We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Hotel Brochure portraits the resort in a much more positive way....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Laguna Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Samui Laguna Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124/103 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“the Hotel Brochure portraits the resort in a much more positive way....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Samui Laguna Resort, Koh Samui, Thailand

arrival December 4 to December 11, 2013

the brochure published by the resort looks much more inviting than the actual property we saw. We also met a couple from Belgium , who felt the same way. Misrepresentation is the "key word" here. This property needs some capital expenditures to bring it up to snuff. It is located on the northern end of the famous " Lamai Beach " which is 5 km long, here you can take long beach walks and if you like to watch sunrises this is the place to watch them. Lamai Beach is situated in a beautiful bay and has plenty of turquoise water to swim in. We were accommodated in Room A 109 which is one of their better accommodations and is a large room, looking out to a Lagoon. We received a warm welcome by the staff. Receptionist " Eng " was very accommodating and pleasant. The furniture of the room needs updating and shows it's age, however the TV has a flat screen,and the refrigerator and AC work just great. the linen for the bed were grayish in color, same were the towels in the bathroom, all towels we received during our stay were torn on the side and some even had holes, the linen was NOT white at all in appearance. The linen used for the bed was too small to cover the mattress , therefore two smaller sheets were used to fit the King size bed, the same applies to the blankets. Our maid " Jeeb "always had a big SMILE on her face and did the best she could. The plastic chairs used at the beach for sun bathing are outdated as well and are in need of a good cleaning, most of them have black stains. To adjust the back panel, you will have a heck of a time to do so, the settings just don't fit right anymore, because these chairs have seen their best days. The wooden Beach Lounges need to be replaced as well as the plastic lounge mats. ( see pictures ). The best this resort has to offer is the direct Ocean View from the " Sunshine Restaurant " . For Breakfast you have a nice Western / Asian selection of food items , there is enough to eat. The place setting on the dining room tables just did not look appetizing to us, the straw place-mats did not look clean to us either and I wonder if you would send them to a laboratory for analysis of bacteria what kind of results would come back. The staff in the dining room are very pleasant and accommodating no doubt about it. Waitress Nudee or waiter Ngal were terrific. The massages were great, but right next to the open massage center, was a collection of garbage ( see picture ) which was never cleaned during our 7 nights stay. The BEACH was cleaned promptly each morning at 6:00 AM. If you want to have a shirt or suit custom made while you are there, visit the in-house Tailer from Bangladesh " Jam Uddin, of Samui Dress Style. He is very pleasant to do business with and he made me two " Cabana Suits " while I visited and I am most pleased with his work.
If you consider " Lamai Beach" there are better options, such as  Aloha Resort, Coconut Beach, Weekender Resort,  Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort and a little further north from Lamai Beach is the " Meridian" , these establishments by far are much better accommodation choices .

Room Tip: see my report
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you for your kind reviews. We do apologize for inconvenient issues that may occur to you during your stay. Your kind comments are very useful to us and we will ensure to improve our facilities. We hope to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    59
    25
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
54
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel! The staff was very friendly, good location, nice rooms with clean bathroom. It was not the best hotel I have ever been in, but it was totaly enough for me. We had a really good time there!

Room Tip: Very nice bungalows, more private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your kind compliments are the great support to us. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderfull hotel in a green location with exotic trees and flowers, full of summer breeze and very clean rooms.. Our room was very traditional with shells and bamboo furniture.. We have enjoyed the pool and the food in hotels restaurant was delicious especially the fried ice cream was a sweet surprise for us! The sand was very close to our hotel and after a little walk into the tropical garden through the bungalow-rooms, we can easy enjoy our day by the sea! Finally, the reception was very kind and helpfull! Definitely,I recomended this hotel to all of you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your compliments are the great support to us and we hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ok ok, I know there are rats all over the world. But to have one scurryng around your hotel room for 3 nights was a little odd. On the 3rd night I managed to turn the light on in time, after being woken by the usual noises, and there he was (I'll call him, he) - medium sized and dark grey. I told the boy at reception the next morning as we checked out. He relied ÿes." So I asked, "do you understand what I mean?" Again, ÿes." Apart from that, the room was OK. The food is OK but very over priced. The room is very overpriced and pool too hot to use.

Room Tip: MMmmm maybe on Koh Phangan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind review. We do apologize for the inconvenience issue that occurred to you. We will ensure to improve our facilities and services to meet your expectation. We hope to have a chance to serving you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice hotel with private beach, swimming pool. It is well located, close to center with shops, markets. You have lots of choices for eating. I particularly liked "Yum Yum" just after the bridge, the lady makes excellent curries, beautifully presented.
The personnel of Laguna do their best. I found the shower quite weak. They sent a technician to adjust. Rooms are not new, but comfortable. Some russians stayed quite late talking on their balcony. I suppose the bungalows give better privacy.
I enjoyed staying there for 6 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

I hope this e-mail finds you well. Thank you for your time for the kind review. Your compliments are the great support to us and we hope to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights and can't complain about anything. The hotel is on the beach which is lovely to look out over the sea while having breakfast, a drink or massage.
There was 9 of us staying in the bungalows which were nice although a little dated but were clean and we had everything we needed, beach towels, complimentary water etc
Girl at the tour desk organised our transport to the pier on our final day and was so friendly always waving and smiling. To be honest the other reception staff should be more like her as they were less friendly.
Breakfast was nice with fresh omelette/egg made to order.
The shower and air con were not the best but the money you pay for the hotel reflects this.
I thought the hotel was very reasonably priced and I would definitely stay again:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you for your time for the kind review. Your compliments are the great support to us and we will keep up with our facilities and services. We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights and we really enjoyed the resort. We didn't book ahead and being the low season we were able to negotiate 1700 baht per night for a bungalow including daily breakfast. There is a lot of construction around the standard hotel rooms, so at times can be noisy. The location is excellent in Lamai, there are alot of restaurant, shops and legit massage places within walking distance. The beach is fabulous and the pool basic but lovely. Happy hour at the beachfront bar/restaurant is from 12pm to 7pm :) This is a good choice for couples and families.

Room Tip: 307 is halfway between beach / restaurant and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingI_12, Owner at Samui Laguna Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Samui Laguna Resort.

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you were enjoying your stay in our resort. We do apologize for the inconvenience issue from our renovation. We are improving our facilities up to the standard :). We hope to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Laguna Resort

Address: 124/103 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Laguna Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Samui Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.