We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could get better value for money elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Resort

Save Saved
You added Aloha Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloha Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Lamai Beach | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 43 hotels in Lamai Beach
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Could get better value for money elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well, we were here for our honeymoon and from the start, things were just less than satisfactory to me in regards this hotel. The facilities are okay, there's a decent pool and the beach is right by the hotel, which is quite convenient. I guess my main complaint is the lack of attention to detail in just about everything. Its an old hotel with minimal maintenance having been carried out over the years. The floors don't have carpets so your feet are dirty all the time. Breakfast looked like it was made in the dirtiest of conditions and the fittings in the bedroom and toilets could definitely do with a revamp. There arent enough lights in the rooms and we still haven't figured out how the shower works but can say that the bath is too small! All in all, it's not all that bad. Service is friendly but I do think there's a lot of room for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
26
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good hotel right at the beach! Great poolarea with enough sunbeds (half of them in the shadow of the trees).

Rooms were in good standards, But the cleaning could have been Better during our stay. Helpful staff, But their english is bad. Found some cockroaches on the room, i guess its standard in Thailand.

Seems to be a Russian charter hotel.

Overall We had a great stay and We would come back if visiting Lamai again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We liked Aloha since the very first visit several years ago and were coming to this hotel every year but this year everything changed. Yesterday when we got into the room we realized that our documents/credit cards/iphone/cash is all stolen. All doors were locked when we left the room. When I tried to talk to the managed she just locked in her cabinet and never showed up. Cleaning personal was the only to enter the room while we were away but all they say "No have". Police came but no actions were taken. We are now without documents and money struggling Thai system trying to figure out how to get home. I would never ever recommend aloha nor will ever come here myself. Stay away from this hotel as they take no resposibility for stealing from their rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The positives are large rooms, a view of the sea (although limited from our room), good AC, comfortable beds, imaculate garden & friendly staff.
The negatives were a shower that just didn't work (they did their best to fix it but I think the plumbing wasn't up to it) - this really affected our stay, very poor breakfast - limited choice and it just didn't look inviting, poor food in their restaurant, the pool although large didn't look very inviting (it had a green tinge) and the most annoying Asian man who has a shop in reception and constantly tries to sell you a suit!..
Generally the hotel lookes a little jaded - it would be great if it had a big makeover - one feels that you're staying in the 1970's

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

When choosing accommodation in Koh Samui there were a couple of prerequisites:
1/ View of the sea from our balcony
2/ Beach Front Location
3/ Central Location
4/ reasonably priced
Our timing wasn’t great as we were staying during one of their peak seasons where prices can rise by up to 50% in some resorts. The Aloha ticked all the boxes so we decided on a grand deluxe seaview room which by comparison wasn’t a lot more than their other rooms.
The hotel is laid out in such a way that most rooms receive a seaview, except maybe the ground floor rooms which are geared towards families with young children so they don’t need to worry too much about climbing stairs but are still in close proximity to the pool and the beach. The bungalows seemed quite cute but are located behind the northern wing so they also do not have a seaview.
Upon arrival (around 11pm, about 8 hours late thanks to Bangkok Airways) there were a couple of other parties signing in at the same time and the check in person handles us all at the same time, I was truly impressed with her skills .We were taken to our room which was located the northern wing and had a great view of the grounds, the pool and the sea. The room was huge. It had an entry, huge bed, large sofa, good sized bathroom with separate shower and bath. There was plenty of room for us to ‘drop’ things without having to find a place where we wouldn’t trip over them. It would be still be spacious with a couple of single beds in the room. The only thing missing was blockout curtains. Our room was pristine atfer being cleaned each day.
Breakfast was included and offered a great variety, including egg chefs and the head chef was out talking to guests most mornings to make sure the guests were happy with their food.
I’ve lost count of the number of resorts I’ve stayed at where the guest grab towels first thing in the morning to stake their claim to the lounges but despite this, and it being peak season, there still seemed to be enough lounges available with a choice of sunny or shaded spots. On a couple of days they were in short supply but by no means were they exhausted. A couple of the lounges were in need of minor repairs and we did see some of them being fixed. The pool area is great and has lovely views of the ocean. The beach was pristine with the occasional person taking a seat on the beach.
We did encounter a couple of blackouts, at least one of which extended along the beach, when power was returned and one of our lights wouldn’t turn off, this was around 11pm. The maintenance person fixed it within a couple of minutes of us reporting it.
We decided to have a massage on the day before we left which is perched above the pool with a commanding view of the beach. The massage was brilliant, and very reasonably priced.
We also hired a vehicle for a couple of days through their tourist desk which offered good value and we had the extra added bonus of being able to park it on site. It’s a great way to see the island at your own pace and at around $30 a day, including insurance offers good value particularly if you consider a one way trip to Chaweng by taxi is around $13AUD fixed price.
What this hotel offers is a relaxed vibe, great location, excellent layout, a beautiful beach, great service and has Lamai’s main drag just out the front of the hotel. The staff are efficient and friendly, it offers true value for money, it’s definitely at the top of my list.
It’s quality 3 ½ star accommodation.

Room Tip: Walk north up the beach, there's lots of restaurants/bars to choose from that are witihin a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was there for my honeymoon and what a wonderful surprise it was. Koh Samui was a last minute addition to our itinerary. Koh Samui is usually a quite/ romantic place in Thailand and is on the Thailand sea side(compared to the more commercial Andaman sea side). Looked up the Aloha, found the pictures beautiful and booked it.

Now the lie. The pictures do not do justice to how beautiful the hotel and its setting is. The resort (more a hotel) is just a few yards off the main road and right on the beach. The room we stayed had a majestic view of the pool and then the sea. The room was very very beautiful and most amenities provided were top class. The hotel staff although friendly, were not that intrusive (which was according to our liking, but some may find them to be lazy). The pool was great as was the private beach. We used to laze for hours on the balcony viewing the sea. The restaurant was a letdown as was the breakfast buffet served.

But all of this negatives were offset by the wonderful two days we had there. There were very few guests the time we visited (any ways the hotel doesn't have many rooms) and so we had the entire hotel/beach to ourselves. In the evening they arranged a beautiful dinner for us with flying candles & all. My wife still swoons on that evening as do i...

Room Tip: Book in advance (especially the peak months) as numbers get sold out easily. Insist on sea facing on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had the family room and found it worked well for us. It had a very large balcony with a great view of the pool, beach and sea. Its got one bath room and one main entrance with 2 bedrooms. The kids(3 & almost 5yrs) had a great time in the pool. Its got 2 smaller pools within the larger pool that are about 2 feet deep. Our 3yr old could stand up in the main pools shallow end. The hotel is positioned right on the beach front with a shower so you can wash sand and sea off before heading back to the pool or to your room. The beach is very nice too, the kids had endless fun playing in the sand. The beach remains lovely even at low tide. I'm told down the other end(where the more expensive places are)the beach is not very nice at low tide. The breakfast had alot of choices cereals,toast,muffins,fruit, cooked to order eggs or omelettes, and usually 4 or 5 other hot choices with tea,coffee and juices etc. You are in asia and they are trying to cook euorpean foods ie pancakes bacon etc using asian ingredients so it doesn't always taste like home. We never had any other meals at the hotel so can't comment any further on hotel food. There is a 7 eleven right across the road which is very handy. We found all the hotel staff very lovely during our stay.Its not the ritz so as long as thats not what your expecting then you should have a great time. We found the local 'bus' (ute with seats on the back)very handy and very cheap. It was about 20 baht to get from hotel to 'mall' which had a small food court and supermarket which was air conditioned. Tip for food court, you need to get a card from lady in booth and load baht onto it then the food places swipe card. At the end you can get back any money left on it. We found this a good place for the kids to have lunch some days as it was air conditioned and they enjoyed the bus ride there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Resort

Address: 128 Lamai Beach | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloha Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Lamai Beach
Aloha Hotel Koh Samui
Aloha Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.