We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking, you simply will not find better in Lamai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarina Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amarina Residence to your Saves list
Amarina Residence
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   131 / 10 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stop looking, you simply will not find better in Lamai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I was on tripadvisor looking for my next hotel when i thought i would post this review, having not yet even left. This place is fantastic, it is amazing value for money and the owners are the kindest people. I have had a look at some other places here and the closest I can compare amarina residence to in about 4 times the price. it is 30 seconds from the sand and water, quiet and simple. The rooms are brand new and completely spotless, I can't fault mine. Its so comfortable and nice to be away from the heat in the middle of the day, the water pressure works and so does the aircon. Today i have seen a couple walk by and pop in, leaving with the intent of changing thier hotel, the price is brilliant for quality. the owners are very sweet and easy going, happy normal Thai's. I have been lucky to have found it. Also book the hotel transfer, at the airport the fee to Lamai by taxi is 900 THB, the hotel rate is almost half of that. I am not a big hotel reviewer, but i had so much trouble choosing which beach in samui would suit me and where to stay, the choice is dazzling, but i got both right. Lamai is a perfect size (chawneg too touristy for me) and this place is the best hotel on offer. nobody could regret staying here, unless you want a massive pool and hotel restaurant which there are not here, but you are in samui, go out to eat and swim!

Room Tip: balcony rooms are handy for drying clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
58
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We chose the Amarina because of the wonderful reviews on TA. It almost sounded too good to be true, especially as it was so cheap. I was wrong because it was an absolute joy staying there. It is privately owned and the 2 owners are there every day will do everything in their power to help you have a good time. Although it is situated on the main street of Lamai, it is at the quieter end of town and is also 2 minutes walk from the beach.As we left on Monday 13th June a board at the front of the hotel was offering rooms from 900 Bahts per night.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

we traveled to Lamai beach after a few days on koh tao to explore the big island and found this hotel online and its everything that the people below state Clean comfortable and easy.
The Staff were great the only issue we had was communicating with them on the phone about how to get there however we found our way with a transfer

The hotel is in the middle of a " tourist" area mainly meaning you will be harassed by the locals. And the area does seem to accommodate a large number of tourists interested in the bard girls however the amarina is far enough away that you wont notice this. it is about 30 seconds away from the beach and there are plenty of places to eat locally.

Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

I fell in love with Amarina when I walked into the front lobby. It was very well presented and the couple who owns Amarina were very friendly.

We had some problems with the first room (AC wasn't working properly) but they immediately changed our room. Our room was very clean and the washroom was absolutely amazing. The shower was strong and the water was easily adjustable.

The owners were very helpful with giving us directions to places and suggested that we join a trip with Samui adventure. The trip turned out to be so much fun and we got plenty of sun and snokeling.

All in all, Amarina was a great place to stay at. I will definitely go back to Amarina next time I visit Koh Samui

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

If you're looking for a quiet, stylish, modern and spotlessly clean place with fantastic service, then don't look any further and check in at Amarina Residence. Amarina and her staff are so friendly and will go the extra mile to help you. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and the whole place has got a very calm and relaxing atmosphere, which is great on busy Lamai beach. We stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed it and we can definitely recommend this hotel as very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

A lovely, calm, well-maintained hotel. It's between the main drag and the beach (the front door's on the main strip). Great prices, very good value for what you get. I was upgraded to the biggest room, which was lovely and quiet. I'd probably have preferred the balcony room but no big deal. The amount of english spoken on reception is variable, but they're very helpful and will figure out what you want.

Airport pickup was free, but they charged 5000BHT for the return trip (which is fair).

If you want a sunlounger on the beach then just walk down to one of the beach bars.

The hotel "pool" is in the reception area, so I don't know if anyone's ever actually used it!

Wifi connection is pretty good, there are a couple of PCs that you can use free anytime, and they'll let you use their printer for free (within reason).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This hotel is very well located. 1 minute walk to the beach and 1 minute walk to shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean and well maintained, new furniture.
Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarina Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarina Residence

Address: 131 / 10 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarina Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amarina Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarina Residence Hotel Lamai Beach
Amarina Residence Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarina Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.