We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   146/24 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the Le Meridien Koh Samui for 7 days between Christmas and new year. Fantastic accommodation our room had a four poster bed , plunge pool and out door bathroom.
It is a small hotel with excellent facilities , free yoga and kick boxing classes daily , along with activities for kids and a day spa in house. Tina and her staff were lovely nothing was too much trouble. Excellent food available both inside the hotel and close by. Really friendly and professional staff special mention to Kim who not only provided great service bar and poolside but remembers everyone's name and always has a smile. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms were excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Tami M,

We can't wait to have you back!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your festive holiday with us and kept busy while here. The team is very delighted to take care of you during your stay. Many thanks for special highlight on Kim who is indeed a superstar. I am sure he appreciates your recognition and was happy to be of service.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    127
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
69
318
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Make no mistake: this is a top notch luxury hotel, and a very fine option for a relaxing few days in Koh Samui. The question is around value: is it worth the cost, compared to competitors? Probably not.

A few tips:
* The main shared pool is small, so a Pool Access Suite is very nice if you want to be able to swim every day or hang out in the water with some privacy.
* The English skills of the staff varies enormously. Most are actually unable to handle any non-standard request. Luke at the restaurant or Botan at the front desk are the best. But uneven in this respect and quite problematic, depending.
* Do use the free kayak they offer and go out in the ocean.
* The restaurant food is quite tasty. That said, there are cheaper places right next door on the street.
* The wi-fi is very slow and intermittent. They are aware of this. It's not a place to go if you need fast reliable internet. The desk areas are also small.
* In the mornings, people claim lounge chairs with their towels, and don't return for awhile. Most mornings nearly all the chairs are claimed even if there are no people. The hotel should change this policy; in the meantime, be prepared to claim a chair early.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear cazzy123,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay in general and had a relaxing holiday overall.

Our resort has 4 swimming pools all together. 3 swimming pools (approximately 240sqm each) are semi-shared and surrounded by the “Pool Access Suites” you mentioned, with direct access in to the pool. The main resort pool is 320sqm and the deck is situated right on the ocean front. While it might be considered small, it is comparable to other resorts in Samui. Please bear in mind that our resort (like most others on the island) only has 77 rooms. 14 of the rooms here are also villas with their own private pools of 16sqm and 25 sqm.

As for guests claiming chairs in the morning, one important feature to note is that our restaurant for breakfast is right in front of the pool area. What guests sometimes do is come down for breakfast and put their things at the pool bed while they are eating. As soon as they are done, they go straight out to the pool beds. I hope you will agree that guests are allowed to take a chair and leave to go for a swim, walk on beach, pier, quick lunch etc… within reasonable time without having their chair be moved each time. We do our best to monitor guest movement out there and if we feel that a chair has been reserved and abandoned for too long, we do re-set it. That said, there are usually enough chairs for everyone.

We agree the English of the staff does vary as it is most everyones second language and a little more challenging on a small island to top it off. However, they try and continue to develop their skills with much practice and enthusiasm along with training, fluent team members and management to support. We apologize for any frustrations caused during your interactions and are glad that at least Luke and Botan were at hand to assist.

Your stay was over the island peak season and therefore matched with premium rates. They were nonetheless very competitive offers compared to like resorts but regret that you did not find it to be good value.

Your insights are much appreciated and have been shared with the team. We will certainly review how we might make a bigger difference and offer a better value perception as mentioned.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had fantastic time at the Le Meridien on XMas 2013

Despite the initial impression that hotel is too small and might lacking the infrastructure we enjoyed it a lot!

You should not expect large resort infrastructure here (only 1 small pool, only 1 restaurant, only 1 bar, and no sunbeds on the beach). Indeed you feel like you are at "a small family hotel" with lots of attention to details and great customer service.

The food was great and even our sometimes too specific demands on particular menu items were taken into account - again service was great!
Breakfast is fantastic and starts at 6am for those early birds (we had to check out at 6.30 and had a chance to have breakfast at 6!)

Wifi is free, they could also print documents (free) and while at some places the signal is weak in general it is ok! It was a pleasant surprise and indeed together with other little details it makes you feel at home or someones home (Tina's) not a commercial hotel where you have to pay for every single move or request!

Tina, who is a hotel manager - knows every guest and treat everyone as a personal guest and with huge respect. She is always available and attentive and you can expect that she is always there to accommodate any request.

Will definitely come again and recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: when you spend too little time in a room - take the cheapest option! they are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear vpk888,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review.

The team here at the resort most certainly views it like home and we are hosts to our guests who we want to feel comfortable and at home as well while here. That said, we are delighted that you enjoyed the intimate environment and found everyone to be helpful.

What you call specific demands, we are grateful for, so that we know how to get you exactly what you want!

As you may have seen, the tides in December are quite strong and high so our beach chairs are temporarily removed during this period. They will come back out again when the water calms.

We hope that you will return soon so we can continue to take care of you again in Samui!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

December 31, 2013

This was our 2nd time back at Le Méridian Koh Samui. This property is special in itself, with great beaches and beautiful grounds. We stayed in the Ocean Front Villa's where we have our own private villa and pool. Simply fantastic!

However, what makes this property so special are the staff. They are so personable, friendly and truly helpful. They knew our names, even the breakfast servers!, and always welcomed us with the most friendly and warm greetings. Tina the GM, and Luke and Botan the assistant GMs, are always available and go out of their way to make your stay special. No issue is too small - or too big - for them to help you with.

We're already planning our 3rd trip to this special Oasis.

Room Tip: Try to get an Ocean Front Villa or a Terrace Suite. They are worth it, even if you have to pay up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear MikeK13,

It was great to have you back at the resort again this year and thank you so much for another thoughtful review about your stay.

The team was excited to see you again and we will always do our utmost to ensure that Le Meridien is your established home in Samui! The Ocean Front Pool Villa is always a good choice for a luxurious and comfortable stay.

We look foward to your next visit very shortly!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dear friends this was the last hotel of my honeymoon trip, so lots of expectations were thre and you can imagine comparison with previous hotels stayed also. But I hotel is very good, nicely located . Staff is ery good and soft spoken, checkin is very fast thy mame u feel special. J loved the fragrance in lobby everytime u cross d lobby u can feel d aroma of it. I booked plunge pool room. rooms are good and spacious, but dont forget to bring yiur mosquito replenter as there are lot of mosquitoes but I think hote, staff is aware about the same and they also take care of that very well. The pier dinning exp is awsome at night, its damn romantic. Hotel has shuttle service to diff locations which we took everyday btr than spendig on taxi. The knly thing I dint like abt the hotel was lesss choice in breakfast I think thy could have addes more items to the same.everything else was perfect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Yogesh827,

Being the last stop on your honeymoon trip to several locations, we are glad we didn't disappoint and left you with a memorable stay. Perfect that you had a chance to experience the Ocean Pier dining and found it to be romantic.

We're glad everyone made you feel at home and appreciate that you noticed our special LM01 signature scent throughout the Le Meridien hub. In regards to number of buffet breakfast items in Latest Recipe, please bear in mind that the resort has 77 rooms and as such, the number of items indeed might not match a larger operation. Our buffet offers a rotation and range of east and west hot and cold items with live stations and an a la carte menu. Should there be something in particular that we could prepare in addition, we are very happy to learn more and will try to incorporate guest feedback in to our offerings whenever possible.

Then we can take care of that part to make it truly perfect for you.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall the hotel was great. The services was great and the rooms were nicely designed with a fine touch of Chinese theme. However, the overall pleasant experience could not last to the last minute. On the day of the check out, I asked for late check out at 2:30pm and I had thought that late check out was given as a privilege for Gold preferred members. However, I was denied of my request and after reading the policy I saw a fine print that says late checkout is offered "when available." I then asked for 2pm but was given 1:30pm instead. I felt that I was bargaining at the night market! Technically, the hotel reserves the right to offer late check out as it sees fit. However, I just refuse to believe that 30 min more will make any difference at all to the hotel operation. It definitely cheapens the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear GC-Travel-14,

While we are glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay, accommodations and service, our inability to extend a late check-out up until the time required marred your impressions prompting your first TripAdvisor review and an average ranking of your overall stay.

As a Starwood Preferred Gold member, we value your loyalty and support. One of the benefits for our Gold members is indeed a guaranteed 4pm late check-out except for at resorts and conference centres which are subject to availability. The traveling trends of guests in the latter situation makes late check-out guarantees very difficult to deliver. To that point, please bear in mind that our resort is only 77 rooms in total and your stay period was over our peak season when the resort was full every day. With 6 room types to complicate the situation further, we just don't have the spare inventory and varied movement that a larger operation might have for more flexibility. An arriving guest is waiting almost specifically for a departing room to be vacated and cleaned. Our guaranteed check-in time when you were staying was 2pm although we have now revised this to 3pm. Depending on whether we have the arrival information of the incoming guest, the room needs to be ready by 2pm and with normal 12pm check-out time, the preparation gap is already very narrow.

Here at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa, we do try to honor late check-outs whenever possible, particulary when many of our guests are here for so long. We do not believe in marginalizing the last hours. While we understand your frustration, we aplogize and truly regret that greater flexibility could not be extended while you were here and can only hope that the above explanation helped to clarify why.

If so, we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and if the situation allows, we will certainly provide for a late check-out and do our best to ensure you are comfortable until the last minute.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Location:
The Le Meridien is a great 5* hotel located in Lamai Beach and not far Lamai Centre (about 5 minute taxi ride and cost 200 THB).
• At the Lamai Centre there are plenty of bars, restaurants and a night market. It is a lot quieter to the hustle and bustle of Chaweng Road and therefore the town centre probably does not have the same feel factor as the main Chewang road).
• Next to the hotel is Beach Republic and The Cliff Bar and Grill which have both been various magazines provided at the airport.
• The hotel has a stretch of beach in front of the pool, which if there is a low tide can be enjoyed. The sand is almost white and well-kept/very clean and soft.
• There is a free shuttle that goes to various locations across the island each day, which is very useful
• There are massage places less than 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel, and also about a 5-10 minute walk along the beach
• A Taxi to Chaweng beach costs about (400-500 THB)

Hotel:
The hotel has all the amenities you would expect from any 5* hotel.
• The breakfast has a fantastic variety, fresh omelette and the fresh fruit juices are delicious.
• The staffs spoke great English and are very attentive. The manager and concierge were very helpful. They made our reservations for us for any restaurant we requested
• The swimming pool is large enough to get a bit of exercise in, but perfect just to lounge in.
• The rooms are incredibly spacious, with his and her basins and a rain drop shower. The bed was very comfortable.
• The free Wi-Fi was very fast
• The hotel exclusive pier going into the sea was fantastic, it was nice to chill here at sunset and enjoy a cocktail with a type of bar in the centre. The great thing is it is only restricted to Le Meridien guests.


I had the best Christmas at Le Meriden and would stay here again without a heart beat. On Christmas day there was a tapas buffet which was served to us on our beach beds, we didn’t have to move and the wine was continuously topped up.

Thank you Le Meridien, for making our 3 day stay here so memorable.

Room Tip: The pool which connects to the pool is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear SheenaS17,

It sounds like you made the most of your 3 day stay while with us!

We're so glad that you enjoyed our service and facilities all around, particularly the Ocean Pier which is certainly a highlight for many. Getting out as you mentioned is easy and further to your great tips, I'd also like to add that the popular Crystal Bay (Silver Beach) is also only a 5 minute walk from the resort as well.

Thank you for spending the festive season with us and for sharing your insights and memorable moments. We hope you are having a great start to the new year and have plans to visit us again some day!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.