We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some shortcomings, but great location and well looked after.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Villa

Save Saved
You added Marina Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Villa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   124 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Lamai Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Some shortcomings, but great location and well looked after.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Marina Villa was well located on Had Lamai, just shy of the main part of Lamai Beach, but still well within walking distance. Initially walking into the reception area I thought this hotel would be a little dated and uninspiring, but that view quickly changed when I saw that the grounds were very well kept, and our room was very clean. I also observed one of the housekeeping girls in another room actually cleaning the windows, which is a bit of a rarity! The groundskeeping boys would also sweep the paths and the area around the ground floor rooms each morning. The housekeeping staff seem to clean all the towels and linen by hand on-site. Fair enough as long as they do a thorough job!
The two swimming pools were very good, the larger pool being good for lap swimming, while the smaller pool still had a deep end and shallow end, and was nice to muck around in and have a good view of the beach. There was a spa/jacuzzi attached to the smaller pool but I never saw this operating and can only assume it may be broken. I also cut my knee on a sharp edge on the floor of this spa. I did get the impression the water was a little over-chlorinated.
The TV provides a reasonable selection of cable TV channels, but the majority are Thai channels and I would have expected a better package with some more English channels.
Motorbike hire at the hotel was very good value at 150B per day for guests.
Where this hotel lacks is in providing some of the basic services one would expect, for example:
*There was no tea or coffee in the rooms (surely one can expect tea/coffee from a 3 star establishment rather than having to pay for it at the hotel restaurant/bar!).
*We were only given 2 bottles of water for 3 people on the first day (though this was fixed on subsequent days).
*There was no quilt cover for the quilt on the extra bed, and it was quite difficult to explain to staff with my limited Thai, and their unusually limited English, that I needed a quilt cover on the extra bed, just like there was one on the main bed!
*No soap bar was provided, just bath gel and shampoo, and this was not replenished by housekeeping even though they did everything else. Guests should not have to go and ask for such things to be replenished every day.
Overall however I would stay here again, the beachfront location is good; the rooms and grounds are clean, tidy, picturesque and a good size; the hotel is reasonably new; the price is right; there are two swimming pools, and it's just pretty good value for money on a nice quiet but not isolated part of Koh Samui.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    13
    11
    0
See reviews for
23
45
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

If you check the perfect 1st line location at Lamai Beach and the price you could think that you do a good deal when booking Marina Villa, but you don’t.
If you think about 2 in parallel buildings next to each other with a 15 m distance…… hard to enjoy a holiday. No air circulation, muggy, huge humidity and mildew smell in the rooms. Additionally a noise level incl. echo-effect which makes it impossible to sleep until the early morning. The rooms are cleaned cursorily only (behind and under the bed is the rubbish of the previous). The sunbeds at the pool and beach area are scruffy. The restaurant with its top location overlooking the sea is untended and dirty – the top are the restrooms…..disgusting.
The 2 pools are looking at first glance nice, but I don’t like to know the chemical mixture.
Regarding the price: do I have to accept all of these just for staying in 1st beach line ? At the other side of the beach road I can stay more clean for less money….and of course I can go to the beach as well.
Please note, that they charge a 3 % supplement for paying with credit card, so better walk to the ATM.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Our stay at the Maina Villa was beyond expectation. We were given a garden room just 4 doors from the pool. Once you leave the busy street and enter the residence area you enter a tranquil oasis of lush vegetation. The motor bike noises dissapear and the sound of the sea can be heard in the distance.
This resort is on the beach. It has not one but two swimming pools. Something for everyone. We found it difficult to leave the resort during the day as it was so relaxing and a perfect place to rid ourselves of travel stress. Do yourself a favor, stay an extra day.
No kettle in the room nor hair dryer.
We were able to get late check out which we appreciated.

Room Tip: Lots of great restaurant choices around. The garden rooms are perfect; no stairs to climb. Early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotell for three nights and enjoyed. It's a low price hotell, but has a good location on the beach and in the main street - but still it's a quiet place. It has a frontdesk open to 23, two pools and a beach bar/restaurant. Breakfast there was good, I didn't try something else since I eat at the restaurants in the main street for other meals.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed there for Christmas 2011, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was a decent size, with all the amenities that one may need. The location is perfect, as I had stayed in Lamai before, it is not overly busy or quiet. Rent a motorbike, and take a drive all around the island. All you need can be found on this main road where the hotel is situated and as far as the beach is concerned . .. well it is right on the doorstep of this hotel. Two swimming pools to cater for your needs and a restaurant that is well priced, the food is not exceptional, but as an expat living in Thailand, it is pretty decent, although I would always recommend that you venture out for a meal, regardless of the time or day,but if time does not allow that, it's okay to get your day started.

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view room, go for it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We always prefer the bungalows to standard hotel rooms, but Marina Villa was the best value for money in central Lamai. The location is really what makes it a good place to stay, with restaurants, night market, shops, massage salons - all in a short walking distance.
The rooms are quite average, however the beds are comfortable, the mattresses and pillows are not too hard, the linen and towels are clean and changed daily.
That said, now about negatives:
- the hotel is shaped as two parallel 3-storeyd long buildings with balconies facing each other, hence no privacy and a lot of noise
- the shower in the bathroom is not separated in any way, no glass wall or curtain - so everything inside the bathroom is guaranteed to get wet
- the sunbeds are very old and falling apart, no umbrellas - thus no shade on the beach
- the hotel restaurant is not worth using, there are lot of better and cheaper places around (both on the beach and in town). Recommend to try Will Wait bakery and restaurant nearby.
- very strict policy regarding late check out (they charge full daily rate, plus 3% supplement for credit cards payments). Most hotels in Thailand let us use the rooms until actual departure, if they were not fully booked.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are very dark. Choose upper floors if you have no difficulty using stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

best of both worlds beach on one side and the town on the other as much peace or bustle as you need lovely pools and clean tidy rooms all you need

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Villa

Address: 124 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Villa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marina Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Villa Hotel Lamai Beach
Marina Villa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.