We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Utopia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Utopia Resort to your Saves list
Utopia Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   124/105 M3, Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked a "Super Delux" bungalow and were quite disappointed.

The room was clean & tidy however in need of some TLC. The bed was comfortable however we only had one pillow each and the extra one we were provided with was quite shabby.

The bathroom again wasnt dirty however really wasnt what we expected for a "Super Delux" room. The shower wasnt attached to a shower head and was awkward to use. We did notice that alot of building work was going on while we were there so they may be in the middle of an update :)

The location here is good and I would rather have stayed in Lamai Beach than Chaweng or Bophut as it is slightly quiter and really easy to access everywhere else. The beach area was lovely.

Wouldnt stay were again however the hotel is okay value for what we paid.

xxxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Utopia laundry totally ruined 4 of my shirts with stains through them. I took them back and they couldn't remove the stains and didn't even offer anything for their mistake.

These were original shirts not Thailand copies so was a costly error to me due to their incompetence.

Don't use their laundry service under any circumstance. Their are plenty of other options in the immediate area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner. Lovely place right in the centre of Lamai and yet so peaceful. Free parking, well-kept grounds and greenery. Restaurant food was really good, particularly the Thai dishes. Lived on Koh Phangan for 5 months now and never have I seen such a nice beach! White sand, plenty of sunbeds and the water is deep so you don't have to wade out in the shallows for 100m like most of the beaches here! No pool but the beach really makes up for that. One little thing, there were a few spider webs around the room which I would prefer to be dusted up but as we were only staying for 1 night I wasn't too bothered. Not a 4/5 star place like most of the other resorts on the island but great for those who like to keep to a budget. + they have english channels on the TVs! shame I didn't stay here during the Olympics! Great place, will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Utopia two years ago and were delighted to return last month. Still the same friendly staff, some of them even recognised us!! Excellent value for money in fact it was cheaper than two years ago and right on the beach what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Has been 15 years since we last stayed at Utopia but it was time to return after a major birthday. Our bungalow, although basic was ideal for our needs right on the beach and central for Lamai's nightlife. The holiday was made all the more perfect by the friendly staff who really looked after us and made us feel most welcome.
There are 5 star resorts on Koh Samui but Utopia offers a reasonably priced alternative with an extremely relaxed friendly atmosphere. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great spot right at the start of the lamai strip.
Really friendly staff and jim the manager is a fantastic character we have stayed there twice now and had a brilliant stay both times.
Top marks!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

After 4 weeks Thailand, I ended my trip at Lamai in Utopia. To be honest, this accomodation is average. Not good, not bad, just average. The bungalows a build in pairs or tripples and therefore different. Mine was basic and old, but clean, with AC and TV, but who needs TV in paradise? The location is good, strait on the beach and fairly quiet, but in walking distance of shops and eateries. No Pool, but a clean beach with free sunbeds. The garden around de bungalows is tropical, full of flowers and absolutely beautifull.
The management at checking in (streetside) wasn't very friendly, but the staff at the restaurant (Beachside) was wonderfull. It was a real pleasure, having breakfast viewing the beach and sea. All and all I stayed at better places for less, but it all depends on wat you're used to. Lamai is (a bitt) more expensive and more touristic compared to other beach resorts in the southern islands (Samui, Phangan and Tao), but still is a nice place to spend some days. Just make sure this isn't the only place you stay in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#23 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#29 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#20 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#19 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Weekender VIlla Beach Resort
Weekender VIlla Beach Resort
#15 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort

Address: 124/105 M3, Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Utopia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utopia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.