We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabeinglae Restaurant

Sabeinglae Restaurant
438/82 Moo1, Maret Road, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
+66(0)815387045
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 101 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice view good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here twice, once for lunch and another time for dinner. The woman always wants Thai food and she found out about this place. First time for lunch we had a few dishes that were recommended to her. I wasn't satisfied at all with the food and she wasn't wow'ed either. To her it was good but not spectacular. She wanted to try out a few other dishes so we returned for dinner last night. We got the crab fried rice, deep fried seabass with fish sauce, spicy pork with basil, and BBQ king shrimp. The crab fried rice with the seabass was delicious, the BBQ king shrimp was a huge disappointment. There was nothing king about this shrimp at all. But the young coconut drink was pretty good here, I ended up ordering two of them.

Service was poor due to the fact that they were packed. One thing that was disappointing was we got our fish first, then our shrimp, then the pork, and didnt even get the rice till the end after the fish wasn't even warm anymore. It would have been better to start off with the rice with at least one of the dishes. Even the table behind us finished their whole meal and their fried rice came after they were already done eating. I would recommend letting them know to bring the food out with the fried rice.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    80
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family liked this restaurant on our first visit and came back a second time. Ordered seafood on both occasions and it was quite good. Service was alright, no bad experience with any of the waiters/waitresses.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had high expectations going to that Place, unfortunately the restaurant couldn't keep up to it. The food itself was fairly average and almost cold when served. Staff wasn't that friendly plus it was very expansive in a cheap setting. Never again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent find in Lamai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The service started off fairly disappointingly - we were a group of 12, including children and they were not very helpful in getting a longer table organized. The restaurant was far from full. Eventually a man did join 2 tables together. My wife sat on a dirty chair, then stood up and looked at him. He gave an annoyed look and changed the chair. For some reason, the service improved dramatically from the time the same man took the food order. The food came on time, starting with the children's food. And the food was very good. Notable dishes were the catfish salad, steam rice noodle with prawn and deep fried seabass in fish sauce. The final bill was reasonable. We will come back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Thai flavors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

One of the best Thai food experience in my 5days in Koh Samui. Location is close to the Grandfather's Rock on the main 4169 ring road. This place was recommended by the resort we stayed in and people at the Elephant trekking at Nammung waterfalls.
Must order the signature salad! So good with a lot of seafood and garlic infusion. The aparagus & prawn dish has really good flavors. We also ordered the jungle curry to stay healthy but it came out like soup. Wasn't too impressed but the flavors are still good. Recommended for an affordable and unpretentious Thai meal!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabeinglae Restaurant also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Sabeinglae Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabeinglae Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.