We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days Samui Yacht Club - Wendy from Holland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Bay Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Bay Yacht Club to your Saves list
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209/1 Moo 4, Ao Thongtakian | between Chaweng and Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Yacht Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“5 days Samui Yacht Club - Wendy from Holland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed five days in the resort. The location is beautifull, one of the best on the island. The houses are nice, but a lot is wrong. Bathroom wasnt as nice as we saw on the advertisement. There is absolutely no 'outside' garden effect. The plastic roof old and dirty. No warm water and the bathtub was dirty. The staff is very strange! They never say hello when we passed, nor goodbye. It's such a lack of.service. the owner is not motivated at all to make the best of this resort, it reflects on everything on the property. Such a waste! We didnt complain since we understand the Thai people have a hard life, but as a tourist i work hard all year to book a vacation. Hopefully Samui Yacht Club will bring back some spirit on the resort to make the best of it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
38
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The bungalow we stayed in (superior garden) was oke. It was spacious and the beds were good. The bathroom is pretty large aswel, it was not spotlessly clean and it looked kinda outdated. But for us it was more then fine. And then the beach... O my god it was just paradise. The private beach was not crowded at all and it has perfectly clean white powder sand. There were parts were you can't swim because its too rocky but oke. The water is very clear (and warm of course). The restaurant was pretty good.

Not so good was the service. Every time we asked something they said: "Lamai 500 baht taxi". For example when I asked if they had some alcohol and bandages to clean a big cut in my foot. Also keep in mind, the location is secluded so if you want to go to Lamai or Chaweng you have to pay for a taxi (500baht) or hire a scooter.

Room Tip: You can pay extra if you want a bungalow ON the beach. But if I was you I wouldn't pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanggu. China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'll keep this one short, as most of my comments have been covered by other reviewers.

Great Location, beautiful beach, Indifferent staff, Zero service, There seems to be no Management what so ever.

Beautiful pool area, littered with dirty dishes and empty beer bottles that are never picked up from breakfast until after dark.

Food quality at the restaurant could only be described as poor. Breakfast was even worse.

What a shame! With a little attention by some professionals, the place could be magnificent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was glad we stayed five days at Samui Yacht Club over the New Year. If we had only stayed a day or two, this review would be extremely critical. As it is, the place grew on us, but we still have serious concerns before being willing to recommend it.

To set the stage, you need to understand that we arrived at the Samui Yacht Club a couple of days after Christmas in less than ideal condition. We’d had a grueling eight-hour bus ride from Phuket in an old bus with struggling AC where the driver kept stopping and stuffing people on the bus to the point where people were sitting on the aisle floor. Then, we sat in the streets of Sumat Thani for nearly two hours waiting for a van to take us to the ferry. The ferry ride itself was nice enough, but then when we got off the boat we were attacked by taxi drivers demanding insane prices to take us to our hotel.

TIP: When you get off the ferry, don’t even talk to the guys who are there at the landing. Walk past them, and find taxis closer to the street, and negotiate. Better yet, wait until most people have left, and then get one of the leftover taxi drivers, as they’ll be much more likely to offer more reasonable rates.

When we finally arrived at the Samui Yacht Club, it was dark, and to say we were wiped out would be putting it lightly. The hotel staff didn’t offer to help us get our bags from the taxi, and they seemed more bothered to see us than glad. It would have been nice if they’d greeted us with a smile, offered us a drink (at least water!), and given at least the appearance that they were pleased we would be staying with them.

We’d arranged for a superior sea view room, but the room they’d reserved for us didn’t have a sofa, and we needed it for one of our children. This caused a bit of confusion, and so we asked if we could see the rooms. I’d booked this hotel specifically because of the pictures from the website, and we wanted to see if the reality matched the images. They took us to one of the sea view rooms with an extra bed, and when they opened the door, we were immediately disappointed. The room looked like it was designed in the 1980’s, and hadn’t been updated since. It was such a shame, because the bungalow structures are actually quite lovely, and the view to the sea is breathtaking.

The beachfront bungalows cost about 1500 baht a night more, and so we asked if we could see one of those. We were surprised that the décor wasn’t much better than the superior sea view. Finally, the receptionist offered to show us a garden bungalow. When he opened the door and turned on the light, the room was already occupied… by a snake on the bed. A snake!

At that point, if we hadn’t been wiped out, and the hour so late, we would have hit the road. I was amazed that, even after the snake, the hotel didn’t seem the least bit interested in if we stayed or left. I halfway expected them to tell us that a room with a snake would be an extra charge! But we were so tired that we just agreed to take the superior sea view, and we went to settle in for the night.

The seduction started the next morning, when we opened the curtains and saw the view. We had an amazing unobstructed view of Crystal Bay, and I was floored. This is why the hotel stays open, because of location, which is phenomenal.

The hotel is located in one of the more quiet corners of the island, which we liked. The little village of Lamui is a quick ride away (take the trucks where you sit in the back – it’s much cheaper. The taxi drivers of Koh Samui charge way more than anywhere else we’ve visited, but I suppose that’s the free market system at work!). We highly recommend the little night market that comes to Lamui on Sunday nights with inexpensive goods, amazing food, and lots of culture and color.

The day after we met the snake, my wife wanted to go check out the other hotels on Crystal Bay to see if we had any other options. We were very impressed by the Crystal Bay Resort at the other end of the beach. The rooms had fantastic design, and sea view rooms even closer to the sea. The rates seemed to be cheaper, too. If they hadn’t been booked up for the holiday, we would have moved in a heartbeat!

But as I said, the place grew on us, but all because of the location, and a handful of better staff. By the time New Years rolled around, we were pretty happy being at the place, having adjusted to some of the quirkier sides to the Samui Yacht Club (for example, there absolutely no boats to been anywhere near the yacht club). The breakfasts were not the best we’d had in Thailand, but it was fine. The staff worked hard to put on a good New Years celebration, and they were somewhat stymied by the torrential rainfall that threatened to derail the entire evening. However, the food was great, and we enjoyed the entertainment. The midnight fireworks display was spectacular, but that wasn’t so much because of our hotel, but because the entire island erupted at midnight.

Pros:
1. The location, and the view. We were happy to be away from the more active parts of the island, which we could still hear from several kilometers away, bass thumping across the waters directly to our room. I was glad we weren’t closer to all that. And any discomfort with noise was eradicated the moment we woke up and opened the curtains to see the amazing sea view.

2. The landscaping. The hotel had a small army of people working on the grounds each day. The result was an amazing array of flowers all over the place. You could also walk up a small pathway to a point where the entire bay opened up. Again, fantastic setting.

3. The breakfast crew, especially Phung, the young lady who prepared the eggs. She was extremely pleasant and helpful, making French toast for my daughter each morning. They should promote her to the front desk, as she was wonderful, and good with customers.

Cons:
1. The room design. They need to scrap all the old wicker furniture, which is falling apart, get rid of the Miami Vice era curtains and cushions, toss out the orange bed coverings, and burn the cheap and wholly inadequate blankets.

2. Clean the beach! The other hotels worked hard to keep the area in front of their hotel clean of debris, at least at the start of the day. The beach in front of Samui Yacht Club was rarely cleaned. Also, the little sitting areas in front of the beach were extremely neglected, with the wind guards not working, and all kinds of trash all around. Just get one of your staff to go down every couple of hours and pick up trash that washes up! It will make it much more pleasant.

3. The night we checked in, the room’s phone didn’t work. I went to desk to tell them, and they said they’d get it fixed in the morning. The next day, it wasn’t fixed, so I went and told reception again. After that, I gave up, and the phone was never fixed, and there was no apology when we told them as we checked out. This leads me to the next point…

4. Customer service. Location doesn’t mean that tourists are a given, and bad service will keep people from coming back. I realize that the hotel is not five star, but they should go above and beyond to make their clients feel as if they are in a five star. Things like the greeting we received the night we arrived, the lack of concern that customers had seen a snake in a room, the consistent mess on the beach, all give what could be an amazing place a basic feel of shabbiness. Having worked in customer service, I can tell you the importance of making your clients feel special and well taken care of. Samui Yacht Club could improve in this area.

5. Put modern televisions in the room! We travel with a collection of movies for the evenings, and we had to all scrunch around the laptop to watch.

At the end, we were sorry to have to leave, because it meant that we were heading back from God’s paradise to reality. Would I recommend the Samui Yacht Club? I would as long as your expectations for everything except the setting and view are kept low. As other reviewers have commented, the place is three star, and apparently the hotel is fine with staying at that rating. If you go into it with that understanding, you’ll enjoy it just fine. Personally, I think the place has an enormous amount of potential, and I’d love for it to succeed! But to be honest, if we return to Crystal Bay, we’ll probably try for the Crystal Bay Resort next time.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow 601. It’s at the top of a small hill, and has amazing panoramic views. We’d have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is just in the middle of the way from Lamai beach and Chanweng beach. Outside the hotel there is not so much to see or do, so you have to take a taxi for everything or rent a motorbike.

The staff in the reception desk is not specially friendly but they do the work quite well.
The room we got was bigger than expected, with a king size bed plus a single bed. Also there was a desk with a PC with internet connection in the room what is great. There is also wifi signal all over the resort, for free.

The bath is open air, a little bit surprising but nice.

The cleaning staff is quite nice and friendly and they provide fresh towels everyday, no matter what.

All the enviroment from the hotel is very nice and relaxing, specially the small river surrounding all the resort with big fishes.

The swimming pool is big and clean, It has safe places for kids. Unfortunately we noticed they were using a high ammount of chlorine or some other chemical, that made hard to open eyes under the water.

The restaurant is having a nice menu with good food at a reasonable price. The staff was little distracted and as pointed by other reviewers, you have to remind orders or go directly to ask for things as they don't come often to the table.

I attended the countdown party'12 and for my taste it was old fashioned and the menu was not very good.

All an all, I would say there is a lack of interest to keep everything in optimum conditions and they are happy with average.

Anyways, I would stay again here as it was a good relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Just outside the hotel, to the left, there is Il Tempio, italian restaurant where we had excellent h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Silver beach is a small cove with just about 4 hotels around it. The Samui Yacht Club is at the end of the beach with bungalows clustered around the hillside and most look over this beautiful bay.
We did not stay there but merely went for a day out on recommendation.
The sandy beach is very close to Lamai and just 6/7/ mins drive from the bustle of Chaweng, a welcome change. The beach is quiet and clean enough with some shade and the Yacht club has a great pool with sun loungers around and some salas overlooking the beach as well.

We went for the day. The pool was superb and safe for kids and the restaurant had a fairly comprehensive menu albeit very average tasting, (all the Thai food was so sweet) I will go back again for the location but with low expectations of the food. A small price to pay though considering the hotel welcomes outside guests to use their facilities for free. The service was friendly enough but there was no real service to speak of, one had to go to the bar oneself etc, again no big deal, just as a business model they could clean the place up a bit and improve service, but then they would have to charge more etc etc.......... Quite refreshing actually with the advent of so many expensive places around the island now charging 'the earth' for everything.

The sea is very shallow with many small rocks, so take some beach shoes and if you want to snorkel it is perfect for beginners who don't mind walking or crawling out over rocks for the first 20 metres, my daughter and I spent an amazing 2 hours out there.

Room Tip: maybe ask for seaview from the rocks above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morae-mallaig
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here earlier this month for 4 nights and we loved the beautiful setting and quietness of the resort. Our accomodation was five or six steps from the sandy cove. The villa we stayed in was well equiped with a fridge freezer and mini bar, and big enough en-suite with bath and shower. We hired a moped which was only 150 baht per day (£3.00ish) just so we could get out and about round the island. We ate at the hotel the food is fantastic and very reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We would most definately stay here again and will recommend it to our friends and family. Changwe is only 5 mins away (by moped) plenty of shops and restaurants to chose from there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Bay Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Bay Yacht Club

Address: 209/1 Moo 4, Ao Thongtakian | between Chaweng and Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Yacht Club)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Bay Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Bay Yacht Club sits on a small but perfect beach on the Island of Koh Samui in Thailand. The calm warm crystal clear sea, powder soft white sand and beautiful tropical gardens make this location truly special. The resort consists of 43 bungalows all set in over 12,000 square meters of lush tropical gardens. Many species of birds and butterflies can be seen enjoying the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Bay Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Yacht Club Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Yacht Hotel
Crystal Bay Yacht Club Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Bay Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.