We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Shamrock

Samui Shamrock
123/144 Moo3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand
+66 (0)81597 8572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 100 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Irish, Fish & Chips, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a place! They do a proper Guinness pour here and have pretty good live entertainment. Not that it matters, but the WiFi is the fastest I've seen in the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chaweng, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Times are changing at the Shamrock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The place has recently changes ownership and subsequently there have been a few changes. Saddest is to say good by to the best value roast dinner on the island, which is now prices in line with competitors such as Murphy ' in Chaweng :-(

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Irish Bar in Thailand/Asia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is my first trip advisor review, i have done alot of travelling and been to many bars and restaraunts in many different countries but i think it is applicable that i do my first review on the best irish bar i have been in...

We have stayed in Lamai on 2 seperate occasions and each time we have stayed there, The Samui Shamrock has been our second home!! The staff are so friendly, the food is excellent (loved the lasagne!!) and the entertainment every night is top class(the band are brilliant).. We have had soo many enjoyable nights there and have had such crack with all the staff!!

The 1st time we visited was in 2009 and we couldnt wait to revisit it in 2013, it was a nice touch to see that all the staff who had worked there in 09 were still happily employed by Danny and the pub has that family feel about it, The management (Danny) will do anything they can for you, (Danny even managed to stream the Galway Races for me!!) They all make you feel soo welcome every time you visit and i think that this has created a warm Irish welcome feeling about the place..

If you are on holiday in Koh Samui this bar is a MUST visit, it has any sports you want on tv, GAA, Soccer, Horse Racing etc and you are guarenteed to have a brilliant night!!

To Danny, Bee and Ying thank you again for all the good nights me and laura had!! Hope to visit again...

Johnny and Laura

Visited July 2013, June 2009

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smolensk, Russia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best holidays with Shamrock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed in Lamai for 2 weeks, and during my holidays i visited Shamrock for ~8-10 times. Everytime i go one, but no alone. Because every time i go there, I met a friendly staff, really responsive waitresses. This is a kindly atmosphere at Shamrock Irish Pub, so u can become acquainted with some people came to vacation too. Also very friendly and funny rock band with their "Cheers!" and nice music assortment. Prices are not so high, but if beer goes cheaper, it will be just nice :) Whenever i come here again, i'll necessarily visit Shamrock, love this place so much. With best wishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere to go out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Ee didnt eat here but we did go out here almost every evening. Great Live band with very talented e-guitarre player.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samui Shamrock also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Samui Shamrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Shamrock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.