We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Laguna Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Samui Laguna Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124/103 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Samui Laguna Resort is located right on the beach and about 25 Km from Nathon Pier, where most ferries arrive. It's located on the beautiful Lamai Beach. The beach is very nice with a family and couples atmosphere ( not many young and drunk annoying people).
Hotel staff were very friendly to us. Our bungalow was cleaned daily. Wifi works everywhere, including when I was lying on the sand, good signal and good bandwidth.
I found the room very clean and comfortable. The king bed in the bungalows is amazing.
The restaurant is on the beach and has very good food and drinks but a little expensive compared to other options right on the same beach.
Last thing to have in mind, the sand in all Lamai Beach is pretty coarse and thus not very nice to walk on barefoot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your supportive review. We will ensure that we will keep up with our facilities and services. Any further suggestions, please kindly e-mail to us directly at Info@samuilaguna.com. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    59
    25
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
54
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We enjoyed three lovely weeks at this hotel. We had a bungalow which was between the hotel main building and the beach an ideal position. Bungalow was very clean and serviced daily to a decent standard. Beds were comfortable and tea and coffee supplied daily the staff were very friendly and even when language was a problem they managed to meet our requests and always with a smile. From the first contact by email which Janya handled with excellent English to the two beach boys who adjusted our chairs and umbrella nothing was too much trouble. We were unable to keep our room for a late check out but were given another room to shower in and provided with clean towels. Breakfast in the lovely beachfront restaurant was a delight each morning with a good selection of food available. We attended a gala night dinner and enjoyed a really good steak meal whilst watching local entertainment. This was not a five star hotel but we did not book a five star, what we got was excellent value and much better than we expected. This holiday was to celebrate my husbands 80th birthday and we hope to return next year for our special wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you for your kind review and your kind compliment to our resort and our staffs. We promise to keep up with our facilities and services. We hope to seeing you again next year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

It's 10 years since we were last on Koh Samui, and whilst it has retained much of it's charm, we notice that most of the accommodation is now either very basic or else top-end. We stayed here for just over £30 a night, and the room was OK, with all that was necessary, though it was all a bit tired. Having looked around the area, we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front had better wifi reception, and although they're by the main road, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you enjoy your stay with us. Hope to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Basic rooms but guess you get what you pay for. Short walk to the beach pool area has limited beds and it clean and tidy. Staff very helpful. Close to all the main action. There is some building working going on in this hotel but they wasn't working when we where staying early January.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope you have a pleasant stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Samui Laguna Resort, Koh Samui, Thailand

arrival December 4 to December 11, 2013

the brochure published by the resort looks much more inviting than the actual property we saw. We also met a couple from Belgium , who felt the same way. Misrepresentation is the "key word" here. This property needs some capital expenditures to bring it up to snuff. It is located on the northern end of the famous " Lamai Beach " which is 5 km long, here you can take long beach walks and if you like to watch sunrises this is the place to watch them. Lamai Beach is situated in a beautiful bay and has plenty of turquoise water to swim in. We were accommodated in Room A 109 which is one of their better accommodations and is a large room, looking out to a Lagoon. We received a warm welcome by the staff. Receptionist " Eng " was very accommodating and pleasant. The furniture of the room needs updating and shows it's age, however the TV has a flat screen,and the refrigerator and AC work just great. the linen for the bed were grayish in color, same were the towels in the bathroom, all towels we received during our stay were torn on the side and some even had holes, the linen was NOT white at all in appearance. The linen used for the bed was too small to cover the mattress , therefore two smaller sheets were used to fit the King size bed, the same applies to the blankets. Our maid " Jeeb "always had a big SMILE on her face and did the best she could. The plastic chairs used at the beach for sun bathing are outdated as well and are in need of a good cleaning, most of them have black stains. To adjust the back panel, you will have a heck of a time to do so, the settings just don't fit right anymore, because these chairs have seen their best days. The wooden Beach Lounges need to be replaced as well as the plastic lounge mats. ( see pictures ). The best this resort has to offer is the direct Ocean View from the " Sunshine Restaurant " . For Breakfast you have a nice Western / Asian selection of food items , there is enough to eat. The place setting on the dining room tables just did not look appetizing to us, the straw place-mats did not look clean to us either and I wonder if you would send them to a laboratory for analysis of bacteria what kind of results would come back. The staff in the dining room are very pleasant and accommodating no doubt about it. Waitress Nudee or waiter Ngal were terrific. The massages were great, but right next to the open massage center, was a collection of garbage ( see picture ) which was never cleaned during our 7 nights stay. The BEACH was cleaned promptly each morning at 6:00 AM. If you want to have a shirt or suit custom made while you are there, visit the in-house Tailer from Bangladesh " Jam Uddin, of Samui Dress Style. He is very pleasant to do business with and he made me two " Cabana Suits " while I visited and I am most pleased with his work.
If you consider " Lamai Beach" there are better options, such as  Aloha Resort, Coconut Beach, Weekender Resort,  Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort and a little further north from Lamai Beach is the " Meridian" , these establishments by far are much better accommodation choices .

Room Tip: see my report
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you for your kind reviews. We do apologize for inconvenient issues that may occur to you during your stay. Your kind comments are very useful to us and we will ensure to improve our facilities. We hope to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel! The staff was very friendly, good location, nice rooms with clean bathroom. It was not the best hotel I have ever been in, but it was totaly enough for me. We had a really good time there!

Room Tip: Very nice bungalows, more private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your kind compliments are the great support to us. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderfull hotel in a green location with exotic trees and flowers, full of summer breeze and very clean rooms.. Our room was very traditional with shells and bamboo furniture.. We have enjoyed the pool and the food in hotels restaurant was delicious especially the fried ice cream was a sweet surprise for us! The sand was very close to our hotel and after a little walk into the tropical garden through the bungalow-rooms, we can easy enjoy our day by the sea! Finally, the reception was very kind and helpfull! Definitely,I recomended this hotel to all of you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your compliments are the great support to us and we hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Laguna Resort

Address: 124/103 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Laguna Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Samui Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.