We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort- close to beach and town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rich Resort Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   109/12 Moo 3, T. Maret | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent resort- close to beach and town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I stayed here for 8 nights with 2 of my friends and we had a great time! The rooms are a good size (we had a 3 person room), I would definetly recommend getting air conditioning, I dont think I could have survived without it. Everything was relatively clean in the room, and whenever there was a problem the hotel was very quick to fix it.

The hotel is managed by Canadians who are very friendly and helpful. Every friday there is a beach party at the swing bar at the hotel and its super fun. There is a fire show that was definetly worth seeing. The town is very close to walk into to buy groceries, beer, or just to do some shopping. You are also able to book tours through the front desk which is convenient.

The beach was very nice, you get free use of the sun chairs. We were there right after the flooding so the water was not as clear as it generally is, but every day it is getting better, the staff is working hard to get everything back to normal since the flood.

Overall, great resort, clean, good area, good food, internet access. If you are looking to party- Chewang beach might be more ideal. But its only a 15 drive away so it depends what you are looking for. Enjoy!

Room Tip: ask for room closest to beach on 2nd floor- BIG!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    83
    24
    21
    25
See reviews for
12
79
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

would recommend this accomodation for its value/cleanliness and location.we stayed in a room with just a fan and it was fine.stayed for 3 nites and also rented a moped while there to get around and see the island. Lamai beach is right across the road and the bar of the hotel does nice food and is on the beach. free safe in the room was great too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

we stayed there for 7 days all together and the staff was very helpfull ,exellent rooms which were spotlessly clean and the location was a stone throw away fromthe beautiful beach ,also ,the swing bar which attached to the hotel was very enterning and had the best veiw if the ocean ,also very good entertainment ,every night which included a beach part wiv top dj every friday .i would recomend this place to anyone who wants the best of both ,which is a relaxing holiday with plenty of enterainment if u want it ,also whilst i was there i had a fall and hurt my ankle and the care and support i had was amazing .going back next year .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perpignan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Thank u so much to rich resort beachside hotel for everything.Nice staff especially on hotel reception.The staff on Swing bar was also good.The location is very nice, nearby the sea and 5 minutes walk to lamai main street.Also important things the owner is from Canada and speak french, this can help people if they have problems in english.Thanku again and wishu good business for future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Rich Resort and had a great time. We stayed in the air con room which was a bit more expensive than the fan room but worth it when it is hot. The rooms are big and clean with Tv and mini bar. Sunbeds on the beach and bar/restaurant across the road from the hotel. Helpful staff in the bar and reception. Great location…Located on a quite beach road less than 5 min walking distance to the center of town and steps away from the Beach!!! Great Value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Please believe me when i say this.. I literally cannot believe they allow this place have humans in it!
Me and my partner were in lamai in sept-oct this year getting married so we had 26 of our family and friends on the island.. We were looking for somewhere for my stepdaughter and her boyfriend to stay that wasnt too expensive and came across this- it looks very nice and really reasonable in a good location.. it ticked all our boxes. when we arrived in lamai we dropped them off and every1 went to their hotels- another friend of mine stayed in the rich resort aswell.. we stayed in another hotel of which i had booked months previous. the next morning we went over to see how everyone was and i nearly died when i seen the rooms! not one of them had air conditioning,just a broken fan and it looks NOTHING like the picture! I will put up some TRUE pictures of it soon when she forwards them on to me from her camera.
The windows were broken so the poor things were COVERED in mosquito bites the next morning. the sheets were filthy dirty and the wall light switch wires were hanging out- it smelled musky/damp and the tiled floor was so sticky and completely cracked (so if walking barefoot you'd be lucky not to get a huge gash).
We had paid for 4 nights for them and when we came that morning to see them we went straight back down to reception and tried to get our money back of which they refused so we ended up checking them out anyway and got them another place... please please do not be fooled by this picture. The location is great but there are way too many nice places on samui to have to live in squalor. I think the owner needs a slap.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Address: 109/12 Moo 3, T. Maret | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rich Resort Beachside Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms feature cable tv, hot water shower, refrigerator, mini bar, makeup vanity, clothes closet, mini safe and individually controlled air conditioning units and/or fans. The rooms come equipped with king size or twin single beds. All of our deluxe rooms can have an extra bed added for a small surcharge. WiFi is free in every room and throughout the resort & sunbed use on the beach is also available free of charge for customers. Our reception area also includes a tour and excursion desk for booking activities. Popular tours that can be booked include elephant trekking, around the island tour, mountain safari tour, snake farm, monkey show, Samui Aquarium, Tiger Zoo, crocodile show, ATV tours, cable canopy tour, Full Moon Party, kayaking and snorkeling tours at neighbouring islands Angthong National Marine Park and Koh Tao. Plane, trane, bus and boat tickets can also be booked directly from our excursion desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rich Resort Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.