We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option near Renaissance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JR Restaurant

JR Restaurant
143/17, Moo 4 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
836492432
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 101 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Description: Traditional and authentic home cooked Thai food.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good option near Renaissance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just had a good dinner with the family at JR Restaurant. Friendly, fast and economical. Only open for lunch and dinner. Recommend the spicy thai option. However, menu is full of western options.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Salisbury U.K
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Lovely food cooked from scratch at a great price. Be prepared to wait when busy, but family run and friendly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super fresh and delicious food, amazing curries, great for vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stopped here on a whim and had the best food of our month-long stay on Koh Samui. The dishes were richly and complexly flavored, balanced, well-spiced (to order) and delicious. They were filled with super-fresh vegetables and everything was made to order. The owner was present every time we stopped and waited on us himself. He was friendly and attentive, catering specifically to our requests as vegetarians and helping us to order many menu items meat-free.

Also, they served our dishes to us simultaneously and in an order we're accustomed to, salads together first and then entrees together second. Most other local restaurants we visited served us our food separately and in a random order and it was a nice change to be eating at the same time.

The red and green curries were both wonderful and we agreed that JR's had our favorite papaya salad on the island. Our bill was always low and we usually ordered beer as well. We returned here to eat even after leaving Lamai and moving to another hotel on the northern coast of Koh Samui.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Set the benchmark! 10 mins walk from Renaissance Resort. Better than the Cliff Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We ate here twice, and ordered take-away once. The menu here is not as extensive as the Cliff Restaurant that is maybe 2 miles further away, and isn't pretentious but, we ate at both locations and enjoyed the food at JR's much better. The owner makes fantastic mixed drinks.

This is the only restaurant in Thailand where we could actually get them to serve us spicy hot food. I think the owner was going to put a lie detector on us that we liked our food spicy, as he's seen way too many Americans flame out when they get food as spicy as the Thai people like! But, we persuaded him we could take it! It was great. I can't recall now what we paid for our meals, with drinks, beer included, but, it was truly very reasonable. We could order here and have a complete meal with the drinks for what a few beers on the beach at the Renaissance would cost us. And, it was such a nice but short walk to the restaurant from the Renaissance as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JR Restaurant also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to JR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JR Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.