We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and stunning location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dining Room at Rocky's Boutique Resort

The Dining Room at Rocky's Boutique Resort
438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
+66 77 233 020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 101 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Price range: $9 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hereford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and stunning location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If your looking for a special evening with good food, this restaurant is really worth a visit whilst in Koh Samui. We were on our honeymoon and looking for somewhere special, as we were staying in Laem Set so it wasn't too far for us either. We visited the resort during the day and spoke to Julien the Food & Beverage Manager and he couldn't have been more helpful. He showed us around the restaurant and the menu that included an A- la- carte and 5 or 7 course taster menu with or without wine pairing. We decided to go for the 7 course taster menu without wine pairing which was 1800 Thai baht each (£38 approx). We got to the restaurant for 5:45 for sunset and it was happy hour on cocktails so enjoyed those whilst perusing the menu, as we were having 7 courses we asked if we could have plenty of time between courses and the staff were very accommodating. Our table was positioned on the rock at the front of the restaurant, with waves splashing underneath you, Julien did inform us that if you wanted a table on the rock he usually needs the booking a day in advance. We found wine expensive in Thailand, however chose a nice Argentinian Malbec for 1900 Thai baht (£30ish). The food was French cuisine and very good, we would certainly recommend this restaurant for a romantic special evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    18
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful and charming restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very beautiful and charming restaurant. Stylish decor and excellent meal choice. Try the 5-course sampling meal with matching wines. Our group was very happy with it. Very delicious food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A Nice Restaurant for a Good Meal in a Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a difficult review to write. I so wanted to be impressed and WOWed by this restaurant - having read some terrific reviews of the place - but, while it was a nice meal, it wasn't the full-on experience we were looking for.

First of all, the location. The restaurant is set on a series of huge boulders on the hill south of Lamai Beach. Simply breathtaking! When booking, make sure that you request a table outside, on the rocks. Although I must say, the open-sided restaurant itself was certainly beautifully decorated; but it is the outside tables that really differentiate this place!

The food was above average, but fell just a bit short. My partner and I had two different styles of fois gras for appetizers, and they lacked somewhat in taste. For mains, we had rack of lamb and steak Rossini - both of which were excellent. Too full for desserts!

Service was OK, but below expectations for a restaurant of this calibre. The waitress brought me a lychee martini instead of the "dirty gin martini" that I ordered. The bread was nice, but after a waiter offered us a choice from the bread basket, we were never offered additional bread. Waits between the courses were rather long. Overall, the service was a bit too casual and unprofessional, I would say.

We are annual visitors to Samui and are always looking for additional "top end" restaurants to add to our list. While we liked The Dining Room, it wasn't a great enough experience to bring us back next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A meal that memories are made from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We have just had their Wine Dinner for October. My girlfriend and I gave it 10 out 10 for exquisite food and beautifully selected wines. This place would hold its own in West End of London. In Ko Samoi, with a beautiful setting,we are left speechless! Highly recommend this restaurant with high ambitions. Prices are reasonable and the service is first class. Chef Aziz will go a long way. Enjoy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and great food let down by service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have been on Samui for a while and had always wanted to go to the dining room as the food is supposed to be very good.

We arrive in the afternoon, The view and the setting is simply stunning. The hotel only has a small piece of beach but they placed tables and sunbeds strategically so some of the tables are set up exclusively on a rock.

I have ordered a burger with foie gras and poppy seed parmesan bread. The waitress did not ask how cooked did I want the burget. Luckily it came medium, just how I wanted it. In fact all the dishes we had on the day were really good. All the equipments they use in the restaurant were all really nice.

The service however could not match with the food and the setting. It was a mission already just to make the staff understand I needed a table for 3 adults and 1 child. drinks took ages to arrive and we could see they were sitting on the bar counter. We ended up being a party of 5 adults and 1 child but only 2 menus were given, although they have a huge stack of menu on the bar counter too. The 2 extra seats they added did not have any napkin on the table until we asked, and the answer was "OK no problem" as if we were asking for a favour. There were 5 staff by the bar and we were the only table in the restaurant but no one seemed to pay attention to the customers. In fact the staff were so bored they were picking in their noses. No water was offered and thhe one we asked for never arrived. water glasses were kept on the table throughout the meal. They were more concerned to turn the table set up for dinner service than serving existing customers.

I would not go back to this plac again, and in case you really don't care about service i don't recommend anyone to go. Rocky's being a middle-high end 5 star property, you do not only pay for the food and beverage but also pay for the servic, which was non existent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room at Rocky's Boutique Resort also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to The Dining Room at Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Room at Rocky's Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.