We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very calming and refreshing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   146/24 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very calming and refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel, rooms, grounds, service, spa- all very enjoyable! My favorite things about our stay: the 7pm lighting of the lanterns by the courtyard wading pool- this was just magical and a must do! The spa was great- we went every day! I absolutely love the bathrooms of our room..which are partly outdoors. I love the front sitting room of the room as well..honestly the room was perfect, the bed was so comfortable- not like those rock hard beds you tend to find in Asia sometimes...this bed was heavenly.

The service was great too- very responsive and polite.

The ONLY drawback- and it's really minor- is that there isn't a deep end on the pool- which is typical for an Asian hotel either (what's up with that? Nobody knows how to swim in Asia??).

The pool area is a bit small too. But the lounge chairs/beds are very comfortable...although a bit close together. A lady had her kid watching a cartoon on his ipad (kid was about 2 years old) and it was blaring and extremely loud and annoying, I asked her to please turn it down..and she did and apologised. But that was so minor and only due to the chair beds being so close together.

IF I were going to Koh Samui again- and were going to stay on Lamai beach, I'd stay at this hotel- no question about that...it's great!!

By the way, we were doing the spa detox at the Spa Samui- about 5 minutes away..great program they have there but terrible accommodations- way too backpacker like- so sadly, never tried any of the food at Le Meridien . But staying here and doing the spa detox- best idea ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear justaname,

Samui is very popular for Spa Detox programs and many who go through the programs at Spa Resort just down the block do stay with us as you did. It is good to hear that your visit with us was calm and refreshing which probably enhances the detox experience.

Our resort pool as mentioned is 320sqm and actually one of the larger ones on the island. There are also 3 other pools around the resort and can be accessed by those accommodated in our Pool Access Suites. You are right though that there is no deepening end and that the depth throughout pool floor is flat at 1.2M/4Ft, deep enough for swimming while ensuring safety from anyone falling in too deep.

The Celebration of the Day ritual is indeed a special experience and we are glad that you had a chance to participate during your stay.

We only hope we don't have to wait for another detox cycle before you return for a visit!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    127
    56
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
317
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this hotel with our Starwood points... if paying, we would go somewhere else.
Plus:
- the resort is fairly small, which is nice, with lots of trees and garden, a small swimming pool and a small beach area.
- the 24h gym for those who wants to work out
- very nice spa and very good massage
- nice location: within walking distance of convenient stores, pharmacy, ATM, massage place, bike/car rental
- one free shuttle bus organized daily: location is different each day
- 1-minute distance away from the Spa Resort which has a very good restaurant
Minus:
- only one restaurant and the choice is very limited.
- breakfast was very disappointing for a Meridien standard. Everyday was the same thing and ingredients are not high quality.
- a lot of stairs: so you need to be fit to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sophie_In_Taipei,

As a Starwood Preferred Guest, we are delighted that you had a chance to use an award redemption for a stay at our resort.

With so many positives highlighted, we are somewhat disappointed that you did not rate us higher. Most importantly however, is that you enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the minus points, we do only have 1 full service restaurant with different menus for each meal serving international dishes in addition to the daily breakfast buffet. In fact, a new dinner menu is about to be introduced. Seasonally, we also open up our floating Ocean Pier to the public and have several set menu options as well for a truly unique drinking and dining experience. Weather permitting, this special venue can also be enjoyed on any day with advanced reservations. Latitude 9 in the Lobby Hub also serves a Tapas Menu for those looking for a lighter fare.

For the buffet breakfast, we do have a rotating menu and there certainly is always room for improvement so we are reviewing this and hope to make it a more enjoyable experience for guests. There are also 2 live stations preparing egg, rice, and noodle dishes on request while premium coffee is served from illy. For the stairs, we do actually have a separate entrance to the hotel allowing guests to by-pass the lobby HUB stairwell if needed. For security reasons however, we generally prefer most to use the main entrance way. While 26 guestrooms are also on the 2nd floor, the resort is otherwise very flat and easy to get around.

With this in mind, perhaps you will consider to re-visit whether on starpoints or other plan. As a loyal Starwood guest, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The service is perfect and the team is very friendly and professional
Tina Liu (GM) is exceptional and very nice
The rooms and swimming pool are very clean and beautiful. no thing to say only I will come back with my family next time

Rachel & Franck

Room Tip: Ocean View Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear lanavette,

Thank you so much for your kind note.

Knowing that you will return is the best information we can find on this review. We only hope to be welcoming you back for many years to come. The team will certainly be on their toes to ensure your family is well taken care of.

At this point in the year, may I take the opportunity to wish you and your loved ones a most happy, healthy and prosperous new year with many discoveries in an ennriching 2013!!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Koh Samui is not really for families...but we did not know that until we touched down....on the way to the hotel, our very friendly hotel driver pointed out the highlights of the local area...but we could only see bars, massage parlors, laundry houses and restaurants.

The hotel itself is gorgeous...the rooms have kind of a Chinese decor and feel...absolutely lovely...the gardens are very well taken care for and the staff does make an effort to be polite, friendly and that makes the experience very pleasant....the main swimming pool faces the sea and inspires tranquility.

In terms of restaurant, they only have one...but the food, service and environment is great...also faces the sea...

I feel that this is a truly Le Meridien Resort.

The not so good things from a family point of view: there is no kids club and no area for kids to play...nor kids activities...
There was no sand on the beach....it was quite hard to understand what the staff said..., but something about a big wave a few days before...so the kids could not go to the beach....our swimming pool was a bit cold, but acceptable...

As a family. probably I will not return, but as a couple most definitely.




Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear mbamaral,

We are glad that you enjoyed the property landscape, facilities and service and that it well reflects the Le Meridien Brand.

Unfortunately, you felt that the island in general and the hotel itself, not to be the most "ideal" destination for families and you may be right. While there are hotels and activities around the island that do cater to children, everything here is on a much smaller scale. However, that is also part of the beauty of this tranquil hideaway which still retains much of its simplistic charm.

Our resort is also designed more with couples in mind and while we do offer activities such as Muay Thai, Yoga, Kayaking, Arts and Crafts such as Batik & Bracelet making etc... to name a few, there is no kids club as mentioned.

On the other hand, extended families who travel with multiple rooms do tend to really enjoy our Pool Access Suites surrounding their own semi-private pools in cluster of 5, 6 and 7 rooms.

Although we regret that you will not be returning as a family, please do think of us when you have time for that couples getaway or once the kids are older!

As for the big wave, I think this might be a reference to high tide. There were some days earlier this month when a storm had passed through and the waters were more rough than usual over this period.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed late December 2012.. For just a couple of nights - this Starwood property is a complete stunner.. From the pier which extends into the sea to the lantern celebration every evening, this place makes you feel special and pampered..
The rooms are very nice.. With cute outdoor showers which lets sunlight in and the breeze.. The pool overlooking the beach is brilliant.. And of course the pier is what makes this resort special.. It's sort of a walkway into the sea.. Lying down on beachbeds in the middle of this surrounded by the sea is absolutely magical.. Dinner is organized some nights and is brilliant, needs reservation a day in advance
Food is nice and the chef makes a special effort - I wanted vegetarian and he made us some really nice thai curry.. People are very friendly and service of course is really good..
In low tide you can walk along the beach from the hotel to lamai beach and centre.. The way is dotted with massages on the beachside.. All of them are equally good and a must try..

Thank you le meridian for a lovely stay.. we dint feel like leaving the place at all..We only had a couple of suggestions - consider keeping cycles for use by guests, would be a great idea considering the rip-offs that taxis are and you am want to do something about the water puddles at the entrance..it's a tad annoying if we are out walking

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Betttsss,

It sounds like you discovered and enjoyed many of the unique highlights of our resort while here.

The Celebration of the Day ritual for one as mentioned, should not to be missed while here. Weather permitting during the short rainy season, Ocean Pier Dining is available with reservation but on other occasions when the tides and the skies better cooperate, we actually open it daily each evening for drinks and dinner, available to the public. This special experience can be enjoyed with others or privately with loved ones. There are different extensions that can be used!

As for the cycles, I assume you refer to motorcycles and scooters rather than bicycles? In any case, we do not accommodate these services directly because of safety reasons. However, at very affordable rates, they are readily available from 3rd party agents who are happy to pick up and drop off right at the hotel. Taxi rates can indeed be quite high, making our hotel cars very competitively priced. Usually price difference is only B100-300 Baht dependingn on location. There are also island tuk tuks (shared taxi's) which are most affordable for a quick ride. We are working on the water puddles out front on the main street in cooperation with local authorities as this comes from the mountainous area across street. When the rain stops, it is not an issue and we apologize for any inconvenience caused while here.

I see you had a chance to take alternative routes on the beach as well and went in to Lamai town which is accesible during low tides. Hopefully you found the area peaceful but not confining and will return for more holiday time!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed there early of December, as a SPG we get SPG room.Wow! Nice room.. I don't know why people complaining bout the bathroom. Even I like bathtub, but that private pool with water jet is fantastic! Bed in every Starwood hotel is always the best! There's fan and also Airconditioner in the room! And the socket near to kettle is covered for safety! And the coconut monkey that they use as DND is super cute, you got to have it.. And staff overthere is super nice.. I can't remember all (Fah..Diera..etc) and also housekeeping, when I called for adaptor, they are super fast sending it to me.. Everyday, there's always activities in the hotel, batik painting, candle making., muay thai class..and you can also rent scuba diving stuff overthere.and the restaurant is nice, nice design,nice people..definately will come again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear needhOliday,

As an SPG guest, we value your support and thank you for having stayed at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa on you recent visit.

It sounds as though you enjoyed the various features, activities/amenities and services available at our resort and hopefully, they added to an enriching stay experience. Our mighty protector of guest rooms, the hand crafted pig-tailed macaque, is everyones favorite and we are glad that you were able to relax when he was placed outside.

Fah, Dear and rest of team were also happy to be of service and I am sure they appreciate the recognition given. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and if you feel you "don't want to go home" we are more than happy to extend your stay!!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Meridien in Koh Samui for 3 nights in November and really loved it. We've been to other places in Thailand (Bangkok, Krabi, Chiang Mai, Phuket) but Koh Samui was the best for a beach holiday. We had Starwood points so we got bumped up to a room with the outdoor bathroom and little private pool. Honestly, that outdoor bathroom thing was better in theory than in practice. It poured one day and the outdoor toilet area had a big puddle for the next 24 hours and when you go to the bathroom in the middle of the night it kind of sucks to get your feet all wet! Plus it's hot and muggy and very buggy so taking a shower out there can be somewhat unpleasant and also itchy with the mosquitoes! I never used the private plunge pool either but it did look cool!

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the pool is wonderful. As others have mentioned, there's not much of a beach but if you need beach there is the most gorgeous little cove with a picture-perfect beach and a place to get massages in a beach hut called Silver Beach/Crystal Cove literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There's even a free shuttle from the hotel if you're too lazy to walk 500 meters. But it is soooo worth it. Unfortunately I discovered it on my last day.

The staff was all very friendly and the food was good although we skipped the buffet breakfast after the first morning cause it was nothing special and quite pricey and you can just walk to Lamai for a cheap breakfast. We went to the beach at Chaweng one day too but that area is DEFinitely more if you're looking to get drunk and laid. It seemed to be chock full of drunk Aussie 20-somethings (and 50-somethings!) hitting on local teenagers. If you need nightlife Le Meridien is not for you but if you want a quiet, relaxing getaway it's wonderful. We did go to the spa and got the couples package which was utter bliss. All in all, well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Amy M,

The Plunge Pool Suite that you stayed in does incorporate outdoor space in to the bathroom area. The plunge pool itself has jets and is usually nice for cooling off in the open air so it really depends on what is important to the guest as our other suite options will also offer different unique highlights. The Pool Access Suites for one, offers direct access in to a semi-private pool. Nonetheless, the toilet area shouldn't get as wet as it does so we will certainly look in to how we can resolve this in the future. In the meantime, we apologize for any inconvenience that was caused during stay.

On the other hand, we are thrilled that you did indeed have a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hotel service and facilities. There is daily shuttle service to in to town and nearby beaches for guest discovery as mentioned. The hotel is conveniently tucked away off the main ring road without any disturbance from the hustle and bustle of passing traffic while allowing easy access to nearby attractions and nightlife. Lamai town is actually even accessible along the beach during low tides and as Samui's 2nd largest town, it is more frequented by local residents and even tends to have better priced drinking and dining options.

With direct flights available from Singapore and having discovered Silver Beach only on your last day, we hope you will return to Samui on a future visit to explore more.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.