We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what the fuss is about?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grandmother and Grandfather Rocks (Hin Yai & Hin Ta)

Grandmother and Grandfather Rocks (Hin Yai & Hin Ta)
Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Koh Samui Round Island Sightseeing Tour
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Visited the rocks after renting a moped and can honestly say we weren't too sure what the fuss was about. Had to for parking which is a bit unusual in koh samui and when we got to the rocks it was obvious which one was the grandfather rock but we couldn't work out which rock was meant to be the grandmother rock so ended up taking pictures of random rocks in the hope we got the right one and left after a few minutes so not really worth a trip unless you go during sunset maybe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    339
    382
    110
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average place for the standards in Koh samui”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Except for couple of good views, nothing great to say about this place. the only place in Koh samui in our stay period where we paid parking fee :(

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very nice place to sit in the evening. You can just enjoy the sea and the view there. There are shops nearby so you can buy a drink or some souvenirs

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altorf, France
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Zabojad Exploring Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

After a stay in Bangkok a little Tour to Chaweng Garden in Koh Samui and after a wonderful massage on the beach my wonderful Taxi Driver offered me a fantastic ride to explore the island. I did not expect it but this is how I discovered this marvellous famous rocks.
Happy Sharing-Happy Inside

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“More good shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Such a wide variety of local treats including Thai silk - got some wonderful cushion covers, a lovely scarf and some dried fruit. The rocks are… impressive as far as big boulders go. But the stalls are cute and jam packed!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandmother and Grandfather Rocks (Hin Yai & Hin Ta) also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Grandmother and Grandfather Rocks (Hin Yai & Hin Ta)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandmother and Grandfather Rocks (Hin Yai & Hin Ta), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.