We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patio Restaurant

Patio Restaurant
124/24 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
+66(0)77424420
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 101 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Nice dining at Patio Restaurant.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stay at this wonderfull hotel, and went to the restaurant one night for steaks. We had asked for a table at the seaside. And we certainly got that. Right in front of the sea. The right place for the exceptionel dinner that we had. Tender steaks, well-cooked and a good wine to go with it. Staff very observant and kind. As usually. Couldn't be better!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian inspired kitchen at The Patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were there to have Steaks! Tenderloins were perfectly soft and made to our preference. Garniture fine. Seating at the seeside. Staff very observant and friendly. We stay in the hotel as well, and that is also worth trying - excellent place.
The Patio has diffrent theme nights. For example saturday it is Seafood night (we will try) and sunday it is steaks. And there is also e fine a la carte to choose from.
All in all a very nice experience - pricing a bit on the high side compared to the city (Lamai) pricing in general, but worth it! If you are staying in the hotel you get a 20% discount.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Graubunden, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice food, good service, nice few,... we were staying at pavillion Samui, the patio is a part of this hotel. It`s just a bit to expensive... but the rest is great

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good in parts at the Patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

4 of us looking to eat in Lamai and after a few dinners on the main strip, wanted to go a little up market so we walked into the Patio.

Once you get through reception you are greeted with a well laid out water garden which turns into a bit of a walk to the beach bar and the Patio restaurant.

As we approached, we could hear the dulct tones of Thai music and then spotted Thai dancers on stage which was a bit of a bonus. Initally at least.

They did have space and we were shown to a table which was not acceptable as one of our table was directly under a spot light which was powerful enough to grace a theatre so we asked to move. The first response was to advise us that there were no tables left and so as we walked out they "managed" to find us a table in an acceptable spot.

The view as others have commented over looking Lamai beach is nice and does set the evening up well.

We went for the thai cusine in the main (one indian dish) which was all good. Well presented, and tasted fine although it is between 2 to 3 times more than other restaurants with similar thai food fare and quality in Lamai as you are paying for the ambience. The wine list is limited and very over priced when compared to other quality restaurants on Koh Samui which was dissapointing.

The service was passable - we did have worse and better on Koh Samui. The food arrival was a little disjointed. One final point was the Thai music referred to earlier in the review. This went on for about an hour and for those of us who are not familiar with the subtle variations in thai music, it became a little dull and was certainly too loud. Apologies for those who enjoy Thai traditional music. Perhaps two sets of 30 minutes with a break would be better?

As this is a resort as well as a restaurant there were a number of honeymooning couples a dinner as well as children playing. This was not a disturbance but I am aware that there are many who prefer a no children atmosphere.

So all in all would I say go? If you are in Lamai and you are a little fed up with eating with the continuous sound of motor bikes and cars driving up and down the main street, then go but be prepared to pay 15 Pounds per head and not 5 pounds per head for food and a lot more for beer and wine. There are other restaurants on the beach to try too but sadly we did not have time to make the comparison.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went for dinner at The Patio and it was marvellous. they have a great view on Lamai Beach and the atmosphere is great.

It is one of the more expensive places to dine but well worth it but it is not over the top. The restaurant is part of the boutique hotel. Parking was easy as the hotel let us park on there parking. We had 3 kids with us and the kids enjoyed playing on the beach. The views from the restaurant are very good and the place gets extra special at night when the lights come in to play.

Overall the food was good and the service was good too. They boast about there cocktails has they have won the best cocktail on the island for the last 2 years. It was nice to try something different other than the stock standard cocktails.

We had a very pleasant evening with friends and family alike.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Patio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patio Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.