We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 50%
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Total Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and the manager kindly upgraded us to a beach villa with breakfast included. The villa was out of this world and the view was amazing. The staff at the Rennaisance were so friendly and couldnt do enough for you. They always took time to speak to you. They were all a credit to The Rennaisance hotel.

We will definately be back to Koh Sumui and I would have no hesitation in staying in The Rennaisance Hotel. Thank you once again - to the Manager and his staff for making my holiday special.

Room Tip: worth upgrading to the garden or beachfront villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    206
    58
    22
    11
See reviews for
142
404
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Renaissance is a wonderful property, with a very nice swimming pool facing the beach. The staff is extremely friendly and helped me organized my day trips on the island.
The food at the restaurant was perfect
Fantastic stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Visiting here on my Honeymoon and my new bride and I have been sorely disappointed from the moment we arrived - even before. Trying to contact the hotel before our trip to add some special touches for the honeymoon was impossible - I finally had to get Marriott corporate involved just to get a response to my emails. We paid 900 baht to have the "hotel limo - it actually says hotel limo on their website- pick us up at the airport - and were surprised to be greeted by a mini-van bus instead - but we were still charged the 900 of course.

Our room was infested with bugs upon check-in, spiders got all into our luggage our first day, and all they did was give us a key to a room down the hall. No offers to "make it right" buy us dinner or even launder our clothes for us.

They seemed short staffed for such a busy time of year - Thai New Year and High Season/Full Moon Party, it takes forever to get a drink at the pool - they have only 1 waiter for the entire area - and the food has been lousy. We ordered breakfast in bed this morning and received only 1 set of silverware and did not get everything we ordered because they forgot it or it was unavailable (even though it was on the menu). When we called down to complain we got attitude on the phone and from the server who brought the extra silver ware.

Overall, you can do better. You pay Western prices - drinks are 10 USD at the pool bar, when everywhere else in Thailand you can eat and drink cheap. Massages at the hotel cost 10 times what they cost across the street $100 USD vs. $10USD.....big picture is that you are wasting your money on a sub-par experience staying here. There are a lot of cute bungalows on Koh Samui that will treat you better and offer a better value/experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed in February for four nights in a Beach Villa with private pool which had a nice ocean view and easy access to a small more secluded part of the hotel beach. The water is shallow which makes the beach at the Renaissance suitable for small children, hardly any waves. The staff love children (we travelled with our 1 year old son). The food is good, we hardly ate outside as there was always some interesting promotion and good value for money. In the evening we could use the babyphon while eating at any of the three restaurants when he was sleeping. The resort is a bit apart from the hustle and bustle of Lamai which makes it quiet but it's still easy and fast to get to Lamai. What I did not like much about the hotel is that for the price we paid for the villa I expected a separate in-villa check in and a separate breakfast. However we had to queue for check in and the breakfast was the same for everybody. If you pay Business Class for a flight you check in Business Class, you sit and eat Business Class. In my opinion it should be the same with expensive accomodation in hotels (at least the check in part). This hotel does not seem to agree with that. Pity.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed at Renaissance for 4 days and had a fantastic time.
The resort must have the most friendly and helpful staff and they really knew how to make us feel welcome. We stayed in one of the villa which was well designed and very private.
The location of the resort is slghtly remote which makes it a quiet destination however having the city center 10 minutes away.
Special thanks to the pool bar team who really did a great job. We especially loved the refreshment passaround and the the bar does the best cocktails during happy hour! We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Spacious resort on a secluded bay but not isolated as the bustling town of Lamai is ten minutes away by hotel bus. Great food and two restaurants and a tapas bar. One has panaramic views of the bay and the lights of Lamai. Good promotions on food and booze and a visible international management that leads a staff that is desperate to please, A wonderfully relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Great service and friendly staff eager to please. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Stayed 4 days. Nice pool & private secluded beach area. If you are looking for great waves... not the place as there is a reef which keeps the big waves from coming in. Very tranquil and scenic spot. Booked garden room with reward points and free upgrade to ocean view room on arrival. Rooms nicely appointed with amenities. Jacuzzi tub on outside deck which was bonus. Roll down service in evening. Everything you expect from Marriott. Pool bar food & drinks a bit pricey but pool staff very friendly and attentive. Banana Leaf good for dinner too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.