, great view of the sea while you eat.the beaches are very well prepared and although small there seems to plenty of room for everyone. The sea is not great for swimming,but we took the free kayaks andsnorkled the hotel provides everything,we usually went early, plenty to see.three pools to choose from,i


I think it would be better to have one bigger at the top and smaller one by the beach.I think the addition of a gym would be great.we had a car so travelled all over the island.lamai beach is great,find backiny bar great ribs and jerky chicken, free sun beds and very good massage 200 bhts.must go to walking St Friday at fisherman's wharf the best market and over forty restaurants to choose from.our fifth visit to samui,first at rocky resort,will return

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you, WOW too, your 5th visit to Samui and you can still find plenty to do, great
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky's Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.