We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise but don't have high expectations for sea swimming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 50%
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paradise but don't have high expectations for sea swimming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love the Renaissance chain by Marriott and for those of you that don't know it then a few words, the hotels are small and boutique like, usually inspired by the location.
Our hotel in Koh Samui has lovely suites and villas tucked elegantly within beautiful gardens and a absolutely gorgeous swimming pool over flowing onto the beach.
The beach is beautiful but there is a reef about 150 meters out so the water is just above the ankles until then, in short no swimming here.
Not ideal for kids, very chilled but unless your kids are satisfied by style and beauty with no kiddies room or typical kids activities, then its not for them. Hence you wont find that many children here.
Staff are all very friendly and helpful, in general the Thai people are kind and warm.
Food is ok, prices are very high (350 baht for BLT or Pad Thai) so if you spend a similar amount you can eat "gourmet" on the island, which I have heard is very much available.
We hired a 4X4 (old but does the job) for under 1000 baht, from a guy nearby the hotel. Having freedom to explore the island is very important if you actually want to swim in the sea or taste authentic Thai food.

Room Tip: Go for the garden villas, closer the main pool and beach and tucked elegantly within beautiful garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Caca99,

Warm greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Thank you for staying with us and it is always good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Indeed our sea is very shallow, but his has to do with the season and a very strong tie in Koh Samui. From my point of view it is also a unique experience, because you can see the local visserman looking for mussels and shefls. Pricing compared to the local market is always higher. Marriott is working with approved suppliers and we always guarantee the best quality worldwide. For my point of view is that there should always be a right value for money.

Overall i just wanted to mention that we mainly focus on couples and we are a very romantic resort! there are kids facilities, but as you nitcued not too many! Families are always welcome and my staff is always willing to do a little bit extra to personalize every experience

Be well

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    219
    62
    23
    11
See reviews for
151
439
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The best 'welcome drink' ever: lemongrass ice cream.
Unfortunately reception was not able to deliver the room we booked: 'Chinese New Year'. Without any discussion the problem was solved by offering a downgrade for one night with a perfect spa treatment and an upgrade to a suite for two nights.

The hotel has two faces. It offers private villas towards the beach and a hotel block with standard deluxe rooms on the other site of the road. All rooms are very spacious. The higher the better. For the view and the noise (from the road, from the hotel utilities and your neighbors). The rooms are well furnished. The silk headboards look nice, but get really dirty. The bathtub on the balcony would be a nice idea, but the (older) materials used, make it a bit quirky. Airco is loud. So rooms could do with a bit of an update (and it seems to be on the way).

The Chomview suite on the top floor of the hotel tower is very spacious (111 square meter) and you can open up a lot of windows. The view is stunning, overlooking three bays.

Walking the resort means taking some barriers, quit a few stairs and many doorsteps (even in your room). Not a problem to us and the beautiful garden setting makes up for it.

The lap pool is great for your quite morning swim. Entering the pool area is a bit smelly. They try to mask this with fragrances. Not always successfully. The main resort pool is just great for relaxing with enough beds. Pool guys are friendly, food is great. But a welcome with towel service would be nice (and good for their own business).

We liked the quality of food at the restaurant. Breakfast could improve. Service is great, lovely staff at the the egg station, but they really have to learn to cook eggs in any kind of way. The choice of juices is fine, but getting it from the bottles is uncomfortable (10 years ago it was innovative at the Six Senses where it was well executed). With some minor rearrangements this place will be top. In the evening there are some great dining offers for high quality food and wine. Why do I have to pay my water or soft drink when I do not use alcohol? A bit more flexible please. Yo still want to eat outside? Like everywhere in Thailand, a cheap eating option is always next door.

We like the diversity of the staff hired. It's remarkable, it's progressive, it's almost like the W without the arrogance.

Best thing is the value for money. The Banyan Tree next door looks better, but you will pay seven times the room rate. And in which resort would you find a soft drink under 100 Bath, tax included? No this is not the InterContinental. But it offers five stars at 4 star prices.

Guys, keep up the good work and attractive rates and implement some easy improvements.
Just a pity the postcards we left at reception never made it to Europe (but who is to blame?).

Room Tip: Spend some more money and book at least a deluxe room sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear KeesE,

Thank you for you response on Tripadvisor and your valuable feedack!

we always have a lot of focus on the arrival and on a hot Island it is the ideal welcome to get some lemon grass or mango ice cream! Our resort is very spread out which makes our resort unique by its tropical garden.

At the moment we still have a look of focus on t he breakfast because this is the start of the day! the bottles in the morning have a certain reason to keep it nice a chilled in smaller amounts. I was not aware of Six Senses, but thanks for sharing this!

I agree with the flexibility of soft drinks and water, but the best deal in on wine and therefore we make the promotion.

Hopefully we have to chance to welcome you back in our resort

Be well

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really love the hotel, great location for honeymooners. We love everything in this hotel but we have trouble understanding the accent/talking of the staff. But the rest recommendable for everyone who love to stay in calm area. Guest need to have rent a car if willing to explore the island. Hotel car bit expensive and taxi overpriced.

Room Tip: Higher floor have less frog noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear MayBlom,

Greetings from a sunny Samui!
Great to hear you enjoyed our resort as a couple. Just to inform you that language is always a challenge in another coutnry! we have weekly English classes in place to improve the level of English and we are going into the right direction!

Taxi in Samui are very expensive due to fixed prices, but we still have two free shuttles available every day! which are vry easy use and is complimentary for our guests!

Be well

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I did not want to leave after staying for three nights at the end of a 10 night Thailand visit. As soon as we entered the room we felt more relaxed and comfortable than we had so far on the trip. We spent lots of time lounging by our private pool, which was lovely. The gardens are truly beautiful, and despite being quite a large resort it is very quiet. We ate at all three restaurants and enjoyed them all, however TawaNN was by far the best. The buffet breakfast was quite good compared to some others we've had; although the pastry and bread section seemed to have a lot of flies hanging about so I'd suggest popping some covers over that food ( the hot food is all covered). Other comments would be that the rooms need some airing out, particularly the library. I can see some of the fixtures and fittings in the room have been updated recently, I think the tiles in the toilet and shower should be next. The furnishings ate lovely and the layout good. I absolutely loved the long elegant curtains. Service was good. We would stay again it was enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear 22Anon22

Thank you for great feedback! At the moment we are in the process of slowly renovation all the different areas! Villas have been done, now the hotel rooms and the restaurants are the next step! Hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Be well,

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was my 3rd time in this hotel in this Feb. Without doubt, I enjoyed my stay there. I liked the pools, one of which is long and quite while the other one is good for enjoying sunshine. Rooms / villas are nicely decorated. I had the BBQ at the beach this time and was of great fun. I also like the beach and you may play canoe. Restaurants are not too attractive in terms of choices and quality, but there are plenty of choices around the hotel. What's a bit disappointed me this time is little surprises I found...there has been not much changes in services/ facilities/decorations/ food over the last few years. What disappointed me more, however, is that they seems don't my records of previous stays.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After riding a bycycle from Bangkok to Khao Lak I was looking for a resort where I could relax and recuperate. Wow when I arrived at the resort with my wife we were both blown away. The place is fantastic and we had an amazing 7 nights thare. We loved the pool villa garden view room and the plunge pool. All the staff, restaurants, spa, pool and the beach were all great. We will definatelly go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I went there for business trip in November 2012 and stayed in the hotel for 4 days. It was excellent. Nice environment, spacious room / villa, tasty deco, big swimming pool and sandy beach. Value for money. Staff were helpful, the GM even came to greet every customers during the breakfast in the cafe. No matter for business or leisure, it is a place to stay in Koh Samui. The only down side is the location, it is far away from the main road, and it is in the middle of Chaweng and Lamai, so no matter where you go, you cannot walk, must take taxi (which is expensive). The "tuk tuk" seldomly enter the hotel property without a customer.

Room Tip: must book the villa, no point to book a deluxe room in this hotel, big difference !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.