We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, shame about the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   146/24 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, shame about the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We checked into the Meridien in Koh Samui for a 5 night stay (April '12). Upon arrival we were upgraded to a pool room which was fantastic and would recommend to anyone looking to book this resort.

The resort itself is compact and cute and staff are very attentive for which we would like to express our sincere thanks.

Its a great place for couples not so much for families who have kids over 6 years as there seem to be very few activities for kids.

We really liked the resort however the beach is disappointing as the water is rather murky and very shallow with sharp rocks and other objects on the seabed. If you are not so bothered about swimming in the ocean then this is a great place to stay in Samui.

In terms of recommendations for the management of the hotel, we have two suggestions:-

1. As per other guests feedback, the juices at breakfast taste completely artificial, you could do with having fresh juice for breakfast.

2. The open air bathroom is great but you get eaten alive by mosquitos, you should consider putting mesh screens so you can still keep the open air feel of the place but keep out the mosqutios.

Overall this is a great resort and very peaceful and relaxing and would reccomend provided you dont have high expectations of beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Loaker101,

Thank you for your review and suggestions which are well received and only helps us to serve guests better! We are in fact, already working on all of the points mentioned so it is good to know that our efforts will be appreciated.

During this time of year, the tides recede all around the island and with a natural reef not far out from our beach, the water levels do get quite low. Lamai Beach is however, still one of the more quiet and clean stretches on the island. As an option for guests, we are about to begin shuttles running to neighboring coves situated minutes away with deeper water. We are also reviewing our juice options at breakfast and plan to implement a variety of fresh juices and herbal drink options. Lastly, while we provide mosquito nets on request we are in the midst of testing out some options with mesh screens or more permanent nets as suggested.

We appreciate your valuable input and hope that you will return to experience improvements made.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    127
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
69
318
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here when it was Langham Gurich Samui. Lamai beach is the quieter part of Samui and the resort is located a bit off Lamai main area as well. You cant really swim in this beach however the sheer sight of white sands makes it totally worth it.

The rooms are well designed and have outdoor showers which were a great change from the monotonous modern resorts in beach towns. The furnishings were very classy and antique which was again a nice change.

The resort overall is quite small however well designed and the spa is also nice, although a bit expensive.

Room Tip: The laundry service is extremely cheap compared to any other five star in Thailand, or for that matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Discostuu,

It is good to know that this was a return visit to the property and that you continue to enjoy your stays!

The views are indeed special. The resort concept with its Fengshui influences is meant to provide for a relaxed, warm and intimate feel. The interior design and furnishings reflect use of natural materials and quality pieces that one would use or put in their own homes and we appreciate that you took notice of this. The property layout also follows a philosophy of convenience and community. It is very easy for you to get around with great access to the streets as well for those who like to venture out on the island.

Laundry are prices are indeed competitive and we encourage long stays so bring lots of laundry any time! We look forward to welcoming you back for many more return visits to come.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nasik
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

One can travel the world and stay in the best hotels but after a while they all look the same . This is an exception in the case of Le Meridien,Koh Samui. The rooms and the way they are laid out are simple yet so chic,comfortable and very enjoyable.The people who look after you there make a genuine effort to make one feel at home with just the right amount of concern to make one feel cared for and the right amount of keeping to themselves so one can have one's privacy.The amazing ocean pier jetting out into the water is the place to see to really feel calm and relaxed. (specially on a clear night its a fantastic view of the stars bright and clear)

The ceremony every evening is very well organized and is a great experience, if you happen to be there on a full moon night its even better.

A special word of praise for the hotels GM Tina. She is one of those rare people who goes out of her way to treat the guests at the hotel as if they are guests at her home. Her team at the hotel is fortunate to have her as a leader .


Staff does have trouble understanding english at times but one needs to reach out to the right staff there are enough of them who understand english clearly and can look after the needs of the guests well

A special advice for vegetarians , let the hotel know that you are vegetarians they cook good vegetarian food.

Room Tip: check with the hotel for the room type if traveling with children/infants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear jansport46,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Le Meridien Koh Samui. I am humbled by your kind words but you are correct in that guests at this hotel are indeed guests in my home and therefore, making sure everyone is comfortable and happy is a priority. The credit all goes to our associates however as they do their best everyday to ensure expectations are met and nothing makes us happier than to learn that you were well taken care of in an unobtrusive manner during your stay.

We are also delighted that you enjoyed the property itself including the very special Celebration of the Day ritual. As for the vegetarian dishes, we are just about to release a new menu which will consist of many more options so this should certainly suit the dietary requirements of many like yourself. Otherwise, we are very flexible to cater to any special needs.

A clear, bright and starry sky as you mentioned seeing here can be rare in many parts of the world nowadays. We hope that you and your family will return to see them with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This resort is simply a brilliant place. We stayed in a pool access suite and our room was fantastic. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and I loved having the pool right on our doorstep, it was a difficult choice between the main pool and our private pool. The hotel grounds were beautifully maintained and the staff amazingly helpful one of the restaurant staff even managed to email me a recipe for something that I really enjoyed at breakfast. All in all Le Meridan was a fantastic experience, definitely one of the best places I've stayed.

Room Tip: We loved our pool access suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear JohnMc66,

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the features of our Pool Access Suite and the convenience it provided with a semi-private pool. To have an option between the main pool and the one around your room will ensure that you never miss a refreshing swim! It is also good to know that you rested well in our beds which most guests do tend to compliment often.

We hope that you will enjoy the recipe given, either in its authentic form or perhaps with an international twist which I am sure you will re-create beautifully. If the latter case, we would love to get your recipe back as well!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Seriously, we were apprehensive reading the bad reviews to stay here. They were SO wrong. We had a pool access suite and the most comfortable bed ever. We did have a problem with the power but it was fixed ASAP. Service was impeccable and we waited for nothing. It is the most relaxing experience I have had in a long while. We will be back.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear AMcLeay,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the Pool Access Suite and rested well during your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your postive experience.

We apologize for any inconvienience caused by the power issue although it is good to know that our team promptly addressed this.

Please do come and visit us again as mentioned. We thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We've just come back from here and I feel compelled to write because of some of the mixed reviews.
I know the management changed hands a few months ago and as a result the service can be a bit inconsistent, but the staff are so lovely we found it impossible to get upset and any issues we had were too trivial to worry about. There was an initial mix up with our room, we had booked the Pavilion pool villa but on arrival were told we had been double booked at least for the first night. KK , the duty manager was really helpful and incredibly apologetic and promised to anything she could to find a solution we would be happy with and we were offered 2 x pool access rooms as an alternative. Unfortunately because we were travelling with 2 small children and they weren't adjoining rooms this wasn't and option but we were moved into the pool villa the following morning and we didn't have to pay the supplement for the children for the entire stay, which seemed more than generous. The hotel is really well maintained, the Pavilion Pool Villa is beautiful and although the position of the toilet being rather exposed and at the opposite end of the pool seemed a little odd, we loved it.
We were so comfortable staying here that 10 minutes before our taxi was due to take us to the airport we decided to stay a few more days and moved our flights.
Thanks to Tina, KK and all the staff for making our trip nothing short of perfect.

Room Tip: There's an amazing private Spa right next door to the Hotel that charges around 400 Baht for a 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear mattfaddy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have your family with us and we were very excited that you felt comfortable and relaxed enough to have extended your stay at the very last minute! Love the spontaneity!

We appreciate your understanding about the first night on arrival and are glad that the rest of your stay in the Pavilion Pool Villa turned out well. Please do come back for future visits... we accept last minute bookings too!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I tried to refrain from writing this review but find that I have no other choice. I am current towards the end of my stay here at the Le Meridien Koh Samui. I booked this as an easter weekend vacation / engagement present.

This has been literally the worst experience I've EVER had and I am regretting ever doing this. I keep trying to talk myself back down from the ledge but cann't justify it.

This started off from day 1 when we checked in. We were "uprgaded" to a pool access room - that room looked great but upon further inspection

1) Toilet had plumbing issues and the entire bathroom smelled like stale urine
2) The sheets were dusty and unclean
3) Laundry bag was used
4) Other aspects of the room was unclean.

It was clear that this room was made up in a hurry. We called and after not hearing back for an hour, called our travel agent. I was so mad that I wanted to just leave and pay the penalty.

Finally, KK the manager came to see us and offered to make it better. A nice gentlemen showed us a terrace suite and a plunge pool suite (what I originally booked) and it was quite nice so we took that.

We were quite happy with the room and called it an early first night. KK then called to inform us that she planned a free dinner for us the next day which was much appreciated as we spent 3 hours waiting to be moved etc. We thought the troubles were over.

The next day, a nice group of housekeepers made for us a present on our bed with flower petals, etc ( a mini statuette) on our bed and that was such a romantic gesture! The room was spotless and everything was great. Then came the problems

After we got home from dinner we found out that
1) The blanket / duvet had blood stains on it

2) After asking for it to be changed three times, someone came by to change it - we went for a walk while they did this and came back to find out they put a flat sheet on the bed and no blanket! (I assume this was a language issue) - after calling back they finally brought it to us

3) My pillow case had dark stains / cigarette burns on it (I didn't bother calling, just flipped it over since I didn't know how long it would take)

4) I asked for some ice and after 4 calls and 2 hours, I got sick of waiting and went to the restaurant to fetch some - this was for my ankle that was swollen

5) For the next 2 days, the room was never again made up as nicely as that 2nd day. The bucket with melted ice was left there for 3 days until i called and complained

6) The glasses in mini bar were dirty and the used glasses were not taken away until again I called

Overall, the room just felt "unclean" and we felt it was substandard the quality of the linens, etc

7) Worst of all, we had the noisiest neighbors and after multiple complaints, the management told us they apologized and will quiet down ... 30 minutes later - they do it again. This happened every night until well into 1am where the guests would MOVE FURNITURE and make such a raucus. I called as I am writing this and no one at the front desk picked up to the point where I walked to the front desk adn complained. It is 1:11AM.

The manager KK was a rockstar in crisis mitigation and I think she was extremely busy and did what she could. I think this is a smaller property than most others I've been to and the staff is very very nice but just not trained well enough or just new.

In any case, I tried so hard to recognize the team for their hard work but at the end of the day, for the amount of money we paid to stay here, this was just flat out unacceptable. I've never felt so unrelaxed and annoyed (to the point where I was afraid to complain again because I'd just come off as annoying - we started doing alot of the stuff ourselves)

We are not terribly picky travelers and just like things simple and this time, it was anything but simple. I can honestly say I will never come back to this hotel again.

We have one more night here so I hope to god I can just get some decent sleep because I had been looking forward to this holiday for 4 months and it was an engagement present that now seems ruined. I know this is not the 4 seasons but maybe I am crazy but I expected a bit more ...

Again, KK is a rockstar and she tried her best and I think the staff here really mean well but its just unfortunate that all this happened

Hope in the future, some changes can be reflected so that others do not go through this.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Eric C,

We regret your stay at our resort upset you so much as to instigate a first review on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that while you rate the service and efforts of our associates as more favorable, a series of events just didn't seem to go well over your stay.

Hopefully after we made offline contact so that your points raised could be personally addressed, you are now assured of our commitment and care and will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.