We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent crab and tasty steamed fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kob Thai Restaurant

Kob Thai Restaurant
101/18 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
+66 82 534 9325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 93 restaurants in Lamai Beach
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The KOB Thai restaurant is a genuine thai restaurant. We are located in a quiet place ,in the landscape , 600 meters from the center of lamai beach. 7 isolated salas for a private atmosphere , around a free swimming pool. Open from 12 am to 10.30 pm. Our menu is in 5 language ( thai , english , russian , french, german)
Lamai Beach, Thailand
1 review
“Excellent crab and tasty steamed fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed our meal of curried crab and steamed fish. Simple tasty food and friendly staff and owner. Recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    160
    36
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sud de la France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Simple food. I took noodle with soja sauce and the food was nothing special. The location and the table are very good. The ambiance is very nice

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what amazing flavours. Everything appeared to be freshly made an was so, so tasty with great depth.

We went for the tasting menu, and taste we did. There was so much! The French owner (who was very nice) said that next week they are releasing an additional new tasting menu that is slightly smaller. I'm sure it will still have plenty on it!

We wanted the tasting menu to just try lots of different things we wouldn't normally try and it had a good assortment of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes.

I don't eat much meat and am very picky when I do (generally go veggie when abroad!), but I found the quality here to be excellent. My favourite dish was the cashew nut chicken, though the panko prawns and deep fried coconut ice cream were close seconds!

It's certainly been the best Thai food we've had since being here and we would definitely recommend. Lovely atmosphere.

Price was reasonably high, but just compared to the majority of beach side restaurants which aren't anything near as good. We paid approx £22 each for the tasting menu, and while this sounds quite a bit, you really do get value for money. Of course a la carte is much cheaper.

It's easy to find so if you're not sure just email for directions. The owner is very helpful and the staff were so friendly.

Thank you Kob Thai for a very enjoyable and memorable meal :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“taster menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I came here on the basis of other trip advisor reviews. It was my girlfriends birthday and I wanted to treat her to something nice. We weren't disappointed!
We made a reservation by email which was easy. We were greeted on arrival by happy, chatty staff, it seemed to be a family run establishment. The setting was lovely, with tables spread apart giving every table space and privacy. We knew what we wanted before we arrived - the tasting plate. I ordered a young coconut juice which was amazing - so sweet and nutty.
The food arrived quickly and was certainly plentiful. There was no question as to the quality of the meat it was succulent and tender. The thai fragrance was infused into each and every dish, the aromas blew our mind. Chillies were in several dishes but were by no means hot and did not detract from the dish. The fish was cooked to perfection and fell apart, the soups were some of the best we ever had. Just when we thought we were about to get desert we got more mains! We were over faced, but you don't have to eat everything do you? Nb. we did! The desert came and was lovely - especially the coconut ice cream. The mango in the second desert was the only thing not to amaze on the menu.
The only things I would change from my experience would be the table size - our table was swamped with food and I'd like to see the food come a little slower as the desert came whilst still eating the mains.

It was also nice to see the chef get out of the kitchen and able to get the accolaides she deserved.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food for an adequate price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A bit off the main road, but absolutely worth the visit. Great food for an adequate price. If at home, the owner in person (a Frenchman) comes to say hello. Good service.
We went there 4 times during our two week stay as we liked the food so much.
As an extra, you can use the pool for a few baht (I believe 30 or 40 for a child, for an adult somewhat more)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephane v, Propriétaire at Kob Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi , Thank's a lot for your review. Please notice that , now, our swimming pool is free for our guests ( you can just order a small bottle of water at 20 THB and you can stay with us all day !). We have , also , a new menu from first of july, translated in english , german , russian and french.
The kob restaurant 's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kob Thai Restaurant also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret

Been to Kob Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kob Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.