We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a really lovely stay here. Incredibly relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 50%
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Had a really lovely stay here. Incredibly relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My partner and I did not want to leave after staying for three nights at the end of a 10 night Thailand visit. As soon as we entered the room we felt more relaxed and comfortable than we had so far on the trip. We spent lots of time lounging by our private pool, which was lovely. The gardens are truly beautiful, and despite being quite a large resort it is very quiet. We ate at all three restaurants and enjoyed them all, however TawaNN was by far the best. The buffet breakfast was quite good compared to some others we've had; although the pastry and bread section seemed to have a lot of flies hanging about so I'd suggest popping some covers over that food ( the hot food is all covered). Other comments would be that the rooms need some airing out, particularly the library. I can see some of the fixtures and fittings in the room have been updated recently, I think the tiles in the toilet and shower should be next. The furnishings ate lovely and the layout good. I absolutely loved the long elegant curtains. Service was good. We would stay again it was enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear 22Anon22

Thank you for great feedback! At the moment we are in the process of slowly renovation all the different areas! Villas have been done, now the hotel rooms and the restaurants are the next step! Hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Be well,

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    206
    58
    22
    11
See reviews for
142
404
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was my 3rd time in this hotel in this Feb. Without doubt, I enjoyed my stay there. I liked the pools, one of which is long and quite while the other one is good for enjoying sunshine. Rooms / villas are nicely decorated. I had the BBQ at the beach this time and was of great fun. I also like the beach and you may play canoe. Restaurants are not too attractive in terms of choices and quality, but there are plenty of choices around the hotel. What's a bit disappointed me this time is little surprises I found...there has been not much changes in services/ facilities/decorations/ food over the last few years. What disappointed me more, however, is that they seems don't my records of previous stays.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

After riding a bycycle from Bangkok to Khao Lak I was looking for a resort where I could relax and recuperate. Wow when I arrived at the resort with my wife we were both blown away. The place is fantastic and we had an amazing 7 nights thare. We loved the pool villa garden view room and the plunge pool. All the staff, restaurants, spa, pool and the beach were all great. We will definatelly go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I went there for business trip in November 2012 and stayed in the hotel for 4 days. It was excellent. Nice environment, spacious room / villa, tasty deco, big swimming pool and sandy beach. Value for money. Staff were helpful, the GM even came to greet every customers during the breakfast in the cafe. No matter for business or leisure, it is a place to stay in Koh Samui. The only down side is the location, it is far away from the main road, and it is in the middle of Chaweng and Lamai, so no matter where you go, you cannot walk, must take taxi (which is expensive). The "tuk tuk" seldomly enter the hotel property without a customer.

Room Tip: must book the villa, no point to book a deluxe room in this hotel, big difference !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed for 3 nights there and we had such a relaxing time there. We stayed at garden villa with small private pool and it was so nice. They always put a beautiful flower before bedding time. We had tapas and Thai foods there because of Thai BBQ night with friendly waiters. And nice private beach and pool. Check in was also nice with their original mango and lemon ice creams. We had such a great time there except for two things. One was the toilet flush was not efficient and the other was was my fault as I forgot to take back my credit card when we checked out :_( But the overall experience was so good we have already decided to come back to Koh Samui island next year and stay longer. Thank you so much for giving us a wonderful experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Hidejuki,

Warm greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa,

Thank you for sharing your experience for your stay and it is nice to hear that you enjoyed our fanily style culture in the hotel. Our Garden Pool Villa's are always very populair which give you the ultimate feeling of a private holiday.

Be well and hopefully we can welcome you back again in the Renaissance Koh Samui

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A nice secluded location with great views, capable and caring staff, nice facilities, and comfortable accommodations. Nice beachside pool with different events planned throughout the week such as special dinners, holiday themes, etc. we were there for Chinese New Year and enjoyed the special dinner buffet on the beach along with the dragon dance and the fire show. Would definitely return again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the sea view room. They all have a nice balcony with great views of the property and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Mike D,

It was great to have you as our guest in the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa.

Overall i also think that the Chinese NY Beach event was a succes with all the entertaiment and the food selection. Thank you for your comments and will definately share this with the team in all areas.

Please let me know if you are planning to come back to Koh SamuI!

Be well

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Didier is a very hands on Manager - not afraid to get in and assist his staff, always checking we were enjoying the stay. Staff very welcoming and villas have beautiful views over ocean so are worth upgrading to. Memorable nights eg Valentines dinner on beach and movie night on the beach. Breakfasts good however no mushrooms. Beach was so beautiful we didn't get in to hotel pools.

Tawann Restaurant serves fabulous food however staff did not understand some requests and we could have polished off another three drinks each if staff had kept more of an eye on beverages.

Free kayaks and it was definitely worth getting out for exercise and great views daily.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Harley C,

Warm greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samu Resort & Spa and thank you for staying with us!

Always good to get some feedback and I will assure you that we will work on these points. During breakfast we work with a food rotation schedule which give the guests every morning a different experience with food, however everything is possible upon request.

Regaridng the level of English I would like to inform you that we just started to have English lessons for our ambassadors again which will help the communication a lot.

Dear Harley C all the best and please let me know if you ar ever planning to come back to Koh Samui and ofcourse the Renaissance.

Be well,

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.