We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 50%
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was my 3rd time in this hotel in this Feb. Without doubt, I enjoyed my stay there. I liked the pools, one of which is long and quite while the other one is good for enjoying sunshine. Rooms / villas are nicely decorated. I had the BBQ at the beach this time and was of great fun. I also like the beach and you may play canoe. Restaurants are not too attractive in terms of choices and quality, but there are plenty of choices around the hotel. What's a bit disappointed me this time is little surprises I found...there has been not much changes in services/ facilities/decorations/ food over the last few years. What disappointed me more, however, is that they seems don't my records of previous stays.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After riding a bycycle from Bangkok to Khao Lak I was looking for a resort where I could relax and recuperate. Wow when I arrived at the resort with my wife we were both blown away. The place is fantastic and we had an amazing 7 nights thare. We loved the pool villa garden view room and the plunge pool. All the staff, restaurants, spa, pool and the beach were all great. We will definatelly go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragan1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I went there for business trip in November 2012 and stayed in the hotel for 4 days. It was excellent. Nice environment, spacious room / villa, tasty deco, big swimming pool and sandy beach. Value for money. Staff were helpful, the GM even came to greet every customers during the breakfast in the cafe. No matter for business or leisure, it is a place to stay in Koh Samui. The only down side is the location, it is far away from the main road, and it is in the middle of Chaweng and Lamai, so no matter where you go, you cannot walk, must take taxi (which is expensive). The "tuk tuk" seldomly enter the hotel property without a customer.

Room Tip: must book the villa, no point to book a deluxe room in this hotel, big difference !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DG2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed for 3 nights there and we had such a relaxing time there. We stayed at garden villa with small private pool and it was so nice. They always put a beautiful flower before bedding time. We had tapas and Thai foods there because of Thai BBQ night with friendly waiters. And nice private beach and pool. Check in was also nice with their original mango and lemon ice creams. We had such a great time there except for two things. One was the toilet flush was not efficient and the other was was my fault as I forgot to take back my credit card when we checked out :_( But the overall experience was so good we have already decided to come back to Koh Samui island next year and stay longer. Thank you so much for giving us a wonderful experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hideyuki Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Hidejuki,

Warm greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa,

Thank you for sharing your experience for your stay and it is nice to hear that you enjoyed our fanily style culture in the hotel. Our Garden Pool Villa's are always very populair which give you the ultimate feeling of a private holiday.

Be well and hopefully we can welcome you back again in the Renaissance Koh Samui

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A nice secluded location with great views, capable and caring staff, nice facilities, and comfortable accommodations. Nice beachside pool with different events planned throughout the week such as special dinners, holiday themes, etc. we were there for Chinese New Year and enjoyed the special dinner buffet on the beach along with the dragon dance and the fire show. Would definitely return again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the sea view room. They all have a nice balcony with great views of the property and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Didier is a very hands on Manager - not afraid to get in and assist his staff, always checking we were enjoying the stay. Staff very welcoming and villas have beautiful views over ocean so are worth upgrading to. Memorable nights eg Valentines dinner on beach and movie night on the beach. Breakfasts good however no mushrooms. Beach was so beautiful we didn't get in to hotel pools.

Tawann Restaurant serves fabulous food however staff did not understand some requests and we could have polished off another three drinks each if staff had kept more of an eye on beverages.

Free kayaks and it was definitely worth getting out for exercise and great views daily.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not sure how anyone could not enjoy staying at this resort.We enjoyed our 25th wedding anniversary staying here in a beautiful and cleverly secluded garden villa.Incredible service from the management to the cleaners. Set on an idyllic tropical bay in a lush botanic garden setting.Loved both swimming pools. Plenty of sun lounges and towels. Lots of shade or sunshine depending on your preference.
The food was excellent and their cocktails, many complimentary, were a lot of fun. Left feeling twenty years younger!

Room Tip: Garden villas are roomy and secluded. Splash pools are refreshing and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Karen F,

Thank you for leaving a comment on tripadvisor and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Again Happy 25th year Anniversary and please let me know if you are ever planning to come back to Samui.

I will be here to personally welcome you back in our hotel

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
5.0 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 52 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#1 of 183 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
12.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing