We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place as usual apart from location and beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   146/24 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place as usual apart from location and beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Non usable beach. Rocky beach area. Otherwise great place to stay and great service.
Wud recommend a stay here for the brand maintains its viability always. Go for the stay only. Chill out and enjoy
Not impressed by the beach at all did expect more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Roked,

Thank you for recommending our resort although you were not impressed by the beach. Hopefully, our associates made up for that with great service as mentioned!

As a discovery option for guests, we do offer daily service to 2 nearby beaches at Coral Cove and Silver Beach (also in walking distance) as well.

As such, we hope you will return to chill with us again!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    124
    55
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
315
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My Fiance and I recently stayed one night at this hotel in February 2013.

Pro's
*********
- Hotel is one of the nicest places we've stayed at in a long time
- Hotel staff wa very friendly and accomodating.
- We had a basic room which felt like a master suite anywhere else.
- Very comfortable bed, fresh local fruit upon our check in, bathroom was very nice with modern but rustic finishings
- outdoor rain shower was a nice treat.
- speaker system and tv in the bathroom and massive soaker tub was a nice touch
- buffet breakfast was the best we had on our 3 week trip, lots of options including a chef on standby to prepare eggs and omlettes.
- a nice dock is situated on the beach, which allows you to walk out about 500 ft from the shore line and get a nice view of the surrounding beaches.
- quiet area of samui

Con's
********
- Its a 10-15 minute hike down the road to any descent restaurants if you choose not to eat at the hotel.
- beach area is fairly small, so most people choose to lounge around the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Brady M,

Thank you for the concise review of your stay experience. It is good to see that the Pro's list is longer than the Con!

To get feedback that our resort was one of the nicest places you had stayed in a long time, particularly after traveling for 3 weeks already, is truly a compliment which we appreciate. It seems you enjoyed features of the room and were comfortable which is good to know. More importantly, we are happy to learn that our associates took good care of you.

Should your travels bring you back to this part of the world, please do consider a return visit. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent 6 days at Le Meridien Koh Samui with my husband, looking forward to a week of relax and "resort life". Our stay couldn't have been better, and Le Meridien Koh Samui is now on our list of places we definitely want to come back.
The resort is beautiful; from the moment you arrive you know you are in a special place. Check in takes place in the "hub", an open air courtyard which in the evening becomes the stunning scenery for the evening celebration, a daily event which by itself makes this place quite special.
Many of the verandah suites face the lawn, where at different times of the day you can spot small groups taking yoga or Thai boxing classes (and you can join them of course).
On the seaside a large infinity pool is the backdrop of the restaurant, with beautiful views on the sea. The pier which extends into the sea provides also great views from a unique perspective and is the setting for a romantic dinner at night.
But what sets this place apart is the unique attentiveness, friendliness and "good spirit" of the staff. Everybody at the resort will go above and beyond to listen to your needs and do anything they can to make your stay as pleasant and unique as possible.
I have never experienced such an atmosphere before, and I wish more hotels and resorts were managed like this one.
To give an example, one day my husband hurt his foot and had a small cut. The hotel staff, and Pen in particular, took such great care of him, cleaning the wound twice a day, every day, in a way that not even a hospital would do.
I was also truly impressed to see how the staff listened to my feedback comments and took immediate action to address them.
On the last day of my stay, for Valentine's day, I had the pleasure of being upgraded to a pavillion pool villa. And I can only say "wow" - you'll rarely find such beauty, privacy and comfort at a resort.
But no matter which suite or villa you choose, I'm sure that le Meridien Koh Samui has all it takes to make your stay unforgettable and truly enjoyable.
Thank you Pen, KK and Tina for the wonderful stay. I can only wish I were there right now for the happy hour ;-)

Room Tip: Most of the verandah suites (the standard rooms at the property) face the lawn; those on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Bingo_the_dog,

Firstly, I do hope that your husband's foot has fully recovered at this point. It is good to know that Paen was able to assist in providing the attention and care to make him more comfortable. Your kind recognition of her and of our team is most appreciated and we absolutely will always try to do our very best to take care of our guests.

It is nice to know that you both left with some memorable experiences and that the week spent here was a special and relaxing one.

Please do return to experience the Pavilion Pool Villa for a longer period! Happy Hour will be waiting.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very good experience and I enjoyed this resort. I will definitely go back.
Summary:
- quiet location with nice semi private pool
- clean, well maintained and excellent service
- nice pool just beside the sea with great view not mentioning that there is a small bridge to walk on the sea or even sunbath during the day
- excellent breakfast buffet
Overall, good quality/price. Why did I rate it 4 star and not 5 star: because there is no direct sea view from the majority of the rooms. You will just get your garden/pool view.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Roger E,

It seems you enjoyed a well rounded experience at the resort and found it to be good value for money.

The Pool Access Suite, which I believe you stayed in from the description, can certainly offer a very convenient option to the main resort pool if wanting to go for a quick dip with direct access from your terrace. Hopefully, you took advantage of that during your stay.

For the ultimate in Ocean views, we recommend our Ocean Front Pool Villa which is one of the closest to the waterfront around the island and has its own private 25sqm infinity pool. Otherwise, the team and I will work toward that 5th star in other ways should you have the opportunity to return and stay with us. Please let us know if you do!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

stayed there 11 nights with expedia at a plunge pool suite some pics attached. there is no beach (or very little and shallow for miles) and the area around the pool was very limited which we did not like. the service was very good, French F&B manageress I guess helped the place. would definitely return if the hotel was for example at silver beach resort place where we sunbathed in the last few days (get a moppet).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Olecko,

We notice you stayed with us back in April of last year and appreciate that the resort is still in your memories for a review, particularly the service and the people. Hopefully, you were also comfortable in the Plunge Pool Suite during your stay.

Samui island is very easy to navigate around and many like yourselves do get a moped or car for convenience and an island discovery.

While we are not located at Silver Beach which you enjoyed, nor are any other luxury resorts, our location is probably the closest international resort and does provide a daily shuttle there as well. Meanwhile, it is also in walking distance, less than 10 minutes away by foot.

As such, we hope you will return to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa on a future visit and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Le Meridien for 2 weeks in January. We arrived from busy Bangkok and was met at the airport as arranged by the hotel. We arrived and was met at the entrance and was welcomed by Tan who was so polite and made us feel happy to be there. We stayed in the Veranda suite and was amazed when shown our room. A huge veranda, a very large bedroom and outside shower and toilet (toilet and shower are obviously shieded from the outside world). The room quality was excellent and the decor was very tasteful. The house keeping staff were excellent and the room was cleaned every day. The food quality was excellent, seriously, I had read other reviews on trip advisor that did not favour the food from the restaurant. I cant stress enough just how great the food is. There was plenty to choose from and the quality was fantastic and priced as you expect from a 5 star hotel. Worth every penny. The pool area is very clean and the pool staff were all very freindly and always willing to help. The re is not much of a beach but a massive jetty to sun bath from, not a beach fan so it did not bother me, I spent most of the time in the great pool. I must give a special mention to Tan who greeted us everyday with smiles and good wishes, Tan remembered our names throughout the whole holiday and really made us feel so welcome and comfortable. Tina the hotel GM was also. Great. Tina runs this hotel with such style and grace and is always present throughout the hotel and helping out during breakfast. Tina also make sure you are ok and enjoying your stay. We happened to mention to Tina during a chat at breakfast that we was going to ask for a late checkout on the day of our departure, 5 minutes later, Tina came back to our table to tell us it had all been arranged with no extra charge. That is what I call great service. To end all I can say is that this is a marvellous hotel, very well run, great food and amazing grounds and setting.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear vincent g,

With a 2-week stay, we are glad that you were comfortable in your suite and were well taken care of by the team all around; moreover, that you enjoyed the food from Latest Recipe which is important when the resort is your home for a lengthy period.

Tan seemed to have stood out as a highlight in welcoming you not only on arrival but at breakfast each morning. Your recognition is most appreciated and has been passed on. I am sure she was delighted to be of service.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you with us at Le Meridien Koh Samui and do hope that you will return to visit again on a future holiday. Thank you for your daily enthusiasm which positively encouraged the team in their service delivery.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just returned from Le Meridien Koh Samui & we want to share all that this resort deserves. Our first trip to Koh Samui and we gave Le Meridien to give us that very important make or break, first impression of this beautiful island. We stayed in the Pool Pavilion Villa for 5 days and our story shall commence from the moment we embarked on this island.

Our flight was delayed for 40mins and we arrived late at night, 2200pm +. The Le Meridien staff was right at the arrival hall waiting patiently for us; we were soon whisked off in a nice comfy Toyota Fortuner SUV. Travel between airport and hotel takes around 20 minutes in clear traffic. Shall list everything else thereafter in points before we get carried away.

The wonderful:

- Don't be misled by the little hotel entrance by the road - it's heaven after u pass the main entrance and you have to experience the hotel's beauty yourself.
- Check - in was brisk and staff were welcoming and warm even thou' it was already 2230pm.
- No worries about your baggage; they reached the villa from our limo, fast, without us lifting a finger.
- Refreshing welcome drink and cool, scented towels / wine + seasonal fruits + a personalised message from Tina, the General Manager.
- Comprehensive run through of amenities & features of our villa.
- Our Pool Pavilion Villa was spacious, clean and nicely turned-down for a welcoming night. It's well equipped with a large LCD TV, DVD player, Tivoli DAB Audio player + Clock, iPhone docking bay, complimentary WIFI, all toiletries befitting of a 5 star resort, a nice saltwater private pool, sun decks, outdoor bathtub, open-concept oversized rain shower, a Nespresso machine with complimentary capsules, a well-stocked mini-bar and the list goes on.
- Hotel staff were all very warm with their traditional Thai greetings. We would like to mention Fah from frontdesk reception who went the extra mile to assist us with our requests and also to thank the team that had been in touch with my partner to give me a surprise birthday celebration setup in the villa!
- The 224 metre ocean pier is like nothing else ever seen.
- The hotel's signature nightly 19:19 ceremony - we made the effort to join in the ceremony every night before dinner! It's totally amazing and blissful.
- Complimentary activities like yoga classes.
- The dinner menu and quality of food at Latest Recipe was outstanding & authentically Thai; we saw no need to go out of the hotel for dinner; we just ate there every night! Atmosphere at Latest Recipe was simply fabulous. Quality of breakfast buffet was good too. We chanced upon Tina coming out to help the staff out during our first breakfast there. :)
- Nice ambience of LE SPA with great masseurs.

I am confident these surely could improve:

- There were many mosquitoes in some parts of the villa (eg toilet) at some times of the day (thankfully there were sufficient mosquito coils outdoors and electronic repellent in the bedroom).
- Pool in the villa can get collect quite a bit of leaves, flowers just over 1 night and on one occasion there was also a dead frog inside - had to call housekeeping to clean it.
- We can see that staff do try their best to understand and communicate in English but I trust they can certainly do better.
- An ironing board and iron set would make amenities in the Pool Pavilion Villa complete.
- There is not much beach, if at all; but the ocean pier more than makes up for it (that's if you are not a true-and-true beach goer).
- The breakfast spread could be more varied although we're ok with it.
- I wanted to take pictures of those unique, red-lit Chinese words tiled along the entrance's grounds but they were not lit up on any nights.
- iPhone dock cannot accomodate iPhone 5 lightning connector.

Above all, a genuinely world class luxury resort with a chic, retro, Chinese-Thai ambience. The surrounds were crafted to give you a sense of tranquility and peace, with traditional Chinese 'Feng-Shui' nicely embedded within. It's a gift for the senses.

Thank you, all at Le Meridien.

You can be sure we will be back soon.

Dr Tan & Ms Lim.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Dr. Tan and Ms. Lim (DoctorTanWM),

Thank you for your comprehensive review.

It is good to know that your late night arrival was handled efficiently and that you felt welcomed at the resort, particularly when celebrating your birthday! Your comments have been shared with the team and your recognition of Fah from Guest Services as well as our masseurs at Le Spa is most appreciated.

During your stay, it seems you enjoyed the Pavilion Pool Villa and many other services and facilities for a well rounded experience. The Ocean Pier and the Celebration of the Day ritual are certainly highlights not to be missed!

As for your suggestions, we are indeed a bit subject to the conditions of nature in the Pavilion Pool Villa as a good portion of it is outdoor space. While it is in our procedure to clean the leaves when ever servicing the room, this will be emphasized with team not to be missed. Iron and boards are certainly available upon request. As most guests don't seem to use on island holidays, we try to leave the extra closet space. For the iPhone 5 dock, we are just looking in to upgrading again as technology continues to change and advance. Thank you for highighting this. Last but not least, you must have noticed past photographs of our Chinese translation of the "Sampan Diary" along the entrance path. Regretfully, due to affects from the rain making the lit characters incomplete on many occasions, we have since decided to keep the lights off on this unique version of poem. Hopefully, you were able to read the 19-page English version displayed between the Inner Waves 01 arrival art design by LM 100 artist, Hisham Bharoocha.

You are quite right that this resort is also designed with Feng Shui influences and that it contributed to your tranquil and peaceful stay. Please do come back and visit when you are next ready for another restful holiday!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.