We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about manathai was amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manathai Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manathai Koh Samui to your Saves list
Manathai Koh Samui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173/41 Moo 4, Rob Koh Road, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Buddy Oriental Samui Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
1 review
“Everything about manathai was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here April 2015. The staff were brilliant and nothing was ever to much trouble. When we arrived they all waited to greet us and gave us a free complimentary juice. They took our bags to our room and were always so helpful. The rooms were amazing and just like the pictures we also had free slippers, bath robes and flip flops. Everything was so clean too. The pool was incredible right on the beach and was so nice sat in the pool looking out to the beach. There was another pool in the hotel too which was also nice. They were both quiet and excellent bar service. Manathai really did make mine and my boyfriends holiday we loved it. It was a little bit of a walk to the restaurants and nightlife but this was not a problem as was cheap to get taxis or higher motorbikes. The staff also offered a free service every day at 10 and 4 for a free drop off into the town centre but this really wasn't a problem as they had 3 amazing restaurants at the hotel so you didn't really need to leave. There was an Irish bar on site, a Thai place and a coffee and cafe type thing. They were all beautiful and just down the road they did street food and a few more Thai places and a spa. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting koh samui. It was the best 4/5 star that we had stayed in our whole trip around Thailand.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Bad Points:

We stayed at Manathai Koh Samui for three nights in February. We had never visited Lamai before. The location turned out to be very disappointing. It was a long walk along the dark rather dangerous main road to Lamai in the evening for restaurants and nightlife.

The description and images of the hotel were very confusing. The hotel is situated on the wrong/opposite side of the main road to the beach. The peaceful pool at the rear of the development was closed as part of the renovations and the newly opened pool was located on the beach side of the main road, necessitating crossing with the help of a whistle-blowing, traffic stopping man. Although the pool looked beautiful there were no facilities, restrooms or bar as yet open. It felt completely remote from the hotel and very uncomfortable to lie around as it sided onto the noisy main road only separated by screen walls. We therefore never used the pool.

The tiny beach area in front of the pool was very unkempt and not suitable for swimming. The little adjoining jetty was used by fishermen and was piled up with debris and rubbish. You could however take a left turn and walk along to a lovely stretch of beach suitable for swimming and a wonderful garden-setting beach bar/restaurant called Radiance (part of the Spa Resort) with some of the best food we’d eaten all trip.

During the renovations the hotel breakfast was served in the Irish Pub on the other side of the square. The selection and amount of food offered was very poor. The bowls of fruit and yogurt on the buffet were virtually individual portion sizes such that I felt embarrassed to take more than two pieces of papaya. Tiny dry rolls and overly sweet cakes were available and there were two slices of white bread by the toaster. The coffee was however excellent and coffee shop standard. On the third morning the new breakfast room opened at the rear of the development. This was nicely located and attractively furnished but unfortunately the variety and portion sizes were identical. There was however individual waiter service for made to order eggs.

Good Points:

We knew about the renovations before booking and realised the room was priced accordingly. Our deluxe balcony room, was probably one of the most amazing hotel rooms I’ve ever stayed it. It was a huge suite with numerous windows with plantation shutters and three balconies. Unfortunately we needed to keep them closed due to the noise of the renovations. It was very tasteful and newly decorated. The large entrance hallway housed the wardrobes, mini bar and tea making. Free mineral water was provided. The bathroom was nicely laid out with a spacious separate shower and freestanding bath tub. The housekeeping was excellent and unobtrusive.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They made telephone calls to the airline on my behalf and invited me to use their computer. On the day of departure we were given the use of a room for showering as we had an evening flight home. The staff lined up to wave us goodbye.

The little restaurant Pad Thai at the front of the development was very good, especially the Thai salads and juices.

The public vans passed right outside the entrance so it’s easy to travel around.

Overall: Fabulous rooms and staff but immediate area definitely isn’t what I’d travel all the way to Thailand to experience, it almost felt more like a city break. The hotel is wrongly located for the level of luxury the rooms provide. There were no guest facilities other than the reception area, and no garden, lounge areas or bar to sit in; you walk straight out into the public square. There may of course be future improvements underway.

Room Tip: Deluxe balcony room is luxurious and huge. Request a room as far to the rear of the development as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Mai (the manager of the Manathai) was both friendly and very welcoming in particular Bal from the Irish bar on the complex.. On arrival the staff team lined the pavements to greet us and escort us into the reception area, where we were given a Buddhist blessing a tradition unique to the Manathai hotel They continuously made apologies for the renovation work taking place in the hotel complex even though we never found it a disturbance or an inconvenience. Nothing was too much trouble our rooms were equipped with safe, dressing gowns, slippers, towels toiletries, hair dryer, refreshments and a mini bar (small charge). Each evening the house keeping staff attended each room to supply more water and to turn the beds down. One particular day the air con stopped working and it was repaired in record time. After her week end off Mai immediately sort us out and apologised for the inconvenience. Each day Bal would check whether we were using the beach before taking towels and setting up the beds, nothing was too much trouble from organising the beds to getting us food and drinks delivered. We booked a trip to the full moon party through the hotel and Mai even went as far as giving us her personal mobile number in case we got into any difficulties They were also very informative about other activities and told us the best places to book, we hired motor cycles at 150 bht around £2.50 a day. Lamai houses some wonderful restaurants and bars and the night life is lively, fun and most enjoyable My family and I will certainly be going back to the Manathai and we would highly recommend it to other people. Thank you Mai to you and Bal for making our holiday and stay with you a most enjoyable experience xx

Room Tip: A Balcony Delux rooms over looking the complex provide sun and an atmophere of the surrounding area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiSamui, Front Office Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Dear Julie R,

Sawadee ka and greetings from Samui. Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your recent stay as our guest. We are delighted to know just how much you enjoyed yourselves on your family holiday.

We wish you all the very best always and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,



Ms. Daorueang Saelim
Front Office Manager
Manathai Koh Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Stayed for a week in the Manathai, enjoyed every single aspect of this hotel, the staff are absolutely wonderful and can't do enough to make your stay here memorable, in particular I would like to name a few that made my stay extra special, ball was a young porter/ waiter who was truly attentative to us all as a family, setting our sun beds out after enquiring at breakfast if we would be using the pool, he really was a wonderful young man, the hotel manager Mai was also extra special in meeting our needs and consistently checking that we were happy with everything.
Without a doubt I will definately be returning to the manathai, the hotel is a beautiful place to stay.
Thank you all at the Manathai

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiSamui, Front Office Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 10, 2015
Dear Michael M,

Sawadee de ka from Manathai Koh Samui. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay.

So nice to know that you enjoyed yourselves as our guest.

We do hope you will come back to visit us in the not too distant future. In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Warm regards,



Ms Daorueang Saelim (Khun Mai)
Front Office Manager
Manathai Koh Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Our stay at Manathai Ko Samui was definitely one to remember! The staff made us feel so warm, welcomed with their friendly attitude and bright smiles. We received exceptional service and attention from everyone including staff and restaurant workers. The renovations did not bother us as we got a room upgrade to a beautiful suite. Would stay there again if I ever return. Thank you Manathai for making our holiday so comfortable and worthwhile!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiSamui, General Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Sawadee ka Nat A Traveller,

Greetings from Manathai Koh Samui. Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Glad to know that you enjoyed the stay and service from our team with the smiles.

We wish you all the best for the coming year and sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,



Mrs. Natalie Kamolwattanasoontorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Beautiful place to stay and the people were so nice and friendly. Although there were renovations happening while we were there, we were upgraded to a better suite and were treated like royalty. Would go back again, if I was to stay in Koh Samui again

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiSamui, General Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Sawadee ka Sean H Traveller,

Greetings from Manathai Koh Samui. Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Glad to know that you enjoyed the stay and service from our team.

We wish you all the best for the coming year and sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,



Mrs. Natalie Kamolwattanasoontorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manathai Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manathai Koh Samui

Address: 173/41 Moo 4, Rob Koh Road, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Buddy Oriental Samui Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manathai Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manathai Samui creates the ambiance of cultured elegance and dreamy nostalgia as it welcomes guests. It combines the truly unique concept of both Colonial style luxury and tropical seaside resort. Revive images of living by the sea in olden times, when life is slow and peaceful and dwellings are airy against the backdrop of quiet sea. A stay at this residence is such a happy combination of the old and new as one comes to experience the joys of the beach in the world today and the sentimental yearning for a return to the past as craved by many. Distinctively the best of both worlds can only happen at Manathai Samui, on the beautiful beach of Lamai, Koh Samui. **NB this resort is undfer renovation now until December 2014** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Manathai Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Samui Boutique Koh
Manathai Koh Samui Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manathai Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.