We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice laid back small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chaulty Towers to your Saves list
Chaulty Towers
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Aldershot
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice laid back small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in Feb 2012 and had a very relaxing stay. The deluxe room that we had was excellent. Whenever we wanted a lift into town Steve obliged. Although the hotel is a 10 minute walk to start of town we found it to be very safe.The road is lit but it is worth taking the torch in your room so the motorisits can see you. A previous review mentioned the dogs up this road and yes there are a few but they are not a problem even at one o'clock in the morning they just bark at you if you talk to them they soon start wagging there tails.TIP try the Massaman curry off street vendor in food market by boxing ring it is the third stall on left right oitside supermarket entrance

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    29
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
94
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in Feb 2013. Nice quiet location and very well run. Room was excellent and the late breakfast was a good idea. Pool area was clean and well maintained. Honesty bar worked and Steve was able to arrange car / scooter hire from the hotel. 10 minutes walk to Lamai beach and all the bars and clubs. Highly recommended and will return

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed five nights in Koh Samui last month en route to Australia. Steve collected us from and took us back to the island's charming airport and made clear that he would be happy to drive us into the village.
The hotel is small and fully occupied during our brief stay. There are only six units arranged around the pool and I believe all are provided with efective air conditioning, cooling fan, TV/radio, security safe, tea/coffee making facilities and en suite shower room, etc. Simple, basic but everything one needs.
Fellow guests were very cosmopolitan and I should imagine that, with a collection of kindred spirits, the hotel could get very convivial.
Hearing the stories of other accommodation near the beach, Chaulty Towers is a bargain by comparison. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two more expensive units with balconies on the first floor (2nd floor if you're Americ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here in August after reading all the 'amazing' reviews!
We emailed and arranged the airport pick up - Steve didn't appear! On phoning him, there was no apology (this happened the next day when he realised he forgot) instead just a comment to get a taxi! Needless to say I was already peed off by the time I got to the hotel.
We were put in an upgraded room purely by chance. Steve's maid had booked someone else in ours. this may sound fab but we then had to move to our original room two days in as someone else was booked in the superior suite. this just proved to be a pain in the bum - not being able to unpack and moving from room to room. I would have rather been in the more simple room from the start.
The rooms are very basic. But, heh, you get what you pay for, and for the cost - the rooms were fine. Clean bedding, air con and a tv. Don't move any furniture mind you as they don't get moved by the cleaners! we didn't pay for breakfast included but we did have it one of the days and it was brill, with PG tips and marmite.
The hotel is a good walk from the beach but not a major problem in the day, a bit more so at night time when you are walking up tracks with no lights and lots of dogs!!!
The lifts to town were offered but we never asked. We did go and watch the Thai boxing but to be honest, I found it, and the offer of going on to another bar, all a little bit sleazy. We would have preferred to go to the boxing on our own and not witness the stereotypical British behaviour of our 'guide' and the other men from the hotel around the Thai girls!!!
If I had a bit of cash I would NOT stay here again, in fact, even minus the cash I wouldn't. Spend a few extra pounds and stay at some where that your girlfriend will feel a little more comfortable staying at.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chault, Owner at Chaulty Towers, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
This review was posted word for word last year, I responded to the review 6 months ago, but you said my comment was not in your guide lines. I am now shocked to see the same review re-posted. It would appear that the client has copied and pasted there original review. and then deleted it, to enable to resumit it again now. This is not in your guide lines, but you have chosen to break your own rules. Further more I have two independant vistors staying in my hotel now who have read this review last year when they were choosing their holiday, and both of them said they are going to respond to the review, pesumably you will block their responce as well ? While I don't exspect you to do the decent thing and exspose the personal attack on me, I would appreciate its emediate removal. ( if you do print this, it would deter other people in the future breaking the trip avisor rules ). Many Thanks Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A second visit says something by itself. Small hotel but with all the facilities, bar, pool table, jacuzzi and a pool in a quiet location but only ten minutes walk to the town and nightlife. Excellent clean facilities and Steve, his wife and his staff cannot do enough to help. As an addition this year Steve can now organise personalised trips for groups which we found excellent and his knowledge of the places to go and nightlife is superb.
Same as last year, highly recommended, in fact even more so!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed the previous night at weekender villa ( that rates highly on here) and looked at amity(+ville !) bungalows .I thought that the islands lower side of the under £50 search selection were all going to be terrible. That was until we struck lucky and booked Chaulty towers at the last minute. Steve is totally on top off his game. He understands that lower price does not mean lower standards . He has thought of everything . Fan, aircon and ceiling fan! Not just one all three. Beautifully well presented rooms with clean welcoming decoration and modern fresh bedding . Beds that are comfortable and showers and toilet wet rooms with a European tiled standard that 4* hotels would envy. The only thing missing is the hot tub and if you want that it's available pool side! The whole ambiance of the place is laid back and friendly . Should your trip advisor iphone map app put a star in the middle of the ocean ( like mine does) he is up the road opposite the only petrol station in lami ( pharmacy on rhs with back to petrol station) passed gym , passed muai Thai school and toward the top of road before bend . big house on right hand side. Oh 1 last thing . Moped rental 100 baht less than everyone else and better quality bikes too . Have a great stay . We did.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and where very happy with the room and location. Steve is most helpful and happy to organise anything you need. It's a five minute walk to the town but is very safe and well lit.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaulty Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.