We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIS PLACE WOZ ALRIGHT.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rich Resort Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   109/12 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 hotels in Lamai Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DIS PLACE WOZ ALRIGHT.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my crazy kooky traveler friends arrived here and had three rooms booked. One of them was poor, one of them was decent and the other was superb. The air conditioning was pretty much ineffective but the staff were friendly and whatever. Honestly, my opinion of this island may unfairly influence my review of the hotel; I thought Koh Samui was terrible, it was a wretched hive of scum and villainy and one must be cautious when there. There was a thai lady boy hassling you on every corner and the island was heaving with fat, ugly old men accompanied by their vacant looking thai brides. Certainly this was a decent hotel though and i'm sure if you like this island then you will like this hostel. HOLA.

Room Tip: Dont leave your wallet on the beach when you go on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djtric, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for your opinion of our business. Happy that you found our accommodation to be decent. We try to keep our prices as low as possible for a beachside hotel but still provide good value for the money.
Good tip not to leave your valuables on the beach unattended as there are many people passing by throughout the day. Probably a good tip for any beach.
Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    52
    19
    15
    19
See reviews for
9
44
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After a long trip it was nice to see some friendly faces , this hotel is great the rooms where big , bathroom with a great shower , and a queen size bed which was very comfy, we meet the owner the day after we arrived a great guy , and very funny made you feel very welcome had a really go time .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our property. It is great to see that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. Yes we get that comment quite a lot that our rooms are spacious. We accommodate a lot of backpackers since our prices are some of the most affordable in Koh Samui especially for being located right on the beach. Lots of space in the rooms for the backpackers large bags. All the rooms have King Size beds and the rooms and bathroom were recently renovated giving them an updated decor. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your opinion of our property and hope to see you again on your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulst, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stay here for 5 nights,the room was clean ,and the staff was friendly, and try to help wherever they can, after a few days the company where i rent the motorbike for 5 days,working together with rich resort i think, make a mistake and ask my one day more for pay the motorbike, the girl after de dest look several times,make 2 phone calls and help me so much she can, result was that i have not have to pay the day more....the rooms where every day clean, and for the price i pay, it was a big big room,when you have to go to toilet in the night.....you better use your GPS .....if you have
no complains about anything...I go back next year...

Room Tip: all rooms are verry close to the beach, how more inside the hotel, how more quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for providing your opinion of Rich Resort. We take all reviews into account in making our product and service better. It is great that the reception were able to resolve the issue you had with your motorbike. Sometimes we have small issues with our tour operators and rental companies who are subcontractors of us (not our company), but the reception always do their best to resolve any issues that may arise. Yes our housekeeping do a good job of making sure the rooms are cleaned daily and up to standard. Ha ha, yes we get that comment a lot that the rooms are very large. Not sure about having to use a Gps ha ha but the rooms are definitely not cramped. Lots of room for luggage etc. Yes our hotel is very close to the beach...just a 5 second walk through our beach restaurant Swing Bar and you will be on the white sandy beach. Thanks again for your response and see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The best location in Lamai, clean rooms and u cant get anything better for this price . And I loved the fireshows. U had a fridge with a frizer in it. And u had two bottels of water everyday. I have stayed at other hotels earlier, but this is the best.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a no frills hotel right on the beach where they have regular fire shows. Its down an alley witch can be quite dark at night but I don`t think safety is an issue here. The hotel is clean with friendly staff. It has a room safe but no lift and is close to the night life.

Room Tip: Lower floor=less steps to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Rich Resort a couple of hours early and thought they may let us in our room early but unfortunately we weren't able to. Whether this was due to it not having been cleaned yet I don't know but it would have been a nice touch to let us in early if possible. When we could get in our room we were told that we had been upgraded to a superior fan room because there was a problem with our room. Great, but then we realised it was room 101 right at the front by reception. In actual fact it wasn't very noisy at all but the only downside was we had no balcony so it was hard to dry stuff. The room was big and we had a tele and a fridge which was good. The hotel is 30 seconds from the beach and you get free sun beds too. We did think there would be a little more going on in the swing bar as it was dead most nights but the beach party is worth popping in for if you are there on a Monday or a Friday. The only negatives were the towels smelt very strongly of damp. Even though they were changed everyday they smelt really badly! Secondly the Internet cost is ridiculous. Most hostels and hotels offer wifi for free in all rooms but it was 40baht for 20 mins! It is free in the swing bar but it would be good to have it for free in the rooms as well. Overall an ok stay and a very good location to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djtric, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate everyone's input so we can make our accommodation better. Glad to find that you found the location good and enjoyed our entertainment on our Monday and Friday beach parties. For sure these two nights of the week are our busiest, but we have fireshows on the beach every night also. Sorry that you had to wait til 2pm which is our normal check in time because the hotel is running at 100% occupancy during this period and will be for the next two months because this is our high season. This means that housekeeping only have a 2 hour window between checkout at 12pm and checkin at 2pm to clean those rooms which are checking out unless the guest checks out before 12pm. If the room is available before 2pm we always allow the guest to check in early. We have spoken to housekeeping regarding the smell of the towels and purchased more towel supply. I think that with the rooms being fully occupied the laundry service was not getting enough time to dry them properly so with more supply this should give them more turnaround time to dry them properly and ensure they smell fresh. Yes we charge for wifi in the rooms because the wifi system we installed was fairly expensive and provides good service and we didn't want to incorporate the cost of this into the room prices because we try to keep the room prices as affordable as possible in this location. The guest has the option to use the wifi free in Swing Bar and free sunbed use on the beach. Yes you were upgraded from a standard room to a larger deluxe room. The standard fan rooms do not have balconies also. Thanks again for your comments and we have already started making some changes to try to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson new zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here four nights. The rooms were cheap and a good size. The reception staff were not friendly. We asked the cost of ordering a shuttle and it was 1 and a half times the price of the one we ended up taking from 2 hotels down the road ( a flasher hotel). Handy to the bar across the road which led straight out to the beach.

Room Tip: If you have as little to do with the reception staff as possible its a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djtric, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for your input on our establishment. We are happy to see that you found the location to be good as we are right in the middle of Lamai Beach and walking distance to pretty much everything in Lamai. Sorry to hear that you found the price of our shuttle service which is contracted out, overpriced. It may have been that the second shuttle service you used was not a private car since there are 3 different types of taxi in Koh Samui which all have different pricing. We appreciate your response and will take your comments into considerations to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Also Known As:
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach
Address: 109/12 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rich Resort Beachside Hotel 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms feature cable tv, hot water shower, refrigerator, mini bar, makeup vanity, clothes closet, mini safe and individually controlled air conditioning units and/or fans. The rooms come equipped with king size or twin single beds. All of our deluxe rooms can have an extra bed added for a small surcharge. WiFi is free in every room and throughout the resort & sunbed use on the beach is also available free of charge for customers. Our reception area also includes a tour and excursion desk for booking activities. Popular tours that can be booked include elephant trekking, around the island tour, mountain safari tour, snake farm, monkey show, Samui Aquarium, Tiger Zoo, crocodile show, ATV tours, cable canopy tour, Full Moon Party, kayaking and snorkeling tours at neighbouring islands Angthong National Marine Park and Koh Tao. Plane, trane, bus and boat tickets can also be booked directly from our excursion desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, Venere, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Rich Resort Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.