We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located - top service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chaulty Towers to your Saves list
Chaulty Towers
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideally located - top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Don´t be fooled by the cheap room price! This is a great place with top-class service from the owner Stewe and his wife O. We stayed 3 months, and during the entire stay we where very satisfied. Chaulty towers is a nice small hotel, and we all very quick felt as a part of the family. The location is good - close to town and night-life, but far enough away from the noise :-) Stewe will allways try to make you feel comfortable, and his BBQ´s is famous among all the returning customers. I would recommend this hotel 100% afther I have been travelling in Thailand for over 15 years.

Michael

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    29
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
92
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

First time in Koh Samui and at chaulty towers and would definitely recommend both to anybody.
Steve and his wife made us feel very welcome right from day one,and Steve always gave us a lift into town if needed ,nothing was too much trouble .Steve also took us on trips around the island,and to other places that we would not have seen without his knowledge.
The breakfast`s are very tasty, and set us up for the day ahead.The location of chaulty towers is just outside of main street ,so ideal for me to go bird watching in the early morning.The rooms were very clean and had air conditioning which kept us cool when it was so hot and humid outside.
It was also so nice after a long day out to jump into a refreshing pool .
Can`t wait to return ,had a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I visited Thailand and especially Koh Samui many times during the last years. I would definitely recommend this accommodation - it is simply excellent. If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable hotel, with frindly management this is the place. The location is perfect, not to far from towncenter and nightlife if you into that, but still quiet in the night. I stayed for nearly 3 month and must say this was my best stay ever. Thanks to Stewe and his wife for a pleasent stay. I will return :-)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I was travelling with my daughter and her partner. My daughter was quite happy with her room but I was not at all happy with mine - it was situated under a stairway - the bed was clean but the ensuite was filthy. The plug in the basin was unable to be removed from the plughole - the shower recess was mouldy and the toilet bowl had obviously not been cleaned for ages. We had booked 3 nights but only stayed one.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Spacious, clean well-furnished rooms set around a small clean swimming pool. The owner Steve and his wife were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were the best we had in Thailand. Steve went out of his way to give us lifts into town (about 15 mins walk) whenever he was available. He is very knowledgeable about entertainment venues in the area, spoke Thai and made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

A really lovely place. The accommodation is high quality, and very clean, situated around a swimming pool. It is quiet and peaceful. Having a drink by the pool before going for an evening meal was very nice. Steve will also provide a BBQ in the evening if required.
Steve is a great host, his English breakfasts are equal to any in a five * hotel and his fresh baguettes with a filling of your choice are also excellent.
Nothing is too much trouble and Steve regularly gave us a lift to the beach but it is also an easy walk.
He also took us to see local sites which we would not have known about.
The hi speed WIFI was a bonus.
I would definitely recommend this accommodation and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We spent 6 nights here and we really keep a good memory of this place. It's like you are at home. The owner Steve and his wife Ore are very friendly. If you need something just ask Steve and you get it! He helped us to rent a motorbike and told us the things to see and do in Koh Samui. I also really appreciated the breakfast. The room was nice and just close to the swimming pool. Free Web, AC, fridge and kettle are provided in the room. If you
I have been in 4 different hotels in Thailand, but this one is the best.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaulty Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.