We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but it's not what I would call a true "resort"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Sense Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Samui Sense Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Sense Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124/61 Moo 3 Maret Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Lamai Beach
Adelaide SA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great potential but it's not what I would call a true "resort"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at Samui Sense in October/November after reading the reviews, and although we enjoyed our stay, we do in the main agree that this hotel does have potential, but unfortunately it appears that owners have let the place run down to a certain degree. First off, calling itself a “resort” is not really true – it is a hotel first and foremost. What I mean by this, is you don’t have pool staff, there is no-one to help put up the really heavy umbrellas (half of which were broken anyway), reception staff were not always in attendance, no service around the pool etc. etc. You take your own bags to your room (and the reverse). Although the garden was quite attractive, it certainly needed some work. The grass at the front and the back of the resort was really long and needed cutting, and although I did see a young boy in the garden, he seemed to spend a few hours collecting 5 or 6 large leaves. The fish pond was nice with the little bridge.

We were a bit taken aback by check-in – a rather brusque man checked us in with barely an acknowledgement (perhaps he was afraid to converse because of the language barrier), but we did receive a cold towel and drink from a young girl who then took us to our room. Rather strangely (never encountered this before) she had a check-list with her, and itemized all the things in the room – 2 pairs slippers, 2 gowns, jewellery box, tissue box, umbrellas, etc. etc. and ticked it all off. I was really hoping she didn’t start on one pillow, 1 sheet, 2 chairs… Bit odd, guess they’ve had some petty pilfering!

Have to say, it appeared that the night staff/afternoon staff seemed much friendlier and also appeared to have much better English, so that could be the time for any requests.

The Room itself:
We had booked the one bedroom suite via their web-site on special (about $117 Aus). There was a nice living room, with a mini-kitchenette with sink (but nothing else in it), and leading off the front of this was a really very large balcony with 2 loungers and a big umbrella. If you looked to your right, you had a glimpse of the sea, but otherwise, just overlooked the garden pathway. So pleased we had booked for the 1st floor, as the ground floor ones looked really dark, with everyone walking past your room. Then off this room you walked into a small dressing room, and then into a bathroom. A step up from the little dressing area led into the good sized bedroom. However, we were mortified to see a mattress on the floor – hubby had a hip replacement this year, and we are a senior couple, so trying to scrabble up off the floor was a bit mind blowing. We somehow managed to convey our dismay, and as the bed was so very hard, had asked if they had a softener – and presto, next day, we actually had another mattress put on top of the one on the floor, so this was much more acceptable (still a little hard for me, but better).

The room was very clean, and nicely equipped. The furniture was obviously good quality and Thai style, so it’s not sort of a “flop on comfortable couch”, but a bench wooden seat with padding and some pillows and 2 other “sit upright” chairs. Reasonably good lighting for an asian hotel too! Lots of nice little touches, and the air conditioning was pretty superb – we usually had to turn one of them off to sleep, as it was so efficient. The shower was over the bath (again, we’re pretty agile but needed to beware of slipping). Fantastic shower temperature wise and pressure wise. Although not huge it was a very adequate bathroom. TV channels were a bit ordinary but we don’t watch much anyway. The cleaning and service ladies were very friendly and did a great job (although here again, not much English) I did, however, manage to convey that they needed to leave more toilet paper, a problem which happens all too often.

The pool and surrounds:
The pool was quite nice, but the pool area itself could be made so much better. Those huge heavy wooden loungers cannot be moved and take up so much room. It was so hot and humid with full sun, and there was just nowhere you could sit around the pool as you needed shade. We tried putting up umbrellas but they were broken, and did not seem to shade enough anyway. We came from another resort in Choeng Mon Beach where we sat around the pool all the time and it was great, so we really missed being able to do that here. Just past the pool area, there are tiled steps which lead you through the restaurant (there’s no other way) down to the beach. The beach and water were great, but again, we were disappointed to find maybe only 2 or 3 sun loungers with very tiny umbrella set up, and the same couple got this every day. I know it was off season, but it was very annoying. There were a few tables and chair set on the sand closer to the restaurant, but it would have been nice to have had a lounger. On about the 6th day of our 8 day stay, they did have a few more out, so I did get to sit there for a bit in the afternoon when it was a little shady – this was about 5 p.m. so went to sit down after my swim and 2 young lads simply took the loungers and umbrella almost from under me to put them away! Absolutely bizarre!! Certainly the picture depicted on their web-site is no-where near the mark. We did enjoy swimming in the sea, and I thought Lamai beach was stunning (but it does seem a lot of people complain about the sand, but IMO it was fantastic – very wide beach, with lots going on and lots to see.

The restaurant:
We ate here one night, and it was a lovely meal, but really quite expensive. It does have a nice ambience but there are so many great restaurants in Lamai, so they’re up against it, but their prices are too high. Likewise, the drinks too expensive (apart from their 1 pm to 8 pm cocktails for 100B which were some of the best cocktails I have ever tasted!) The breakfast was not a buffet breakfast, (off-season I guess), but merely a menu with American Breakfast, English Breakfast, or you could just have croissant, toast and pancakes and some fruit. Pretty boring, and we got very sick of this every day to be honest and just had some toast. I so wish we had excluded breakfast really. Here again, there is a language barrier with staff – one little girl was quite stroppy actually!

So all in all, we were happy with the room and some aspects of the “hotel”, but I’m not sure of the 4 star status. The other superior rooms appeared quite small and dark, and the so-called Villas down the other side of the main building were in complete and utter darkness – it would be like living in a dungeon, and we did hear people complaining about that and the dankness and a smell, which we didn’t encounter. Likewise the pool villas – goodness, they looked shabby on the outside but after peering into the rooms, they didn’t look too bad. No privacy here though, and it would be awful if you had noisy people around the pool. Only 1 sun lounger on your little patio and 2 very shabby chairs, and it’s the main walkway to the beach, so you would have a lot of foot traffic (and not just from the resort either).
We did look at quite a few other places along the beach, and in the end, decided that all in all, we had done quite well for ourselves. Koh Samui accommodation is expensive for what you get, so this hotel did really grow on us. With ironing out a few problems and a bit of upgrading, it could be quite special.

Room Tip: The first floor junior suite was great, but rooms on the other side appeared to have no balcony. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
53
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in March and have no complaints. We were met at the Airport by the driver who took us to the hotel in a modern and more importantly air conditioned people carrier and when we arrived at the hotel we were made welcome by friendly staff and a nice cold towel and fruit cocktail. We had a Thai villa, ok the bathroom was old and it was a coloured suite however it was clean and so was the rest of the room. The cleaners call everyday to change linen and towels. Im not sure when other reviews mention a smell, as we all know foreign places have drain smells but it wasnt anything off putting. You have a small fridge with complementary water and beers and soft drinks at reasonable prices. The bed was very comfortable and the clothes storage space was very ample. There is a TV with basic channels, epsn etc.
Breakfast was good, the staff are friendly however some do not speak english - as i dont speak Thai but we managed just fine. There is a egg station plenty of breads, fruits, cereals, yoghurts etc also hot food which i didnt try so cant comment sausages and sometimes thai noodle dishes. The food at the beach front restaurant was very good quality, so it may be a bit more expensive than other places in Lamai but the location and service is outstanding. we ate lunch on numerous occasions and once for dinner the duck red curry was yum! It was also nice to sit and have a drink on the beach.
The hotel provides beach loungers and parasols for guests. Lamai beach itself is nice lots going on yet plenty of vendors but all pleasant.
The location of the hotel is great and is like an oasis of calm off the busy Lamai road. There are plenty of shops bars and restaurants along the road and if you want to venture off there are plenty of the taxi bus around.
Overall location and price and service all very good and would recommend - and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked in for 7 nights, ended up staying for 1 night....

Firstly lets say that the service here is exceptional. Beautiful people who will go out of their way to help you..

We got a seaview room for 3200 baht per night. As we are not big drinkers at night we usually want Cable TV or a DVD player. They promised Cable, but after moving in realised there was no cable but just standard satelite , ok fine, but the main stations did not work. When we asked they said that 3 channels were broken, just so happened to be the only English language channels. So fine, anyway the room was lovely, the location was great, the pool is wonderful etc...

After a couple of hours we realised that the air conditioning did not work, so we tried turning on the ceiling fan.... We searched and searched for the the switch, in the search I discovered a powerpoint under the bed which was hanging off the wall with exposed wires... not good if you have kids around....

Eventually we called reception and asked, they said that the ceiling fan was just for decoration....

To their credit, they bright up a fan, so we were not too hot, such a shame I couldn't sleep anyway due to all the mosquitos coming through the cracks....

Overall with some money spent, this place could be excellent. It seems that the staff all try their best but perhaps suffer from management that doesn't want to spend any money... a real shame.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby/uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

stayed here with my wife ,24/04/12 to 28/04/12 on arrival cool drink and towel always nice.stayed in the superior room in the main building modren spacious and a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens.all i can say is that we must have stayed somewhere else than the doom mongers that have slated this place. we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves the lovely staff pool,beachfront location food .coming from the uk you would be hard pushed to get this sort of service and facilities for the 140 pounds i paid including breakfast.

Room Tip: main building/ superior rooms,lovely and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

spent 4 lovely days here and could have quite easy have spent another 4 it was peaceful most days my husband and i had the pool 2 our selfs, it was a big pool with a smaller one 4 the kids ,plenty of comfy sun loungers,we stayed in the superior rooms in the main building and glad we did room was nice clean and a good size, the beds comfy slept really well it was so quite ,the balcony was a good size over looking lots of palm trees and pretty gardens,the hotel staff were friendly, the maids do a great job coming in every day,was met at check in with a cold drink and cold flannel which was a nice touch,the hotel has its own little bit of beach which was so nice eating breakfast which was good, was a great start 2 the day, we had a couple of meals on the night time which was romantic watching the waves lapping around us the food was of a good standard 2. it was our first time in lamai and would go back as the resort was lovely as was this hotel.well worth a visit .

Room Tip: if you like the sun dont stay in villas as they are shady ,but if you dont mind that they looked nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

the pros .... a great swimming pool with plenty of loungers and one staff member who was helpful.
the cons ... Booked a thai villa which was incredibly bad.A stale,musty smell as soon as you open the door ( if it stayed on its hinges ),1 wardrobe for your clothing ( not enough),tv with 4 western channels and a bathroom that had to be seen to be believed.if you are a dwarf,you won't have a problem with the shower.otherwise forget it.And this in thai heat !!! the curtain rail was dangerous to use.apart from one staff member the others came across as uncaring.there is far better value in lamai.

Room Tip: dont stay here !!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My stay at Samui Sense was most enjoyable. The beachfront location of the Resort is perfect which added to the impact of the ideal weather I experienced while there. I loved the picturesque grounds as well but what won me and made me determined to return was the friendliness of the staff. I am a regular visitor to Thailand and have enjoyed Thai hospitality before but this was it at its best. While my comments apply to many there including the restaurant, I must give a special mention to the Reception staff. I have stayed in many hotels and resorts in a number of countries and many places in Thailand and found these the best I have experienced, most welcoming and helpful as well as being efficient. I can't wait to return there

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Sense Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Sense Beach Resort

Address: 124/61 Moo 3 Maret Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Sense Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Samui Sense Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Sense Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Sense Beach Koh
Samui Sense Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Sense Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.